We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fiordland National Park Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$91
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
$89
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ASURE Amber Court Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
$81
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aden Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
$101
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parklands Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
$62
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveler rating
13
33
30
6
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
33
30
6
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbackpacker roomhead startbackpackers kitchenmilford soundworked perfectlymilford roadlonger staylarge kitchengorgeous viewsqueen bedgood sizebeds were comfortablea great place to staynew zealandwaynefacilitieslake
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 101 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Booked in here for one night on way back from Milford Sound trip. No food available and the bar was shut. Room was clean but decor was 'tired' (in need of a refurb if rumours not true). Booked out and got a refund. Manager was apologetic and the refund was not an issue. It felt like a morgue (eerie).
Would not attempt to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbiegoodchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2009

I had read the reviews of the lodge on Trip advisor prior to my trip and did not have much to look forward to from the reviews.It is very basis from the outside but the rooms were spotless,heater was on ready for our stay, real coffee and hot chocolate,all you could need.The sitting area in the reception had a roaring fire going,food was excellent and very plentiful,great choice of entrees,mains and desserts.Best porridge I have had for years and my husband is a Scot!
Only negative was the price of drinks,our group would have stayed longer in the bar if it had not been so dear.
Jane and her husband have made the place warm and welcoming,a very pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieWoAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2009

We stayed at the fiordland national park lodge overnight on our way to Milford Sound. We chose it because it was 30kms closer to Milford Sound than the places in Te Anau and since it cut off some time on our drive the next morning I suppose it was worth it.

We stayed in a 'motel' room which was poorly decorated (think bright blue and pale pink colour scheme) and smelled so strongly of air freshener spray that our eyes started to water when we walked into the room. The self contained kitchen was barely adequate (there were no forks for a start!) and the bathroom was grimy but functional.

The restaurant was closed on the days that we were there so we can't comment on the food. The service was neither here nor there, the staff weren't rude or unhelpful but they certainly weren't super friendly or helpful either.

There was a nice view from our front door but certainly not nice enough to justify the cost of this place. I would have been disappointed with the room at half the price.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomadic-Nikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2008

We stayed here for one night as part of a tour group.
We were given a room in the "motel" section and not in the main building.
The room was clean and contained all the facilities to self cater.
Bear in mind you are 28 kilometres from Te Anau on the road to Miford Sound so you must be prepared!
There is a small lake next to the Lodge, where there is a walk of 20/30 minutes, enough to get the legs going after a spell in the bus!
The staff were friendly and very helpful, and should I be in the neighbourhood again, I would stay at the Lodge. Mind you, it is the only accomodation here!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights as a base to get to Milford Sound. As the previous reviewer mentioned it is a good way from Te Anua and still a long trip from Milford. The owners and staff could not have been more kind and helpful but the property was to say the least basic. It is more suited to hikers in need of a bed than someone looking for real comfort at the end of a long day of travelling.

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank AudB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews