We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

While this property is a bit dated it appears to be the best in this very small community in Southern New Zealand on the shore of Lake Te Anau. Our first floor room looked out over the lake. The bar area was very nice with excellent wi-fi service. The spa was very, very good with a full deep tissue moderately priced and done very well. The property is well located for easy access to the few restaurants in the area. The property was clean and the breakfast buffet good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gapcmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear gapcmp
Thanks for your comments and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in NZ. I am happy to hear you found the facilities conducive to your needs and breakfast good.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (802)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

560 - 566 of 802 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here as we did the doubtful sounds trip, found the hotel to be a bit dated, we book a room based on the photos and where very disappointed the room was small with two queen size beds and a small table and two chairs,the bathroom was also very small, not much room to move about, my husband had a shower that night and got scolded on his chest the shower just turned hot on its own, but in saying this the staff were very good and handled the situation very well, we ended up been upgraded to a deluxe suite which better suited our needs and complimentary. drinks

Room Tip: when booking make sure room is to your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Louise B
I am disappointed to read your expectations were not met and apologise that shower scolded your husband, I am pleased to hear that we dealt with the situation and hope this did not impact on your time in Southland.
If you are planning a return trip, please feel free to get in touch and we will ensure your return stay is a successful one.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We used this property as our 'gateway' for our excursion to Milford Sound which is an easy drive from Te Anau.
Very comfort accommodation, a very nice bar area & above all, EXCELLENT front desk personnel! This includes their General Manager who was 'front and centre' and was always very visible and displayed a very pleasant attitude to all his guests. He and his Front Desk Manager (wish I could remember her name) were both very helpful (and went above and beyond) in sorting out our Booking which was messed up through no fault of their's.
Thanks -you made our visit to your part of the world most memorable!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KootenayGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Kootenay Gold
We were delighted we could help you with your booking and thank you for the kind words of encouragement, we sincerely hope we will have another opportunity in welcoming you back to Southland and Te Anau.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel has been refurbed but it is missing some personality. Great location though, exceptional lake views and walking distance to anywhere. Free wifi but only in the public areas. Bathrooms are just standard. staff are helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaFaye74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2014

Dear Angela

Thank you for your comments and we have now completed further refurbishments and hopefully will have another opportunity in welcoming you back

Regards

Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Distinction Te Anau Hotel overnight during an AAT Kings tour of South Island. This was the best of the hotels we stopped at both for the location (with lake view), the quality of the food and the villa accommodation. Shame we couldn't have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maplehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Maplehorse
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the views and food the best out of the hotels you stayed at in New Zealand. We hope we will have another chance in the future to welcome you back.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We booked a Gardenview room and got upgraded on arrival. We found the staff friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfy with lovely lounge chairs ..... not always found to this standard. Loved sitting on deck outside room looking across the lake to the bush .......... what a view. Yes I recommend and yes I would stay again.

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms have a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Faye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear Faye B
Thanks for your glowing review about your stay and the helpful and friendly staff. Please feel free to get in touch if you are returning and we look forward to making you a loyal customer of ours and Distinction Hotels.

Regards

Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I thought this place was wonderful. The rooms are clean, beds comfy and the hotel is in a great location. All the staff I came across were very friendly and professional. The restaurant and food is very good. I would go to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catchews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Catchews

Thanks for taking the time to write and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the staff professional and friendly. Please feel free to contact me if you are planning a return visit and we will make sure you return stay is as successful as your first.

Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 22 in Te Anau
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#9 of 22 in Te Anau
516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 22 in Te Anau
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Address: 64 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#6 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#13 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: $153 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Te Anau Lake Front, a short stroll from the Te Anau Town Centre, Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas is perfectly situated for you to make the most of this beautiful area. Surrounded by extensive, colourful gardens and overlooking spectacular Lake Te Anau and the Fiordland ranges, this Hotel and Villa accommodation sets the tone for your stay in one of the world’s most breathtaking regions. Designed for your comfort, we offer 115 luxurious rooms, including Hotel rooms with Garden and breathtaking Lake Views, and a range of spacious One and Two Bedroom Garden View Villas. On-site is the renowned MacKinnon Room Restaurant offering the very best of South Island cuisine, and the Explorer Bar and Lakefront Terrace where you can relax and enjoy the uninterrupted views of Lake Te Anau. The hotel offers the largest hotel based conference centre in the area, and its very own lakefront wedding chapel, plus extensive recreational facilities, including a spa, sauna, heated outdoor swimming pool and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Te Anau Hotel And Villas Fiordland National Park
Distinction Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing