We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Nearby Hotels
$129
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
$72
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
$239
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakefront Lodge(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
$129
$106
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arran Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
$69
$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aden Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
$76
$67
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
$36
$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Explorer Motel Te Anau(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
$139
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (866)
Filter reviews
866 results
Traveler rating
270
316
214
43
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
316
214
43
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom villalake viewmilford soundbreakfast buffetnew zealandno air conditioningtour grouptwo double bedscomfortable roomsthe main streetthe ground floorstayed here for one nighttown centreshops and restaurantscomfortable staysmall townglow worm caves
Filter
Updating list...
766 - 771 of 866 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2010

We agree with “BraDandZoE”’s comments (1 Oct 2009) in that it the corridors looked like an old hospital. It was funny to read their review after staying there, as their review is almost word for word on how to describe it!

We too had asked a local if the hotel was converted from a hospital. They advised us that it was definitely a hotel for at least the last 20 years that they could recall. There was no lift to the first floor, wide hallways and very wide staircase.

I would like to mention that the rooms were very well presented and themed and I would recommend staying there. I would definitely stay there again.

The lake side rooms had an amazing view of the lake, with easy access to the walkway, and walking distance to town.

This was a good stop-over place for a day at Milford Sound.

The food in the restaurant was above average, with attentive service from the waitress.

The parking was a little far away from the room - we should have asked for assistance with our luggage to our room.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmr79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2014

Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

I guess I didn't read the reviews carefully enough, because I booked a 2-bedroom "Villa" for our family of 4. Eeeeeeek! This hotel has an interesting history from way back when guest lodgings generally had stables and the like...and I think the villas may have been originally intended as animal housing...? They are elderly, sad, decrepit, depressing cinderblock hovels. Whatever you do, DON'T BOOK one!
When we arrived, I took one look and immediately asked to change our reservation to two rooms in the main hotel, instead. To their credit, they allowed the switch. It seems the rooms were recently redecorated---they were clean and nice, though as others have said, the hallways are a bit dated. The location is excellent, the desk staff grumpy. Yuck.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleSue79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2014

Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Hotel is situated within 2 minutes walk to main street. Rooms are very roomy and well appointed. Rooms face either the lake or a Garden. Both types of rooms have similar features. Venue has been well maintained and is quiet. A good nights sleep is almost guaranteed. Staff take an active interest in Guests and are very well versed in making Guests welcome. Restaurant provides quality dining and if you wish to have a leisurely breakfast, miss the early morning rush - it starts at 6.30 am.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parkyposs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2014

Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

When reviewing this hotel there are a few things you need to keep in mind. First, Te Anau is really a just a launching pad for the Fiordland National Park. So you are sort of stuck because there are no other towns close by from which you can base yourself (Queesntown is two hours away). Second, there is little choice when it comes to accomodations as most appear to be two or three star motels.

Keeping that in mind we choose the Distinction. The lobby, restaruant and bar have recently been renovated to four star qualiy. The rooms have also been half renovated, with new plasma TV's and a sterio/DVD system. However we ( a familly of five) stayed in a so called "villa" and were not impressed. First you get to your room by using an access road (a.k.a. alley) behind the hotel. Our villa was right on this access road with views of a toursit bus outside our windows (no lake views from any villa). Inside we found the lounge area to have tired leather sofas and tables. The beds were ok and the pillows were very flat. The bathroom was very old and in desperate need of a renovation!

While the breakfast was decent, it was also included in the price. I don't think we would have choosen to eat there otherwise. The pool is small and probably rarely used. The location is nice right across the street from lake.

In the end this is a three star hotel and should only be used as a pit stop on your way to Milford Sound. I would recommend it only if you can get a rate of under $150 NZ per night and don't stay for more than two nights.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoiPuBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2014

Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

We managed to book 2 special offers so stayed for four nights. The hotel is conveniently situated for the 'Sound' trips and the visitor centre is next door.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisyherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2014

Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews