We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Functional” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Functional”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Provided you can get a lakeview room this hotel is very adequate but avoid the rear facing rooms. The lakefront bar is good but the restaurant was almost empty, though we had a good light meal.
This hotel needs an update but the lake view is stunning. We did not vist the 'Villas'

Room Tip: Must get a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    264
    174
    35
    22
See reviews for
139
393
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

The 2 bedroomed villa was very tired, sorely in need of refurbishment. The bed was however comfortable and clean. Very disappointing and expensive. There are far better value for money choices in Te Anau. A positive is free wifi in the lounge area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozzyfamilyholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

Booked in as we got a good deal online but were very disappointed by our room. the villas are old and shabby. When we asked for our room to be changed the lady at reception was rude and unplesant. Breakfast was very pricy and would recommend other places around town.

Room Tip: Nothing good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

After paying ANZCRO some six months ago for the booking we were given a room 829 which over looked the bus washing depot not the lake. This consisted of a gravel pit and a shipping container with the noise of buses parking every few minutes. Inside the room there was mould, grime and broken bits of trim in the bathroom.

On requesting a clean room away from the noise we were given a smaller room and told all the lake view rooms were taken.

Wondering the point of paying in advance to ANZCRO, as we were allocated the worst room. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bengaella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

Enjoyed our stay in a 2 bedroom villa. The bedrooms and lounge were modern and comfortable with lots of windows. The bathroom was ok, perhaps a little outdated, although had two basins and a large vanity area which was great with 4 of us travelling. Great location across from Lake te anau and short walk to town centre.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank felicity t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

Good location as close to town. Very run down and dirty. Not worth price pad. Housekeeping needs to be checked. Fridge, utensils, bathroom benches and bins were dirty. There were food stains on the bins. Pool looked clean. The surroundings of the villa and the villas need to have a thorough clean and tidied. Spider webs everywhere. I think it may have looked quite clean and nice many years ago. Just looked neglected and sad.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VWLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom villa. The room was dark and not well ventilated. The fridge and microwave were dirty and the bathroom was very old while the toilet doesn't flush adequately. I would expect more for the price paid..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovegoodadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Property: Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Address: 64 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#7 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#13 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Te Anau Lake Front, a short stroll from the Te Anau Town Centre, Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas is perfectly situated for you to make the most of this beautiful area. Surrounded by extensive, colourful gardens and overlooking spectacular Lake Te Anau and the Fiordland ranges, this Hotel and Villa accommodation sets the tone for your stay in one of the world’s most breathtaking regions. Designed for your comfort, we offer 115 luxurious rooms, including Hotel rooms with Garden and breathtaking Lake Views, and a range of spacious One and Two Bedroom Garden View Villas. On-site is the renowned MacKinnon Room Restaurant offering the very best of South Island cuisine, and the Explorer Bar and Lakefront Terrace where you can relax and enjoy the uninterrupted views of Lake Te Anau. The hotel offers the largest hotel based conference centre in the area, and its very own lakefront wedding chapel, plus extensive recreational facilities, including a spa, sauna, heated outdoor swimming pool and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Te Anau Hotel And Villas Fiordland National Park
Distinction Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing