We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Spent my birthday here.We stayed in a spacious villa near the back of the resort so it was a fair walk to the main building for food etc.Dinner was excellent and service was efficient.We had one problem when leaving next morning -an item of clothing which was not ours was found on the floor-we informed reception but they did not seem overly concerned about the poor cleaning of the villa.

Room Tip: Ask for somewhere near the lakeside as the dining room is near hotel front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chalfont55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeAnau1, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Dear Reviewer,
Our sincere apologies for not finding that piece clothing when the room was being cleaned and I can assure you that we do take this very seriously and it's disappointing that this was the one negative aspect of your stay.Thank you for your comments, a belated happy birthday and we would love to have you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (776)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

605 - 611 of 776 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2012

Our family had the misfortune to book this hotel for three nights during our trip this month to New Zealand. Unfortunately there are only limited options in this small town. Not only did they loose our prepaid reservation but they tried to force us to accept a downgrade to a sister property that was even less desirable. After much debate we were finally assigned a lake view room which did have a beautiful view. The room was small for a family. Closet door was broken which made it difficult to store items. After our travel agent got involved and determined it was the hotel's error we received no apology for the rudeness of front desk staff.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeAnau1, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

After investigating the issues regarding your recent stay with us I can honestly say that things could of been handled far more diplomatically and professionally on this occasion.An error was made by us with your booking and the way the issue was handled has been a learning exercise for all concerned. We are very sorry that this occurred and we will do our upmost to ensure this doesn't happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed here for work because normal accommodation was booked out, so I can't comment on cost. But service, atmosphere, rooms, location, bar, restaurant and facilities are all extremely impressive. I will definitely be back to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Talk2libby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2014

Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Very old looking hotel and room. As such, renovation is needed from my point of view. Free wifi in lounge was much appreciated as well as the reception personnel was very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeAnau1, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your comments. We are in the process of looking at further refurbishments within the property that will compliment the many that have already been completed and help us maintain our modern standard of appearence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

I stayed here for three nights in a lakefront double room. It was a base from which I could explore the region.

The room was well equipped, modern and reasonably spacious. It was comfortable for a multi-day stay. The hotel is located quite close to the town centre.

I found it a bit unusual that there was no power outlet in the bathroom for the hair dryer (there is power for a shaver, however). Also, the hash browns at the breakfast bar were consistently cool to cold, which is not good from a food safety point of view.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreyScale70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2014

Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Well made 2 bedroom apartments. bang in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajsanyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2014

Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

This was a nice hotel. The area was beautiful and a great place to launch hikes. I went with a group and we did not have rooms with views of the lake. Ask for a lake view if you stay here. The restaurant staff was very nice

Room Tip: Get a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smallbirdNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2014

Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 22 in Te Anau
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 22 in Te Anau
508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 22 in Te Anau
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Address: 64 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#5 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#13 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: $131 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Te Anau Lake Front, a short stroll from the Te Anau Town Centre, Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas is perfectly situated for you to make the most of this beautiful area. Surrounded by extensive, colourful gardens and overlooking spectacular Lake Te Anau and the Fiordland ranges, this Hotel and Villa accommodation sets the tone for your stay in one of the world’s most breathtaking regions. Designed for your comfort, we offer 115 luxurious rooms, including Hotel rooms with Garden and breathtaking Lake Views, and a range of spacious One and Two Bedroom Garden View Villas. On-site is the renowned MacKinnon Room Restaurant offering the very best of South Island cuisine, and the Explorer Bar and Lakefront Terrace where you can relax and enjoy the uninterrupted views of Lake Te Anau. The hotel offers the largest hotel based conference centre in the area, and its very own lakefront wedding chapel, plus extensive recreational facilities, including a spa, sauna, heated outdoor swimming pool and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Te Anau Hotel And Villas Fiordland National Park
Distinction Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing