We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of commitment”

The Ranch Cafe Bar & Grill
Ranked #7 of 35 Restaurants in Te Anau
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Seabeck
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Lack of commitment”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The food was average and as you can see, heated up. Three out of four dishes have been less than average.
The staff is too young to care. You can see all the chefs walking around in the kitchen with their headphones on and waiting for the food to heat up again. The waitresses try but if the locals come in, they have their priorities set on them. And I do not want to see my waitress pull up the pants of a wanna be cool kid from town.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wala69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    328
    122
    63
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

The food was delicious and staff friendly. They even picked us up from the caravan park and took us back. Lovely country feel.

Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner with the crew”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Good food at a good price with excellent friendly service

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
“Good grub on a cold winter's night”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We had dinner here a few weeks back while in Te Anau for three nights.

The restaurant was warm and cozy, one of the few in NZ where we were able to take off our jackets!

I thoroughly enjoyed my bowl of potato chicken soup, which had the texture of mashed potatoes. Warm, filling and full of flavor ($9.50)

My spouse opted for the lamb roast, a generous plate of lamb and vegetables - tasty and good value ($19.50).

A good option in Te Anau.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melnq8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sunday roast”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Sent to The Ranch for a Sunday roast and it was delicious. Good value and great taste. Staff very friendly and efficient. Well worth a visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ranch Cafe Bar & Grill also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to The Ranch Cafe Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing