We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2009

We stayed in a two bedroom villa (Villa 829) at the Distinction and I was very disappointed with the quality for the price we paid.
The photographs on the website made the resort appear modern which was quite misleading.

The exterior of the villa looked like a toilet block and rather untidy. When you enter the villa there is a small lounge with 2 sofas and a flat screen TV and coffee table. There were 2 bedrooms with a TV and heater in one room. Admittedly the furniture was modern - plasma flat screen TV, timber furniture and neutral colours. It looked like the villa interior had been updated except they forgot about the bathroom which was still stuck in the 60s and very, very old. The bathroom had a blue lino benchtop and red lino floor. The wallpaper was pink, peeling, stained and torn. The sink still had 2 spouts one for cold and one for hot and had the oldest toilet I had ever seen in a hotel room. It had a combined shower/bathtub with a shower curtain too narrow to stop the water from spraying the bathroom floor.

We had friends stay in the hotel building of the Distiction and the bathrooms had been completely renovated with granite benchtops. The room furniture was also modern. If you choose to stay at the Distiction, I would recommend booking 2 rooms in the hotel section instead of a two bedroom villa - better value for money and a lot nicer.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TajAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2014

Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (785)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

715 - 721 of 785 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2009

When we arrived at this hotel, I was very dissapointed. The lobby and hallways are shabby, the dining room almost depressing, But once we arrived to our room I was pleasantly surprised. It had been recently rennovated and was really very nice. We could have been in a Sheraton or Marriott. I'm not sure if all the rooms have been recently renovated, but future guests would do well to inquire.

The only problem with the room was the water pressure, which was pretty much non existant. It was probably the worst shower I've ever taken in a hotel.

We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on the food or dining service, but the front desk staff were VERY helpful and friendly.

Stayed: January 2009
Thank kellyanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2014

Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2008

We chose the Distinction as Te Anau is, for such a popular tourist destination, surprisingly short on good accomodation options. In fact the town is pretty deficient in most respects. The hotel is a 60s resort style place and is reasonably pleasant if dated. The rooms are the same, but are comfortable enough and service is polite if not exactly enthusiastic. We passed on dining in the restaurant as the menu looked like it hadn't changed since the 60s either and ate at the restaurant attached to the other Distinction hotel in Te Anau. This wasn't great. We ate at Mooses next to the hotel the next night and, while it doesn't look it from outside, is much better. The Fat Duck does a nice breakfast too.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank andharv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2014

Thanks for your review, we have now completed our villa refurbishment and if you are returning please get in touch and we will be happy to ensure your stay is a memorable one

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2008

This hotel has a great view of the lake and located within walking distance of the middle of town. The beds are comfy and the rooms are clean. The hotel is dated however and the service is average. Overall, I was left expecting more considering the price we paid for the room.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marshymellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2014

Thanks for your review, we have now completed our villa refurbishment and if you are returning please get in touch and we will be happy to ensure your stay is a memorable one

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2008

This is the first time I have felt compelled to write a negative review on a hotel.

We've just returned from 3 weeks driving both islands of New Zealand. It was a wonderful trip and we stayed at some terrific hotels & B&B's, but Te Anau Villas was the only disappointment we had on the whole trip. At best, I would give this hotel 2 stars.

We booked this place on-line after doing some research and thought it sounded like the best place in Te Anau even though the price was considerably more than we expected and more than most other places we had booked for the trip.

We arrived after dark, coming in from Milford Sound. The 2 women at the desk were a little brusque with us as they gave us our key and said to "drive back to the road and take the first left" to our room. There are no lights around the property and seemingly, very few signs. We spent the next 15 minutes driving & walking around trying to find our room, then went back to the reception where we received an even less courteous response that made us feel quite stupid. We eventually found our room. The room was quite dated and shabby and had a funny smell. With the disappointment of the room & the service we decided not to eat dinner or breakfast in the hotel but found a couple of lovely reasonably priced prices in town.

The next day we spoke to another couple who also came in after dark, couldn't find their room and had to force someone to come with them to find the room.

Te Anau is a lovely little place on the water and I definitely recommend people stop there coming back from Milford Sound, but I'm sure there must be better places to stay for the money.....or probably much less!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjay3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2014

Thanks for your review, we appreciate your comments and time taken to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2008

Hotel had fabulous view over the Lake and good location, just out of town but easy walking distance.

The accommodation was OK. The decor ready for refurbishment but it was clean and had all the amenities you need as a traveller. Our bedroom was large and comfortable. The breakfasts were poor though.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JAM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2014

Thanks for your review and we appreciate your time

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

Located right on Lake Te Anau with magniicant views. We stayed out of season, had our room upgraded to a lake view suite and breakfast was thrown in free of charge. Rooms are huge, spotless and with effecient central heating , bathrooms are fully equipped. A five minute walk from the centre with a huge choice of restaurants. A perfect and peaceful place to use as a base for touring around the Sounds. Reception were very obliging. Plenty of parking - even in high season.

Stayed: July 2006
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2014

Dear Suzi

Thanks fro your review and I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay in Fiordland and the hotel.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 22 in Te Anau
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#8 of 22 in Te Anau
512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 22 in Te Anau
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Address: 64 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#5 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#13 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: $134 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Te Anau Lake Front, a short stroll from the Te Anau Town Centre, Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas is perfectly situated for you to make the most of this beautiful area. Surrounded by extensive, colourful gardens and overlooking spectacular Lake Te Anau and the Fiordland ranges, this Hotel and Villa accommodation sets the tone for your stay in one of the world’s most breathtaking regions. Designed for your comfort, we offer 115 luxurious rooms, including Hotel rooms with Garden and breathtaking Lake Views, and a range of spacious One and Two Bedroom Garden View Villas. On-site is the renowned MacKinnon Room Restaurant offering the very best of South Island cuisine, and the Explorer Bar and Lakefront Terrace where you can relax and enjoy the uninterrupted views of Lake Te Anau. The hotel offers the largest hotel based conference centre in the area, and its very own lakefront wedding chapel, plus extensive recreational facilities, including a spa, sauna, heated outdoor swimming pool and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Te Anau Hotel And Villas Fiordland National Park
Distinction Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing