We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cocoon - The Movie Set”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cocoon - The Movie Set”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Everything you could hope for in accommodation except atmosphere. Cannot fault this place. It is just not our demographic. Agree with other reviewers comments on the retirement village feel. Also agree on the grotty spa The rooms are big, beds are really comfy and the gardens are lovely.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    275
    185
    35
    22
See reviews for
143
415
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Feilding, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Having read the reviews good and bad for this complex we were pleasantly surprised and also bemused at the negative feedback.

We had an upstairs room overlooking the lake with a kingsize bed that must have been XXL!

Staff were friendly and helpful, wi fi in the bar was great, room was fresh and clean

One surprise was the lack of Sky TV, so had to go next door to the Moose to watch the rugby.

Location is great, is one of the nearest to the visitor centres, shops and cafes.

Room Tip: Some upstairs rooms have decks, all the downstairs rooms have decks and chairs, you couldn't bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahuia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

A great spot and a beautiful room, of the 5-10 hotels we used in our month on the south island this was close to our favourite. The villa was a good size, had a nice layout, good bathroom, everything was clean and it was an easy walk to town. Staff were always helpful and the free wifi in the lobby/bar didn't miss a beat. Would always come back here if staying in Te Anau again!!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

The resort of Te Anau is on the way to the beautiful Milford Sound area and this hotel makes a lovely stop on the way. There are lake view rooms and rooms which face on to the gardens and swimming pool. We were in the later and didn't miss having a lake view as our rooms had access to the gardens and swimming pool through a patio door. The swimming pool area was clean and quiet and was an ideal place to relax after a long drive. The staff were very helpful and the food was good. If you wanted to see the Milford Sound area I would advise at least two nights at the hotel as it is a two hour drive from there to the Sound. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and well equipped.
Within walking distance of the hotel is a little cinema which shows a film taken of Milford Sound and the surrounding area from a helicopter. This is really worth seeing especially if you don't actually make the long journey to the Sound.

Room Tip: There are lake view rooms which are lovely but more expensive whereas the garden rooms are just as n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardson5ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

When I had to choose between Distinction Luxmore and Distinction Hotel and Villas, I thought I'd pay a little extra and stay at the lake front hotel. I made the right decision. Even though I only stayed at the room with Garden View, it was still magnificent. The room was modern, beautiful, clean, and opens up to the garden. It's right in front of the lake, which is just beautiful. There's a wedding chapel in front, and I wish I had gotten married here. Free internet at the lobby. Friendly service. Breakfast buffet could have more variety, but the view from the hotel restaurant makes any meal special. Dinner menu looks nice though, and you could get 10% discount with the voucher. Lots of other restaurants nearby, and there's a visitor centre within walking distance if you wanted to book tours.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roniani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We used the restaurt only, as we had another hotel in the vicinity. We all found the food excellent with a wide choice, and exellent quality. 40NZ$ per head (£22) for all you could eat was in my view good value. The service was good, and the seat by the window gave us an excellent view. Our group had a variety of food disorders, but we were all able to find suitable food for each. Do not be put off by other reviews, as we found it great

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BREVID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Stayed there after Wanaka and what a let down. Hotel looked like a retirement home and very dated. Uncomfortable beds and old linen. Food in restaurant poor. Too expensive for what you received.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeAnau1, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
It's very dissapointing to read your comments and here of your miserable experience while staying with us.Your opinion and views are important and thank you for sharing them with us, it is important to note however that a vast majority of guests who have stayed previously at the property don't share your views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#4 of 23 in Te Anau
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Property: Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Address: 64 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#6 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#13 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Te Anau Lake Front, a short stroll from the Te Anau Town Centre, Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas is perfectly situated for you to make the most of this beautiful area. Surrounded by extensive, colourful gardens and overlooking spectacular Lake Te Anau and the Fiordland ranges, this Hotel and Villa accommodation sets the tone for your stay in one of the world’s most breathtaking regions. Designed for your comfort, we offer 115 luxurious rooms, including Hotel rooms with Garden and breathtaking Lake Views, and a range of spacious One and Two Bedroom Garden View Villas. On-site is the renowned MacKinnon Room Restaurant offering the very best of South Island cuisine, and the Explorer Bar and Lakefront Terrace where you can relax and enjoy the uninterrupted views of Lake Te Anau. The hotel offers the largest hotel based conference centre in the area, and its very own lakefront wedding chapel, plus extensive recreational facilities, including a spa, sauna, heated outdoor swimming pool and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Te Anau Hotel And Villas Fiordland National Park
Distinction Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing