We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Te Anau stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We had a stop over at the Hotel and Villas in Te Anau on our way to Milford Sound. Comfortable stay but the apartments are a bit tired. The apartment was supposed to be self contained but did not have a table and chairs.

Small things put you off when you arrive in a motel expecting a lot better. We found there was a shortage of available toilet paper, no additional pillows were available and the ones already in the bedrooms were past their use by date.

Main focus of management seemed to be on larger organised tourist contingents.

Would not recommend this to friends if travelling through

Peter S, Brisbane Qld

Room Tip: As for a room at the front of the complex.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJS1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2014

Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (763)
There are newer reviews for Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

605 - 611 of 763 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. The apartment was old and could do with a refurbishment, it reminded me of a retirement village unit. The "kitchen" was a small bar fridge under a small table in the corner. On it sat a microwave and a kettle. There was not any sink, so the kettle had to be filled at the taps attached to the bathtub as it wouldn't fit under the taps at the washbasin in the bathroom!

I would consider it clean and functional, that's it. The location is excellent, just a minute's walk from the information centre and across the road from the lake. Wifi was free and only accessible at the reception area, which isn't very convenient.

I do not know the rates they charged as we booked this as a package through a travel agent.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Papermate27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2014

Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed here for one night in a lake view room. Although the room had a lovely view it became very warm during the afternoon with the sun blazing in so when we arrived it was stiflingly hot. The room was functional if a little dated. The bathroom could have done with a good clean. We didn't eat in the restaurant for either dinner or breakfast so cannot comment on the quality. However the size of the restaurant suggests that it is geared up for large coach parties rather than fine dining! It served its purpose as a stop-over but we have no desire to return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachelM83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2014

Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Provided you can get a lakeview room this hotel is very adequate but avoid the rear facing rooms. The lakefront bar is good but the restaurant was almost empty, though we had a good light meal.
This hotel needs an update but the lake view is stunning. We did not vist the 'Villas'

Room Tip: Must get a lake view room
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2014

Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The 2 bedroomed villa was very tired, sorely in need of refurbishment. The bed was however comfortable and clean. Very disappointing and expensive. There are far better value for money choices in Te Anau. A positive is free wifi in the lounge area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ozzyfamilyholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2014

Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Booked in as we got a good deal online but were very disappointed by our room. the villas are old and shabby. When we asked for our room to be changed the lady at reception was rude and unplesant. Breakfast was very pricy and would recommend other places around town.

Room Tip: Nothing good
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2014

Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

After paying ANZCRO some six months ago for the booking we were given a room 829 which over looked the bus washing depot not the lake. This consisted of a gravel pit and a shipping container with the noise of buses parking every few minutes. Inside the room there was mould, grime and broken bits of trim in the bathroom.

On requesting a clean room away from the noise we were given a smaller room and told all the lake view rooms were taken.

Wondering the point of paying in advance to ANZCRO, as we were allocated the worst room. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bengaella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2014

Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Te Anau
384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#20 of 23 in Te Anau
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Address: 64 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#5 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#13 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: $117 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Te Anau Lake Front, a short stroll from the Te Anau Town Centre, Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas is perfectly situated for you to make the most of this beautiful area. Surrounded by extensive, colourful gardens and overlooking spectacular Lake Te Anau and the Fiordland ranges, this Hotel and Villa accommodation sets the tone for your stay in one of the world’s most breathtaking regions. Designed for your comfort, we offer 115 luxurious rooms, including Hotel rooms with Garden and breathtaking Lake Views, and a range of spacious One and Two Bedroom Garden View Villas. On-site is the renowned MacKinnon Room Restaurant offering the very best of South Island cuisine, and the Explorer Bar and Lakefront Terrace where you can relax and enjoy the uninterrupted views of Lake Te Anau. The hotel offers the largest hotel based conference centre in the area, and its very own lakefront wedding chapel, plus extensive recreational facilities, including a spa, sauna, heated outdoor swimming pool and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Te Anau Hotel And Villas Fiordland National Park
Distinction Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing