We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good place to stay”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Rooms are clean. Staff is friendly. Wines are superb. Diner is good.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Axelke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
distinction_hotel, Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thank you for posting your lovely comments on Trip Advisor.

It is a joy to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to welcome you again some day.

Kind regards,

Distinction Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    274
    185
    35
    22
See reviews for
143
414
25
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Wow what a special time we had in Te Anau. The hotel and staff were just fabulous. Nothing was too much trouble and the day the mini bus took us to Milford Sound for the day the staff even made us coffees to go. The hotel room was just great with beautiful views over the lake. The staff from front reception, to waiting and housemaids were just so lovely, professional and friendly. All in all a great stay and we will be back.

Room Tip: Any room would be great but perhaps a room overlooking the lake would just be the ticket.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacko1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
distinction_hotel, Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thank you for coming to stay with us at Distinction Te Anau, and for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. It is fantastic to hear that you had such a good time with us, and that the staff and facilities exceeded your expectations.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you next time :)

Kind regards,

Distinction Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Stayed here with the Tour of Southland officials group. Comfortable garden view room with 2 queen beds. A little warm when we arrived in the room, but as I am not an idiot and can operate a thermostat the room soon became a more pleasant temperature. Good selection of channels on tv. Clean bathroom. Plenty of space to move around. Hotel is basically in the middle of Te Anau so a short walk to everything. Breakfast buffet was plentiful and filling. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JediNeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
distinction_hotel, Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. It is very pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay so much.. Including the room, facilities, and location.

We certainly hope to see you again one day at Distinction Te Anau.

Kind regards,

Distinction Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

I had done some major searching for a hotel in Te Anau - never having been to the area before. I like to check out multiple properties before making a decision (I'm a CTA). For the price, and the description online, this property seemed like the best option. We opted for a garden-view room with breakfast included because we knew we would get there late in the day and be leaving fairly early in the morning.
The hotel seemed empty when we arrived - barely anyone in the parking lot and only saw 3 other groups (2-3 people each) in the evening and the next morning. But based on the time of year, it seemed normal, so we thought nothing of it. Walked into town for a delicious dinner...walked back to the hotel and there didn't seem to be a lot of people anywhere.
In the hotel room it was cold - is was early Spring so weather was chilly in the evenings anyway. Turned on the heater - a small pissant thing against the wall. Heated up - barely any heat came out. Turned itself off. We raised the temperature on it and it came on again for a few minutes. Then turned itself off. We were freezing...called the front desk - the agent came to the room and said that they often have to fix the heaters because they get large tour groups from China who ignore the stickers on the heater to use the thermostat at the wall and mess up the heater controls. She "fixed" it....for about 5 minutes until it just kept turning itself off again. We called the front desk again and she came back with a small set of portable heaters, saying that these would heat up the room. ????
We looked at them and turned them on - about half an hour later coming to the conclusions that 1) we were still freezing and these heaters were doing nothing and 2) we didn't want to sleep with these heaters on for fear of them catching fire! We called the desk again - a gentleman came out to the room and finally (this being the THIRD TIME we had called about the issue) moved us to a room down the hall. Claimed the heater in this room would work. Turned it on and said we were good to go.
Liar. We froze the entire night. And unfortunately, unlike most small hotels in New Zealand, this hotel didn't include heated mattress pads on the bed. After a cold night we woke the next morning thinking we would head for breakfast and check out at 10 (check out times are early early in New Zealand so don't get used to the 11am/noon checkout you may be used to from the US!).
My husband went to take some bags to the car at 930 and happened to walk by the restaurant, where they were closing the door!!! Turns out they closed for breakfast at 930am! Thanks for telling us when we checked in the night before! He rushed back to the room to get me and we immediately went back to the restaurant where...the only saving grace for this hotel...the lady let us in to the breakfast buffet and even went to get the chef for me to make me some eggs and gluten-free toast (as there were minimal gluten-free options on the tables and the eggs were so runny they looked like vomit).
Keeping in mind we had been staying at little cabins/small single-owner motels, we had expected a little more out of this "Distinction Hotel and Villas"...although on entering thought at the very least it would meet the standards of the small cabins/motels we had stayed at the few nights before. We were horribly disappointed. What was worse was that this was THE most expensive hotel we had stayed at during the entire trip...we had stayed at a BEAUTIFUL hotel at Franz Josef for $30 less!
Considering the hotel seemed virtually empty, we were stunned that it took so long to move us to a room with a working heater, and then more stunned that there were issues with the heater in the room we ended up in. When my husband checked out in the morning, he was told that they had cleaned the room we were initially placed in and the heater was "working fine". I guess if you're there in the summer it would be, but we can't imagine how people would be warm in the middle of winter!
(by the way - "garden view room" = view of the concrete block wall behind the pool, with a tree in front...)
In a nutshell....never again, and unfortunately, it's turned us off the Distinction brand entirely.

Room Tip: maybe the lake view rooms were nicer...and warmer...but we won't bother trying to find out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank usnaturedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
distinction_hotel, Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. We appreciate this feedback, as it helps us to continually improve our service to you.

We do apologise that your experience did not meet your expectations. This was certainly not good enough on our part, and the staff should have checked to ensure the second room had a working heater, and taken your comments about the broken heater into account rather than passing them off as incorrect.

We have certainly passed this on to staff involved, and we will be looking into the heaters in the hotel as they should definitely all be working over a cold Southland winter. I also apologise that you were not told about the breakfast times, and almost missed it. However I'm glad that at least this issue was resolved for you.

I am sorry to hear that this has put you off the Distinction brand entirely.. We certainly expect a higher standard of service from our staff than was received by you, and this is not usually the way Distinction operates. I hope you will understand that your experience does not happen often, we have taken your feedback into account, and will do our utmost to solve it.

I hope you can give Distinction another chance.

Kind regards,

Distinction Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gore, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Back in June this year I stayed in one of the two bedroom Distinction villa's (Te Anau) with my partner and parents. On first impressions the the villa was clean and tidy, however as our stay went on we became increasingly disappointed for the following reasons:

* A spare sock (not one of ours) was found under one of the beds
* One of the taps in the bathroom leaked consistently
* The villa ran out of hot water after running a single bath
* The thermostats on the heater in the main living area were set far too low for a Southland winter (and I am a Southlander...!)
* After a night of drizzly rain, the carpets under the windows in one of the bedrooms was soggy and wet
* The TV's only showed Australian sports channels
* All of the out buildings were scruffy and covered in mould and mildew
* The villa's did not have wine glasses, however when we requested some to brought to our Villa the hotel staff responded promptly (great service)

We had an early start the next day, so I filled out the customer feedback form and listed all of the above issues outlined and my contact details; when I handed our room key in I requested to be contacted by the manager as soon as was practical to discuss our stay, however I am still waiting...

Our stay... and the lack of follow up from what was a disappointing stay was....simply not good enough!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
distinction_hotel, Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor, and fill out the comment form during your stay.

I must apologise for the lack of response to your complaint - you are right, this is not good enough and this has been passed on to the General Manager and CEO who will look into it. Apologies that your stay was not as good as originally hoped, and we do appreciate you passing this on.

Kind regards,

Distinction Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Walking down the poorly lit, dated corridor to our lake front room, my partner and I couldn't help but draw comparisons to the hotel from the movie 'the shining'.

We were pleasantly surprised by our room which was clean enough and had been refurbished. Our bathroom was very small with the shower over the bath. The extraction in the bathroom was poor and the shower curtain did not serve it's purpose well (I hate shower curains in hotels!)

The hotel was eerily quiet during our stay and we did not see any other guests in the distant 'wing' we were placed in. We felt very isolated. We also felt that secuity to our room would have been improved by the installation of a solid core door.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Time2venture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
distinction_hotel, Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience with the location of your room, and I certainly hope that you would consider staying with us again in one of our other rooms.

We will take this into account, it is a good point that being away from the other guests can make you feel isolated.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Distinction Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
127 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

we stayed in the villas and not in the main hotel the villas are warm clean and comfortable there is no actual kitchen but they do supply plates cups and cultery small refrigerator and microwave BUT you have to use a sink in the bathroom to fill the jug or wash any cups etc

there is a lovely lounge area in the main hotel part and all the staff were very efficient and personable

nothing much to whinge about here clean and comfortable

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
distinction_hotel, Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Distinction Te Anau, and for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that everything went well. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Distinction Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
367 reviews
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
492 reviews
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Property: Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Address: 64 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#6 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#13 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Te Anau Lake Front, a short stroll from the Te Anau Town Centre, Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas is perfectly situated for you to make the most of this beautiful area. Surrounded by extensive, colourful gardens and overlooking spectacular Lake Te Anau and the Fiordland ranges, this Hotel and Villa accommodation sets the tone for your stay in one of the world’s most breathtaking regions. Designed for your comfort, we offer 115 luxurious rooms, including Hotel rooms with Garden and breathtaking Lake Views, and a range of spacious One and Two Bedroom Garden View Villas. On-site is the renowned MacKinnon Room Restaurant offering the very best of South Island cuisine, and the Explorer Bar and Lakefront Terrace where you can relax and enjoy the uninterrupted views of Lake Te Anau. The hotel offers the largest hotel based conference centre in the area, and its very own lakefront wedding chapel, plus extensive recreational facilities, including a spa, sauna, heated outdoor swimming pool and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Te Anau Hotel And Villas Fiordland National Park
Distinction Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing