We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A super nice B&B”
Review of Cosy Kiwi B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cosy Kiwi B&B
Ranked #9 of 29 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Great little B&B in Te Anau. Rooms are spacious, comfortable, and super clean. It's a good base for visiting Milford Sound. Eleanor and Derek were reallly nice and helpful and provided us with lots of info about the area and NZ in general. Recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristopher_H_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for Cosy Kiwi B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 126 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our apartment was spacious clean and smart. Everything worked. Our hosts were so friendly and helpful. The upstairs lounge and balcony were an unusual bonus. And I haven't even mentioned the breakfasts !

Room Tip: All rooms looked equally good.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our hosts Eleanor & Derek are great hosts. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The breakfast provided was fabulous.

All that said, I would highly recommend staying at the Cosy Kiwi if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Eleanor and Derek were great.We were there for 2 nights and Eleanor really helped with our 2 days there. She had a great breakfast ready at 7am the first morning so that we could enjoy a full day on the Milford Sound road prior to our 3:45 cruise. The next day she had another great breakfast ready at 6am so that we could be at Manapouri at 7:15 for a full day kayaking Doubtful Sound.She did it all, dinner reservations when we arrived late on friday, helped with washer and dryer,anything she could do to make our visit enjoyable.
Rooms were all spacious, clean with big modern bathrooms.
5 minute walk to town.
Highly recommend the Cosy Kiwi

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimfitz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, eitherside of a night at the Milford Sound Lodge, and it was great. Such a kind and helpful hostess. We got a great deal from the isite on the lake edge. Modern, comfortable rooms. Great breakfast. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Thank you Eleanor & Derek for helping make our stay in Te Anau so memorable. As a couple of travel-hardened Kiwis determined to experience more of our local experiences, we based ourselves at the Cosy Kiwi while we explored Te Anau and Milford Sound. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. Our room was spotless, warm (Eleanor had turned a heater on in anticipation of our arrival late on a Friday night) and comfortable. As mentioned by many previous reviewers, the breakfasts are fabulous. Home-cooked pancakes, home preserved fruits and no pre-packaged spreads in sight! Some overseas reviewers have suggested that the Cosy Kiwi is not a true 'Bed & Breakfast' in the European sense. To us this was actually a positive. The Cosy Kiwi offers all the benefits of an excellent Motel, but with the added benefit of Eleanor and Derek's attentive, but never overbearing, hospitality... and of course, that breakfast!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubbleguts255119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We just returned to the states and the Cosy Kiwi was our last stop in a two week tour of New Zealand. What a marvelous memory of "down under" with a hostess so kind and concerned with our well being. The breakfast is fabulous...freshly steamed fruits like plums and peaches(never frozen), yogurt, home made breads and jams, and the lovely savory pancakes with real maple syrup OR the sweet ones with powdered sugar! The rooms were very large with such comfortable bedding, big screen TV and comfy chairs, large bath and shower. No stairs and parking right outside the door! What a great way to end our journey. Thanks Eleanor for being such a wonderful person. Nothing left to wonder about, always has the solution for all needs.

Room Tip: My room was the first one past the reception desk and quite generous, also quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.9 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Te Anau
384 reviews
0.5 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
500 reviews
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Lodge
Te Anau Lodge
#3 of 29 in Te Anau
350 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arran Motel
Arran Motel
#13 of 23 in Te Anau
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosy Kiwi B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosy Kiwi B&B

Address: 186 Milford Road, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range: $126 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosy Kiwi B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cosy Kiwi B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosy Kiwi B&B Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing