We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out”
Review of Outwest Tours

Outwest Tours
Ranked #8 of 20 things to do in Westport
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Out West Tours offers an excellent wild West Coast experience, taking you off the beaten track on a journey into the wild heart of the land. Enjoy spectacular landscapes and travel historic mining trails as you relax in one of our fully air-conditioned four-wheel-drive (4WD) vehicles.
Westport, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

this was brilliant, got a real insight into the Stockton Mine and also an opportunity to see an area that is normally closed off to the general public. I am not into machinery but was awesome to see the size of the trucks, diggers etc that is up there. Was a great day out and we took a picnic and got to enjoy that also in the sun. Would have to say one of the best $ value experiences I have had.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hellen_B923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Awesome”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Great company,wonderful views,very interesting if you are interested in this history of mining on the west coast of the south island of newzealand.well Westport and surrounding areas.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank noelenebill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great day Out”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Excellent value for money on the mine tour,fantastic views looking back to cape Foulwind,great for all ages and for everyone to see how they are looking after the enviroment,and replanting.The unimogs are a great way to travell and the drivers give great commentry's.There is so much history in the Buller area and this is one of they ways to see it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was a great day out. Excellent value for money and a great way to see all the workings of an opencast coalmine. They were blasting on the day we were there and we got to watch the explosions from a safe distance. Good to see the environmental work of direct replanting vegetation too. Awesome veiws from the top of the mine area. We were transported from Westport and safety was a big concern. We couldn't leave the vehicle at certain areas in the mine but there were plenty of other opportunities to get out and view equipment, the amazing views and the blasting. Not suitable for preschoolers and you need to take your own lunch. The journey around the mine gets bumpy!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank whymiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“what a day still talking about”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

if you come and stay in westport and the weather is fine this is a must and with rosetta as our guide made the trip even better we got to see all the huge big boys & girls toys & to talk to some of the drivers was so cool and the views where to die for as we had the best of days. The work that goes into putting the landscape back was so well done and to watch then doing that was good Well done!!!!!!!!! the best $15 each

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Toniioverend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outwest Tours also viewed

Westport, West Coast Region
Westport, West Coast Region
 
Westport, West Coast Region
Westport, West Coast Region
 

Been to Outwest Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing