We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming park-like private location.”
other travelers have booked this property
Ferry Mans Cottage by a private lake
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ferry Mans Cottage by a private lake
Twin Garden Baths with hot running water your cottage has panoramic views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Ferry Mans Cottage by a private lake
Twin Garden Baths with hot running water
your cottage has panoramic views
your cottage has garden bath with hot piped water
Romantic and private Ferry Mans Cottage
arial shot of cottage
Ferry Mans Cottage by a private lake
2 spacious bedrooms
enjoy west coast sunsets
extensive gardens and ponds
enjoy fine food and home grown produce
stunning views for you to enjoy
NEW TWIN Garden Baths!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Westport, West Coast Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
farwest1
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Charming park-like private location.”
Reviewed March 7, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed 2 nights in this charming cottage. Private location ~1+km down a winding (and dusty) gravel road, a few hundred meters past the lodge. Sits on side of hill with distant ocean view (few km in distance) and views of surrounding brush/vegetation with your own pond/ducks (who like being fed) and lawn/garden that surrounds the cottage. Feels private with surrounding vegetation screening the property. Nice garden design elements gives a park-like setting. Very peaceful location. Worth spending an extra day if you need a place to unwind/relax.

2 rooms with queen (maybe king?) beds. Nice living room and decent kitchen with some appliances that are a bit dated but serviceable. Nice balcony with a gas bbq. Make sure to order a pre-made homemade dinner (which was delicious) - we arrived with it already in the fridge, with side dishes (veg and potatoes and salad). Large enough to feed 4, so we had it two nights in a row. Really tasty - one of our best meals of our 3 weeks in NZ. We also were surprised with a fresh-baked loaf of bread (half of which was fed to the ducks, who eagerly enjoyed it).

Downside is the two tatty his/hers outdoor tubs that need desperate attention - no way anyone would want to have a supposed romantic bath together in those things (appeared to be plastic indoor tubs that were simply placed outside on the ground and suffered from the elements - nice idea in theory - fail in practice! - should remove from their pictures as they are a big let-down in real life). Property has quite extensive walking paths, but we didn't have time to do more than a cursory inspection of the options. Seems you could spend an hour or more wandering the property.

Property is located ~10-20 km from both Charlestown and Westport, so be prepared for a bit of a drive (roads have light traffic, so not a problem).

Stunning night time sky/star viewing due to almost no light pollution - see vast numbers of stars on clear nights - an underrated aspect of visiting the west coast with so few people around. We visited on clear moonless nights and the sky was amazing.

Overall, a nice stay and we considered adding another night - wish the owner would have offered a discount, but alas, just suggested we book and pay full freight - another night that would have required us to cancel already-booked accommodation elsewhere (and forfeit cost of the reservation) - few places other than hotels offer near term cancellations without penalties, so adding another night at last minute requires an incentive.

Property seems a bit overpriced, but there are limited amounts of nicer properties in the area, so you pay for the privilege of not being in a junky location. Nevertheless, I'd definitely suggest the cottage vs the "lodge" (appears to be a B&B where the owners live) if the budget allows.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2017
Hello again and thank you for your review.
We need to clarify a few facts for the readers: There is a king bed and a Queen bed, one of each.
“Dated appliances”- In New Zealand, for environmental reasons we do not change appliance just for the sake of keeping up to date and since the washing machine works perfectly well we see no need to change it! The kettle, toaster, microwave, fridge and dishwasher are all near new.
We are stunned about the harsh comments about the outdoor baths – This feature is heavily used and complimented by many of our other guests so we have to assume it is just not your thing. The baths are antique cast iron and one of them is over 100 years old!!! They have hot piped water, candles and a brazier all of which seems to go down very well with romantics. We do not intend changing anything!
Regarding pricing/discounts – you booked on Trip Advisor rentals who take a commission and $50 booking fee – You would have saved money by booking direct on our website. You stayed in high season and we do not offer discount in high season as we operate at 100% occupancy and the season is only 5 months long. We offer a totally unique experience which has high operating costs and charge accordingly. We are not a budget facility.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydneygal...
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful escape from the rat race - over too quickly”
Reviewed March 20, 2011 for a stay in February 2011

Alison and Andre have created a piece of heaven on the NZ west coast. We felt the stress lift as we approached the Ferry Man's Cottage. The cottage is simply but comfortably furnished - with everything you need. We opted for dinner in the cottage (additional charge), so a chicken casserole, cooked rice, garden-fresh vegetables with dessert and custard were in the fridge when we arrived - we just had to heat it. The view over the escarpment is fantastic. Sadly it rained for most of our all-too-short (less than 24 hour) stay, so we didn't get to explore the property. It is quite expensive to stay there, but with 2 couples to share the cost it didn't seem too bad, and was a wonderful, relaxing experience.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fclarkson
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful”
Reviewed March 14, 2011 for a stay in February 2011

Alison and Andre where great, friendly, great cooks and they have two fun dogs enjoyed our stay very much but did not stay long enough.

Rooms Location
Cleanliness Check in / front desk
Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranaki
Reviewed January 7, 2011 for a stay in January 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JanetteAu...
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bench mark set high, with New Year celebration at Ferry Mans Cottage.”
Reviewed January 6, 2011 for a stay in January 2011

The 2 nights we stayed at Ferry Mans Cottage where hosts Andre and Alison took "hosting" to a new level, was without doubt, the hightlight of our West Coast Holiday. We felt like we were being cared for by very dear friends and the twin garden baths are a must! As "foodies" our New Year meal catered by Alison from produce gown on their property was mouth watering, especially the whitebait entree.

If you are fortunate to be looking to travel to this region, then treat yourself to a couple of nights at Ferry Mans Cottage.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewed January 6, 2011 for a stay in December 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Canberra
Reviewed December 29, 2010 for a stay in December 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: The outdoor baths!
Liked least: We had forgotten to bring chilled champagne
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing