We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and great food”
Review of La Toscana

La Toscana
Ranked #9 of 34 Restaurants in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and great food”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Right in the high street - a little gem. Great food and very friendly staff - nothing was to much trouble for them. A little expensive but worth it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank cctlgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkLaToscana, Owner at La Toscana, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to review my restaurant. I'm thrilled you enjoyed it :) Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    150
    54
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fab pizza's”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

In the small town of Te Anau, La Toscana is the place to go to if you fancy a pizza, there are other venue's but I can strongly recommend this joint! It was busy with only two tables spare when we arrived but the girls had calm, cool heads on and gave great service with a smile at all times and the wait time to get food was pretty quick considering they had to deal with take out orders too! Well done girls, excellent work and excellent pizza's, yum!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank S V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkLaToscana, Owner at La Toscana, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to review my restaurant. I love hearing that the girls out front are doing such a great job, and it's also awesome to hear that the food was prompt! With a very busy home delivery service and takeaways as well, it's important to hear that our restaurant guests are still being looked after right :) Thanks again and we hope to see you on your next visit to Te Anau, Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good value for money”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had a very nice evening at La Toscane. Most importantly, the food is very good. In addition, there is a nice atmosphere and the service is just plain good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bilth0ven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkLaToscana, Owner at La Toscana, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to review my restaurant. We really do pride ourselves on serving authentic home-style Italian comfort food with a friendly smile, and it's so nice to see it being recognised by our guests :) Hope to see you again soon, Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent, unpretentious, and low priced”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Delicious simple pasta meal for two with a garlic bread starter and a a dessert each, all for $45 on the Early Bird option (before 18.30). Price at Feb 2013.
Nice staff, good home cooked style food, and by the time we left, other people were queuing to get in!
Drinks not overpriced either.
Excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkLaToscana, Owner at La Toscana, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to review my restaurant. We think the $45 Meal for 2 is a great deal too :) Love that you use the word 'unpretentious' as I feel that sums us up perfectly! We aren't fine dining, and don't feel that you need to be to offer friendly efficient service and quality tasty food. Hope to see you on your next visit to Te Anau, Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Amazing Food and Excellent Service”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

La Toscana is my all time favourite restaurant in Te Anau. I have been there numerous times and it is always the culinary highlight of my visits to Te Anau. The Pizzas are delicious and the vodka flamed penne pasta dish with pancetta is to die for. I'm not usually a desert person but I would recommend trying to fit one in at the end of your meal because they are also well worth a try. The service is fast and efficient with a smile. You should definitely check it out, it is worth the wait if the restaurant is full.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Connor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkLaToscana, Owner at La Toscana, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to review my restaurant, and what a fantastic review it is! Super stoked when regulars take the time to share their experiences with us to the world, we feel we have a bit of a cult following with both Te Anau locals and Southlanders on their holidays, and it's great to see that it's spreading to Canterbury! Hope to see you again soon, Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Toscana also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to La Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing