We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still good for and a cheaper spot to eat.”
Review of Olive Tree Cafe

Olive Tree Cafe
Ranked #2 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Te Anau
Price range: $10 - $36
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Open daily (except Christmas Day) for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Great coffee. Cabinet of homemade sweet treats. Central Otago wines.Kids Menu. Gluten Free options available. Browse Local artwork. Relax on the couches or out in our sheltered courtyard & let our friendly staff take care of you. Looking for somebody to take care of your outcatering needs? Give us a call.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Still good for and a cheaper spot to eat.”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I have eaten here a few times. The food has been consistently good. Prices are reasonable. Service has ben very cheery; except when they are run off their feet (which is fair enough). Really liked the way time was taken by our waitress to chat with an elderly customer who clearly wanted a friendly face to talk to; good on them for obliging him. I did not mind waiting.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank srobgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    244
    84
    39
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good food, good value and friendly staff”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

We had a breakfast, a lunch and a dinner at the olive garden and all were excellent with good ingredients well prepared. The staff were very friendly. The cafe isn't luxurious, but comfortable especially if the weather is good enough to allow the outside to be used.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank alexander g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Anau, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“standard have dropped”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This place used to be the best place in Te Anau but standards have dropped incredibly low. The food and sometimes service is incredibly terrible

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GJR20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Slow service, decent food”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The restaurant staff was overwhelmed with a full house, and service was slow. The food was decent. Opt for the simpler dishes. Sticky date pudding -- delicious

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Metsfan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Best coffee in town”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

If you are looking for an early morning coffee then don't go anywhere else. We were only disappointed that we didn't have more time to stop for breakfast or come back for some dinner. The food did look very good and I would want to go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowEuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Tree Cafe also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Olive Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing