We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B & B we stayed in!”
Review of Havenlee Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Havenlee Homestay
Ranked #3 of 16 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Jan and Ian go to a lot of trouble to make you feel really at home in their beautiful home. It was a delight to stay there, just wish we could have stayed longer. Very clean, very comfy, beautiful garden, tasty breakfast and welcoming hosts - it was lovely to meet them and we'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judetrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 108 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2012

Thank you Jan and Ian for a lovely stay in your home. As we were on the final days of our trip our visit to you made everything perfect. Our accomodations were perfect. Your interest and welcoming smiles made each day special....and the food!!! the very best!!! Homemade bread and muffins are still on our minds.....thanks again, Annie and Chris Burton

Room Tip: Loved the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Entering the house of Jan & Ian just felt immediately like coming home: we were welcome like good friends and offered to feel at home in their entire sweet house.

We were travelling with our son and as they did not have another bed, Jan and Ian happily rearranged the room so we could let him sleep on one of our air mattresses. We had the room with private bath room/shower and toilet located just besides our room. Our room had access to the nice garden where there was a small terrace, table and chairs nicely arranged to enjoy the warm evening.

We could use their fridge and freezer for our fresh stuff and Ian invited us to make ourselves comfortable in the living room. Jan had plenty of hints of what we could do as well in Westport as on our way down to Hokitika - we very much enjoyed the Truman Walk close to Punakaiki, thank you Jan!!!!

We also found Carter's Beach, its playground and the Café at the beach road very enjoyable and had a good time at the lighthouse and the seal colony.

Jan and Ian's home is just in the center of Westport city so you can walk to the city restaurants, shops etc. However it is also quiet and we had a good and deep sleep at their home.

Although we stayed with Jan and Ian for one night, only, we very much enjoyed living their home. I forgot to mention that we were happily invited to use their phone to arrange our next stays.

We will return coming back to Westport!

Room Tip: We had the room vis-à-vis the entrance door with the nice garden terrace. We loved that room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olssons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Absolutely awesome hosts and accommodation. Has to be the best experience we've had away from home. We will be coming again. Jan and Ian you are the best, muffins were great too THANK YOU

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Jan & Ian are lovely hosts who make you feel so welcome from the moment you walk through the door.The rooms are spotless and Jan gives you a great homemade breakfast.
You are made to feel at ease immediately. if you need to know anything about Westport or New Zealand,they are more than helpful.Also if you just want to chat,they have always time for you.I enjoyed my two nights here immensely.
Great place to stay,great value for money as well.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris081954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Excellent accomadation, friendly atmospher,very clean, super breakfast. Convieniently located walking distance to centre of town. Very good Pub/Resturant just around the corner, Laundty facilitys available at no extra cost!!! Thanks Jan. We enjoyed our short stay & can highly recommend Havenlee. Thanks Jan & Ian hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adriancam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

What a perfect place to round of the most awesome holiday with my parents & partner around South Island! So welcoming, it was like catching up friends after time apart.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
Thank ganeage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.5 mi away
Westport Motels
Westport Motels
#8 of 12 in Westport
86 reviews
0.5 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
357 reviews
2.2 mi away
Carters by the Sea Beachside Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
223 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westport Motor Hotel
The Westport Motor Hotel
#11 of 12 in Westport
67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Buller Court on Palmerston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Havenlee Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havenlee Homestay

Address: 76 Queen Street, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range: $99 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Havenlee Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Choice for First Class Hospitality. Havenlee Homestay is a spacious, quality home offering Bed and Breakfast accommodation to travellers. We are very centrally located in the South Island town of Westport NZ. There are 2 double guest bedrooms, 1 with a queen sized bed, with private bathroom suite. The 2nd bedroom is located in an annexed (or self contained) area located in the southern end of Havenlee. The bedroom has a king sized bed which can be converted into two singles, a well appointed private bathroom, a kitchenette with tea/coffee making facilities, microwave oven, toaster and fridge. A generous full breakfast is served in the dining room. Havenlee is within walking distance of many restaurants. WiFi and laundry facilities are available to our guests at no extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Havenlee Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing