We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money and Friendly Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ming Garden Chinese Restaurant

Ming Garden Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 34 Restaurants in Te Anau
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Value for money and Friendly Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We really enjoyed our dinner here. My partner said the duck ( which was served on a sizzling platter was very tender. I ordered the combination seafood and udon noodle soup. This was a mixture of squid, mussels, fish and scallops and noodles in a large amount of broth. For the price both dishes were very good value and the service was frinedly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 652Lyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    80
    49
    16
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

After traveling around for 3 weeks in NZ eating at fabulous restaurants, we couldn't look at another rich, heavy gourmet meal, club sandwich, pizza, steak or lamb shank. We didn't want to descend to greasy takeaway. I had a hankering for something lighter with some veges and stuff, maybe something Asian.....
We took a flight out over the fiords and as we were saying goodbye to our pilot, a local, I asked him if there was a good Chinese anywhere in town. He said 'go to Ming Garden. Don't go to the other one'. That night we took his advice. It was great. The food was really good, reasonably priced too. Service was fast and friendly. We stuffed ourselves but still didn't feel heavy or bloated. The staff were lovely. We gave them a good tip. Next day we recommended the place to some fellow travelers at our motel. That night, you guessed it... We went back. So did they. It was very busy but they had 2 extra girls waiting so service was still superb, as was the food again. Loved it. Gave them a tip. Wrote this review. If you're in Te Anau, try Ming Garden.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F'burg
Level Contributor
205 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Average food, good service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Although the food was only average, when our group arrived with an unexpected vegetarian (the meal was pre-ordered and they should have been informed beforehand), the owners and staff quickly and efficiently did everything they could to accomodate her. I give them high marks for the way they handled what was really an error on the part of our group.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank nanacake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Yum Yum Chinese food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Yum Yum Chinese food and cheap!
Highly recommended shop for dine in or take away.
Try banana fritter.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank h2go210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Food Fair Prices!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

This restaurant is situated close to the supermarket and is operated by a husband and wife team. The owner is from Hong Kong and he told us he has been running the restaurant business for twenty odd years. The place is cozy, clean and well lit.

Service was good, as the owner himself attended to us. He was frank, as he did tell us the Blue Cod available was frozen and recommended it to be deep fried. He also recommended a few dishes, which turned out to be good. The price was very reasonable for six people. Workers are polite too.

It is a good place for Chinese cuisine and chit-chat as the atmosphere is rather relaxed.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ming Garden Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Ming Garden Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing