We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Steeples Cottage, Studio and B & B
Nearby Hotels
$98
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westport Motels(Westport)(Great Value!)
$90
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buller Bridge Motel(Westport)(Great Value!)
$106
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$89
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveler rating
71
9
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
9
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdown the roadcape foulwindtasman seaseal colonystayed longerwell appointed kitchenlovely accommodationthe pubspent one nightplenty of spacelocal knowledgelovely hostsbrucelighthousegardenwestcoast
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 82 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Great place to stay - the cottage was very big and well appointed, the hosts were wonderful, and the views ... oh my! We wish we could have stayed longer just to sit outside and enjoy the place. The breakfast consists of having all ingredients available to make one's own, which is a little different from other bed & breakfasts and homestays, which wasn't a bad thing (more time to enjoy the room and the view), but it's good to be aware of it. We recommend the hike up to the lighthouse, which is very close. Great views of the ocean. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunLvrs_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Oh my goodness what a find, this place is absolutely fantastic.

We were warmly welcomed by Bruce and his dog, and made us feel so at home.

The standard of accommodation is extremely high, it has all the facilities you could wish for and on top of that has beautiful gardens with glorious views.

There is nothing to fault with this place and I would love to spend the rest of my life here!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

John and I stayed at Steeples cottage in February and would give our hosts 100% rating for the sheer bliss of staying in their wonderful cottage and the hospitality we received from them. We travelled the length and breadth of both the north and south island from our home in Coventry United Kingdom and this stay was by far the best.
Will be returning for a longer stay hopefuly in 2013.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxford94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

What a wonderful location. We only stayed one night but we were warmly welcomed by our hosts Pauline and Bruce and invited to join them for a glass of wine after we had settled in. We stayed in the Studio which was ideal for our purposes but if we ever have the chance to stay again (for longer than one night) then I would choose the cottage which looked great and which had its own wonderful views. We had a very nice meal in the Star Tavern just down the road and after so much driving it was lovely to be able to walk the short distance to the Tavern on what was a beautiful evening. Breakfast was most enjoyable and my husband really enoyed the freshly laid poached egg he had for breakfast. Would love to go back one day.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

My husband & I spent (unfortunately!) only 1 night at Steeples and it was wonderful! We were thoroughly impressed with the location (backing right onto the sea); the cottage was spotless and nicely appointed; and the gardens are beautifully landscaped. We were about 500 m from a hiking trail to the seal colony, and about 500 m from the Star Tavern where we ate dinner. We had a great bottle of NZ wine on our back deck while the sun set - amazing! We had a great stay and would definitely stay there again as our hosts were very gracious.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrianamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews