We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
chandigarh
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night on the way to Queenstown .We reached the hotel late in the evening and were very impressed by the level of service. Manish on the front desk was most efficient and helpful. We wanted to have good Italian food and he recommended a great place nearby. The breakfast in the morning was quite good. The location of the hotel is excellent it's very close to the shops and the view of the lake is also quite nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joesidhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear joesidhu

Thanks for your review and I am delighted to hear that Manish made a lasting impression on you during your stay with us. I agree the lake views are stunning and we hope to see you back again.

Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    270
    179
    35
    22
See reviews for
141
404
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

This hotel has some good points and some bad points - I'll leave it up to you to decide which ones are important to you.

Firstly, many of the rooms have great views across the Esplanade to the lake and mountains. All the rooms are on the ground floor - great for elderly tour coach passengers who don't want to climb stairs (although elevators exist in other places) but it means a long walk if your lake-view is 200 metres away. Pricing is quite reasonable and facilities fairly good - this probably why so many of those previously mentioned tour coach passengers are wandering the hallways in noisy herds, bleating at each other in loud foreign accents (I supposed I can't hold that against the hotel, though).

Our room was comfortable and well-appointed, clean and well looked after - if not terribly new or modern. Check-in and reception was handled well and handled quickly by very friendly and helpful staff who made us feel welcome.

It's hard for me to write a bad review about this place because they didn't actually do anything that annoyed me - but the place just didn't have any "wow factor". Check out the other hotels and the other reviews - if you don't mind some of the negative points, then the positives might make this the best place for you. All a matter of personal choices.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikey0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Mikey
Thanks for your review and I trust you enjoyed the rest of your time in Fiordland, I am happy to hear you found the price reasonable and hotel room well looked after.
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We spent 2 nights at this hotel during our visit to this side of the South Island. The view to the lake is beautiful. The attention was good. The (double) room was comfortable with balcony. We organised our visit to Milford Sound (do not miss it !!) at the Hotel front desk and they were very helpul. We also had relaxing massages at the small spa inside the Hotel (recommended !!).

Room Tip: Lake view highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Walter F
I am delighted to hear you found the view beautiful, we are blessed to live in a stunning part of New Zealand. Thanks for your comments about the helpful front desk staff, it is always rewarding to hear this from our guests.

Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

My husband and I were both very pleased with the Hotel Villa suit we stayed in, its really well kept, clean, spacious and very romantic.I highly recommend staying at the villa and not in the hotel motel style rooms,In general the place is very clean and very impressive. One of the nicer hotels we stayed at, comparably to the four and five stars we are used to in Dubai and Abu Dhabi ;)

Room Tip: Stay in the Villa suits !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DimaDooma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear DimaDooma
Thanks for your review and we enjoyed having you stay with us. I have passed on your comments to our wonderful team and hope to see you back again soon.

Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We needed a hotel in this location and this was it! Very average in every way. We did have dinner here one evening and it was just ok. It is near the small town so you can walk through the small shopping area if you have free time. As for the rooms, they were average too but the service was not very good.The sheets on one of our beds were not clean. I believe that because we reported this to the front desk and then we discovered something missing there was a bit of retaliation involved. I do believe the manager tried to solve the problem and looked for the missing item but of course the damage had been done as he had to replace it . We would not go back there again however there are not many other alternatives for housing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thedoll1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear thedoll1
Thanks for your feedback and we have taken to the team to ensure consistency in our product and services. I am disappointed to hear you felt retaliation was involved and I hope this did not impact on your stay in Fiordland. I have personally spoken to our team and managers to ensure we show empathy to all our guests.

Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Considering what it cost us I had expected so much more. Our room was exactly what I would have expected if I had checked in in 1970. It was dated and musty smelling, that old lady sort of smell. The cooked breakfast was greazy and cold and hot drinks came in tiny cups and saucers. Only think going for it was that it was on the lake front and close to township. What was supposed to be our last night of comfort before out tramp turned out to be a worse stay than our tramp lodges.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank IndyG66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear IndyG66
Thanks for your constructive feedback and we have taken to the team to ensure we are ensuring all our guests leave the hotel recommending us. I sincerely hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Fiordland.
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
232 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

This hotel is well situated right on Lake Te Anau yet only 2 minutes walk from the shops and restaurants. It should be great. INstead, it is just OK. There is just nothing special or defining about it. Long corridors of identical rooms, all a bit tired and nasty carpet in the corridors which goes up the walls just lend themselves to the corporate and boring. The mini bar was devoid of anything other than milk jiggers. No wifi in the rooms which is just unacceptable these days and makes the hotel out of date for the business traveller. This is not just no free wifi but no wifi period...

Beds were good, room was warm and not too small. Bathroom was small but looked like it had been refurbished more recently than the room.

Breakfast was OK. The scrambled eggs were a highlight but the dining room was large and somewhat resembled a school canteen.

So, would we come back? If we had to but we would scout around first for something more modern and less impersonal

Room Tip: They're all exactly the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nesbitevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear nesbitevans

Thanks for your comments and I am sorry we did not deliver to your expectations. We are in process of finding options for wi fi in the rooms, however we do offer free wi fi in the restaurant bar and lobby for all guests. This is also unlimited for all guests. We do have 3 different room types depending on what guests are after, some have lake view and some garden views as well as villa rooms which are very different to the hotel rooms and offer a relaxed setting amongst our rose gardens.

Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Property: Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Address: 64 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#7 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#13 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Te Anau Lake Front, a short stroll from the Te Anau Town Centre, Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas is perfectly situated for you to make the most of this beautiful area. Surrounded by extensive, colourful gardens and overlooking spectacular Lake Te Anau and the Fiordland ranges, this Hotel and Villa accommodation sets the tone for your stay in one of the world’s most breathtaking regions. Designed for your comfort, we offer 115 luxurious rooms, including Hotel rooms with Garden and breathtaking Lake Views, and a range of spacious One and Two Bedroom Garden View Villas. On-site is the renowned MacKinnon Room Restaurant offering the very best of South Island cuisine, and the Explorer Bar and Lakefront Terrace where you can relax and enjoy the uninterrupted views of Lake Te Anau. The hotel offers the largest hotel based conference centre in the area, and its very own lakefront wedding chapel, plus extensive recreational facilities, including a spa, sauna, heated outdoor swimming pool and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Te Anau Hotel And Villas Fiordland National Park
Distinction Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing