We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in a two bed villa. The other comment on this page, that the villas are in need of TLC, is true. They are a little dated, but they are immaculately clean and a nicely laid out space for a family travelling together, with a small lounge and two sofas, and a compact fridge and microwave area. They are also very quiet and the beds are comfortable. The bathroom, between the two bedrooms, was again a little dated but spotless, and the bath was huge and very comfortable. The bed and bath linens were fine and tolietries nice quality and generous. The best bit of the hotel was the lovely, lovely staff managing the breakfast buffet. The buffet is super generous and very high quality and the ladies seeing you to your seat are delightful. Free wifi in the bar is a nice touch, the bar area is very charming so a nice place to check your email if you really must. The price for the villa was a little expensive considering it's age and size, and next time I would consider two hotel rooms and using the bar area instead of a lounge.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear bjam
I am delighted to hear you found the staff in Restaurant a pleasure to deal with and they impacted positively on your stay. It is pleasing to hear the rooms were immaculately clean and you found the familty space in the rooms useful for your stay. We are in the process of updating our villa rooms and look forward to an improved product here. Please feel free to get in touch should you be returning to Te Anau and we will more than happy to upgrade you to a lakeview room or 2.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

530 - 536 of 774 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a Delux suite, had a lovely seperate lounge area from the bedroom and the bathroom was too die for - we could of spent hr's in the spa bath!!
Loved the modern resturant, the breakfast options were some of the best i have seen in a Hotel.
All the staff had smiles on their faces and always said hi when passing in the halls etc, Was a great place to spend the weekend with excellent views of the Lake.
Will be back!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyJ105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear AmyJ105
Thank you for your glowing review and I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us in Te Anau. I am especially pleased to hear all the staff were smiling as this creates a great ambience around the hotel. We sincerely hope to see you back again soon.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights recently in one of the standard rooms. Room had two queen beds and the usual amenities. Bathroom was clean and good as well.

The best feature is the lounge area near the reception. There is a well-stocked bar and free wifi. There is no internet available in the rooms, but having free wifi was really useful.

We didn't eat the buffet breakfast, as there are plenty of options in Te Anau.

This hotel seems to be preferred by large tour groups. So, there are often loads of people milling around, which is nice in this otherwise sleepy town.

One slightly negative thing was that we were told upon check-in that we will be shifted to a lakeview room next day. That never happened. Somewhat disappointing, but the lakeview is there for all to see from the lounge, and we weren't spending much time in the room anyway. But still, a promise was made (without us asking for it). On the plus side for service, we got an extended check-out (one hour) complimentary, which was actually quite useful for us.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intrepid2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Daer intrepid2k
Thanks for your comments and I am delighted to hear you found your room and bathroom good. We do offer complimentary unlimited wi fi in the bar and Restaurant areas which is very attractive to our guests. I apologise you did not get your room upgrade as promised and hope this did not impede on your stay, although I am disappointed that we did not honour our end of the bargain. We hope we will have another opportunity in welcoming you back in the future.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

You can't argue the location of this property is stunning right on the waterfront it looks very impressive as you pull up & enter the main hotel. It all looks rather inviting & sophisticated.

The same unfortunately can't be said for the villas to the rear & side of the property - they are dark & the exterior is in need of more than just a little tlc (moss growing on the roof, dirty peeling paint), even the road is a bit rough. The room we saw was very dark, even with the lights on & while beautifully furnished with leather sofas it felt neglected, dark & unused. Based on the stuffy air I would be surprised if anyone stayed there all summer. For the price it was completely overpriced.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AoifeBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear AoifeBr
Thanks fro your comments on the stunning location and I am happy to hear you enjoyed the views. we are in the process of refurbing our villa rooms and will look into your lighting comments to ensure the room is a bit brighter for guests staying here.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Given other reviews, we were prepared to find a very different room. Maybe some of the negative comments apply to the villas on this large property. Our travel agent had arranged for us to have a "run of the house" room (#113) in the main building for two nights. There were two double beds, luggage table, desk, refridgerator, two other chairs with a small round table, outside "balcony: with a lovely view of the lake across the main road. The bathroom had conveniently large shelf space, tissues, soap, and shampoo. The room was clean and quiet in spite of facing the "main street" in Te Anau and being on the first floor. We heard nothing from other guests. The reception staff were quite friendly.
We passed the guest laundry facility on the first floor ($2/wash or dry) but did not use it. There is free wifi in the lobby/bar area and two computers for which there are charges.
Clearly, larger tour groups stay here, judging from the buses in the parking lot and the people at the buffet breakfast. We did not eat in the dining room. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the small downtown area and park along the lake. We were a bit surprised at how little traffic there was after dark. The buffet breakfast is huge. You can ask them to prepare egg dishes for you if you don't like the scrambled ones.
By European standards, based on our experience, this hotel is a 4-star.

Room Tip: See if the negative reviews apply to the villas. We found our room in the main building to be excel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear erntravels
I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and found the reception staff friendly and facilities conducive to your time in Te Anau. We do value having an egg station on the buffet and am happy to read this appealed to you. We recently completed a refurb of the hotel rooms and are in process of doing the villas. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand and hopefully we will see you back again one day.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We were put up here for 2 nights/ 3 days, driving in all the way from Wanaka (It definitely is a long journey). Though the location is kind of ok,right in front of the lake, but the property itself is very dated and bears a retired look. Receptionist was helpful in getting us checked-in within a couple of minutes.Room was big in size and had the basic add-ons such as Hair-dryer, hot-water jug etc. The bathroom was small and the tub looked a decade old.The chairs at the sitout of the room were dirty and never cleaned at all.Breakfast was kind of ok, though by the time we reached there (9 AM) every morning, most of the items were exhausted and they didn't bother refilling them without actually being asked for.Wifi is available for free only in the lobby / lounge area which is kind of irritating when u r shelling out a decent amount for the room itself.
Though we didn't spend loads of time each day here, but would have loved to come back from a tiring Milford Sound journey to a better and homely B&B.
All in all an average stay,You could just use it as a base to Milford Sound and spend a night at the max.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IamWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear IamWanderer
Thanks for your comments and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand. I apologise if the buffet was not topped up when you came in for breakfast, this should be topped up at all times while breakfast is open. I hope this did not impede on your stay in New Zealand.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Close to all attractions Milford Sound and Doubtful Sound, Hotel comfortable , free Wi Fi and NO surcharge on your credit card, close to shopping street and restaurants.
Would recommend it to any one, large beer $5 NZ

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Andrew P
Thanks for your comments and we are delighted you valued our free wi fi, no surchages and beer special of $5.00
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 22 in Te Anau
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 22 in Te Anau
508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 22 in Te Anau
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Address: 64 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#5 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#13 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: $130 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Te Anau Lake Front, a short stroll from the Te Anau Town Centre, Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas is perfectly situated for you to make the most of this beautiful area. Surrounded by extensive, colourful gardens and overlooking spectacular Lake Te Anau and the Fiordland ranges, this Hotel and Villa accommodation sets the tone for your stay in one of the world’s most breathtaking regions. Designed for your comfort, we offer 115 luxurious rooms, including Hotel rooms with Garden and breathtaking Lake Views, and a range of spacious One and Two Bedroom Garden View Villas. On-site is the renowned MacKinnon Room Restaurant offering the very best of South Island cuisine, and the Explorer Bar and Lakefront Terrace where you can relax and enjoy the uninterrupted views of Lake Te Anau. The hotel offers the largest hotel based conference centre in the area, and its very own lakefront wedding chapel, plus extensive recreational facilities, including a spa, sauna, heated outdoor swimming pool and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Te Anau Hotel And Villas Fiordland National Park
Distinction Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing