We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent tranquil amazing garden”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Steeples Cottage, Studio and B & B
Ranked #5 of 17 Westport B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed here one night in March 2013, it was wonderful and we wished we had booked to stay longer. One of the best memories of our stay in New Zealand. Fabulous views, garden, accommodation tranquil. Recommend it for a quiet stop on a tour of New Zealand

Room Tip: Comfortable relaxing stop. Take food as isolated.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinaTruroCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Steeples Cottage, Studio and B & B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 79 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed in the studio for one night but were then able to move into the cottage for our second night. The studio is just a small converted room (next to the garage) and has no view but the self contained cottage is much better. The host were fine and welcoming and the Steeples is well placed for walking along the coast. Good kitchen facilities and a DVD player were useful as was the breakfast items provided: cereal, bread, jams, tea, coffee and juice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oxford08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The location of this accommodation is second-to-none. Nice and close to the Cape Foulwind Lighthouse walk to see the seal colony and also close to a unique country pub that offers wonderful, friendly service and a kiwi menu with good home-style cooking. They even let you take a plated meal back to the studio and the hosts return the dishes to the pub the next day! I stayed in the studio and the decor is attractive and functional with cleanliness that could not be faulted. I slept really well - the whole place is serene and welcoming. I was traveling alone on business but next time I want to bring my husband and stay in the cottage.

Room Tip: Why stay in Westport when Cape Foulwind has so much more to offer. Having breakfast included was a...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artskyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This B&B is in an amazing location on Cape Foulwind and you are literally looking out over the sea at the Steeple Rocks. The Cottage is huge and self contained so we were able feed ourselves and have cooked evening meals which we really enjoyed. Pauline and Bruce are great hosts and Bruce made me some Whitebait Fritters that were great eating. The WiFi was a little intermittent but I am on holidays. We would love to come back and stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed two nights in the studio (like a bach) with a double bed, two easy chairs with coffee table, TV and a kitchen block (18m2) and a shower room (4m2). A simple continental breakfast is provided – 4 slices of bread, jam, butter, juice, milk tea/coffee. We added a few of our own breakfast items to supplement this. There is no cooking plate, but if you bring eggs, there is an egg-cooking device for use in the microwave oven. A good quality dinner can be eaten in the friendly pub down the road so you don’t have to drive all the way to Westport for a meal. There is also a restaurant close-by the lighthouse. There is no sitting space outside the studio, which is build next to the house and behind the bigger cottage (also offered for rent), but we could make use of the large terrace of the main house overlooking the equally large garden full of flowers. AT the end of the lawn area, at the cliff, there was sitting area at our disposal, overlooking the surf. From the house a walk could be made to the lighthouse and seal colony. We did a bit of laundry by hand and Pauline insisted on us using the dryer, rather than hanging it on the line as that would take longer to dry. The nights were very quiet and we could hear the far away surf pounding on the west coast rocks.

Room Tip: There is also a front side - sea view cottage.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huys25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had only one night at the Cottage and it was really sad because it is so beautiful. This is a real Gem! Soooooo much space: one big living room with a big kitchen (with all the things you need to cook a good meal), an extra sleeping room with a very good bed, a bathroom and washing mashine – there was nothing to miss. The WIFI was not so strong but it did not matter. The highlight is the garden with all the beautiful flowers and the view over the sea with Steeples Islands. We did not meet our host because they were on holiday too. But we will come again and then we will stay longer! We highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuleRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

To call this accommodation a cottage is a misnomer -- it is a house with a large lounge and dining area, a full kitchen, a laundry niche, a walk-in closet, a large bedroom and an ample size bathroom with a deck overlooking a lovely garden filled with flowers with the Tasman Sea and its steeples in the background. The cottage is tastefully furnished, clean and has all the accessories and amenities that one would want. And if you wanted a dog to complete the picture, you could even have that! Didi, the adorable Jack Russell terrier, belonging to the Cottage owners, Pauline and Bruce, was a willing visitor and we gladly welcomed her. The fridge and cupboard had all of the ingredients for breakfast and even a bowl of delicious tomatoes from Bruce's garden. He and Pauline were wonderful hosts and very anxious to make our stay a pleasant and memorable one.

The Cottage is well located and the Cape Foulwind Walkway is just a few steps from the Cottage. We could walk to the lighthouse and then continue on to the Tauranga Bay seal colony. It is just a short drive to the beginning of the road up to Denniston. The Star Tavern, located just 500 meters away, served delicious meals.

We only stayed here for two nights but indeed it was the most delightful place we stayed during a month long visit to New Zealand.

We highly recommend this "home away from home."

Room Tip: The Cottage is larger and has a wonderful view. They also have a studio but it doesn't have the...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azulferro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.2 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
162 reviews
6.4 mi away
Buller Court on Palmerston
6.4 mi away
Havenlee Homestay
Havenlee Homestay
#3 of 17 in Westport
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Birds Ferry Lodge
Birds Ferry Lodge
#1 of 17 in Westport
264 reviews
4.0 mi away
Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
6.3 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steeples Cottage, Studio and B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steeples Cottage, Studio and B & B

Address: 48 Lighthouse Road | Cape Foulwind, Westport, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range: $80 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a fully self contained cottage with great sea views; behind the cottage is a self contained studio and next door in our home are 2 queen bedrooms with private bathroom. All our accommodation includes continental breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing