We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early Bird Special”
Review of La Toscana

La Toscana
Ranked #9 of 34 Restaurants in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Early Bird Special”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My Mum and I went here. We were there on opening so got the early bird special. The garlic bread was very good. I got the Pasta Al Verde which was so good! My Mum however got the Pomarola which you could have bought at the supermarket in a tin of pasta sauce. She also got salad which she loved. The waitresses were lovely and very attentive. I loved that they played only Italian music.

Such a shame the spaghetti was a let down.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    151
    54
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Marinara Pizza”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We headed to La Toscana for a quick and filling Italian meal following a long day on the road. We were pleasantly surprised to find the food was of a superb standard, in particular the marinara pizza, which was the best I've had. Service was quick and professional, and decor was relatively authentic. Pasta dishes were of a good size for their price.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelmate17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved the Pizza!”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We got there early for dinner so we went with the special deal they were offering before 6.30pm. We had garlic bread, a pasta dish and a pizza to share and we both had dessert. My husband is still raving on about the pizza and the dessert!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hazel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
245 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Takeaway pizzas are fab!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We were quite tired from a long day so decided to get a takeaway pizza from here (there are 3 Italian places to choose from in Te Anau!), pleased we chose this place as the service was quick & excellent & the food was fantastic too!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank NaomiBUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Although the service was outstanding (very busy night but let us order and sit at main table until another table was free), the pizza itself was a letdown. The meat-lovers-ish one was the better of the two, with ample toppings, but was overpowered by the amount of sauce. The other was the meatball pizza, which was very bland and had too much cheese. This is my fault for not asking, but I was expecting the meatballs to be in some kind of Bolognese sauce. There wasn't even much sauce on the base so you pretty much ended up with plain meatballs, greasy mozzarella (which doesn't have a lot of flavour anyway) and dough.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim-Andrew04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Toscana also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to La Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing