We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant surprise..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fiordland National Park Lodge
Ranked #22 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Te Anau
Reviewed October 10, 2009

I had read the reviews of the lodge on Trip advisor prior to my trip and did not have much to look forward to from the reviews.It is very basis from the outside but the rooms were spotless,heater was on ready for our stay, real coffee and hot chocolate,all you could need.The sitting area in the reception had a roaring fire going,food was excellent and very plentiful,great choice of entrees,mains and desserts.Best porridge I have had for years and my husband is a Scot!
Only negative was the price of drinks,our group would have stayed longer in the bar if it had not been so dear.
Jane and her husband have made the place warm and welcoming,a very pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieWoAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 93 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2009

We stayed at the fiordland national park lodge overnight on our way to Milford Sound. We chose it because it was 30kms closer to Milford Sound than the places in Te Anau and since it cut off some time on our drive the next morning I suppose it was worth it.

We stayed in a 'motel' room which was poorly decorated (think bright blue and pale pink colour scheme) and smelled so strongly of air freshener spray that our eyes started to water when we walked into the room. The self contained kitchen was barely adequate (there were no forks for a start!) and the bathroom was grimy but functional.

The restaurant was closed on the days that we were there so we can't comment on the food. The service was neither here nor there, the staff weren't rude or unhelpful but they certainly weren't super friendly or helpful either.

There was a nice view from our front door but certainly not nice enough to justify the cost of this place. I would have been disappointed with the room at half the price.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingWordSlinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2008

We stayed here for one night as part of a tour group.
We were given a room in the "motel" section and not in the main building.
The room was clean and contained all the facilities to self cater.
Bear in mind you are 28 kilometres from Te Anau on the road to Miford Sound so you must be prepared!
There is a small lake next to the Lodge, where there is a walk of 20/30 minutes, enough to get the legs going after a spell in the bus!
The staff were friendly and very helpful, and should I be in the neighbourhood again, I would stay at the Lodge. Mind you, it is the only accomodation here!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights as a base to get to Milford Sound. As the previous reviewer mentioned it is a good way from Te Anua and still a long trip from Milford. The owners and staff could not have been more kind and helpful but the property was to say the least basic. It is more suited to hikers in need of a bed than someone looking for real comfort at the end of a long day of travelling.

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank AudB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2007

Stayed here for one night as part of a tour. Beautiful peaceful location, 30kms north of Te Anau. Friendly manager and staff and good food. We stayed in a clean motel unit which was furnished with confortable king size bed, single bed, and small kitchenette with cooking equipment. Everything you needed was provided. There are also hotel rooms and rooms for backpackers. Great views all around hotel, which is located next to the lake. Ideal if you are visiting Milford Sound as it is nearer than Te Anau, however, the down side is that as it is isolated, there is nothing else to do in the area except admire the scenery, go for a short bushwalk nearby, or go to the hotel bar. It is also ideally located if you are doing the Milford Track walk and you can leave your car at the hotel. I would certainly stay here again. Warning to those of you visiting Milford Sound, it rains a lot! However, it is very beautiful, whatever the weather.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DisneyDi62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2006

Best western advertised with a bar and restaurant, but on arrival, we were told the bar and restaurant was not open tonight for dinner or in the morning for breakfast. Clearly not happy they did agree to provide the continental breakfast in our room free of charge. Had to go back 28 kms to Te Anau for a meal. Room very clean although a little basic. Good views over the lake and mountains and of course that much closer to Milford sound. This hotel shares the site with backpackers and another hotel chain, but no-one else seen here.
Best Western had our e-mail address so very annoyed they didn't advise of the restaurant closure.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rob3066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vraag om een kamer met uitzicht op het meer
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ben v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan H, Owner at Fiordland National Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
15.8 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
15.4 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
15.1 mi away
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
#10 of 27 in Te Anau
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers
14.2 mi away
Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park
15.1 mi away
YHA Te Anau
YHA Te Anau
#4 of 27 in Te Anau
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiordland National Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiordland National Park Lodge

Address: 2681 Milford Sound Highway | PO Box 19, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park SH 94, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range: $57 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fiordland National Park Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Fiordland National Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiordland National Park Hotel Te Anau
Fiordland National Park Lodge Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing