We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and cozy place for travellers to enjoy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olive Tree Cafe

Olive Tree Cafe
Ranked #2 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Te Anau
Price range: $10 - $36
Cuisines: Cafe, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Open daily (except Christmas Day) for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Great coffee. Cabinet of homemade sweet treats. Central Otago wines.Kids Menu. Gluten Free options available. Browse Local artwork. Relax on the couches or out in our sheltered courtyard & let our friendly staff take care of you. Looking for somebody to take care of your outcatering needs? Give us a call.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice and cozy place for travellers to enjoy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Food was good, staff were friendly, prices were not too steep. Overall good place to go if you want some thing a little bit fancier than a burger joint but not too fancy so you can rock up in your shorts and jandals.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    232
    79
    38
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Food poisoning”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We ate at the Olive Tree on the day we arrived in Te Anau. The service was quite slow -we had to wait forever for our coffees but in the end they were ok. The soup of the day was very basic but ok, but the other dishes were a bit soggy and haphazardly made with lots of ingredients but somehow missing the point of each dish. One person in our party ate a warm fish salad that turned out to be a soggy salad base with battered fish bits and some sort of seafood mix -not that great and in the end it gave her a food poisoning! The Olive Tree used to be a very nice place a few years back but has gone downhill since our earlier visit and based on our recent experience, I can't recommend it anymore. Of all the places we ate in Te Anau, the Olive Tree Cafe was sadly the worst, even without the food poisoning incident.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank finntastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stumbled upon this little cafe hidden away and enjoyed a nice casual dinner here after the glow-worm trip. Warm and friendly place with tasty food.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Monsta76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We brought our 1 year old for dinner, and chose a nice seat outside. We were able to sit comfortably with our son in his high chair and not feel like we were upsetting anyone else. There was a very comprehensive menu, including a kids menu with some healthier options than the regular nuggets and chips. Our son had roast lamb which he absolutely loved. I snuck a piece of lamb and it was melt-in-the-mouth tender. My husband and I both had steaks, which were perfectly cooked. Desserts were pretty good too. To be honest, it wasn't the best food I've ever had but the atmosphere was nice and relaxed, which was perfect when you have children. The staff were very friendly and attentive, our orders were taken promptly, food arrived in good time, and we were checked up on for extra drinks etc. We will visit again and will recommend to friends

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannah_C368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Lovely sheltered courtyard atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had eggs benedict with salmon - not a hard dish to do a good job with - but they did a good job! Good coffee too.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank emmanichols01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Tree Cafe also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Olive Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing