We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food and Excellent Service”
Review of La Toscana

La Toscana
Ranked #9 of 34 Restaurants in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Amazing Food and Excellent Service”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

La Toscana is my all time favourite restaurant in Te Anau. I have been there numerous times and it is always the culinary highlight of my visits to Te Anau. The Pizzas are delicious and the vodka flamed penne pasta dish with pancetta is to die for. I'm not usually a desert person but I would recommend trying to fit one in at the end of your meal because they are also well worth a try. The service is fast and efficient with a smile. You should definitely check it out, it is worth the wait if the restaurant is full.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Connor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkLaToscana, Owner at La Toscana, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to review my restaurant, and what a fantastic review it is! Super stoked when regulars take the time to share their experiences with us to the world, we feel we have a bit of a cult following with both Te Anau locals and Southlanders on their holidays, and it's great to see that it's spreading to Canterbury! Hope to see you again soon, Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    152
    55
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Te Anau, New Zealand
1 review
“Delicious!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We got a home delivery from La Toscana with both pizza and pasta. It arrived in a timely manner, freshly cooked and steaming hot. Delicious pizza and pasta - highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pinchy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkLaToscana, Owner at La Toscana, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to review my restaurant. Always great to hear a locals perspective! See you again soon, Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Nonno”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

One word...Nonno. Just get it, don't even question it. There is no place that I have ever had such a luscious and creamy pasta dish that could even come close to La Tosc's Nonno. If they could deliver to Canada I would have them sent regularly.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkLaToscana, Owner at La Toscana, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to review my restaurant. Nonno is a real crowd pleaser, it's very unique and we're stoked that it's ours:) Whenever we have a new person start working for us that's usually all the eat for the first year! Once we get our La Toscana sauces bottled I'll be in touch for distribution in Canada ;) Thanks, Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Pizza in a Touristy Town”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

A nice affordable dinner, wine and pizza. Excellent Service and overall an enjoyable evening.
Can walk along the shops and restaurants

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkLaToscana, Owner at La Toscana, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to review my restaurant. Really happy that you enjoyed your meal with us! We feel we offer a great dining experience for a very affordable price too :) Hope to see you on your next visit to Te Anau, Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Anau, null, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“love it”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great pizza and pasta. Enjoyable, affordable in-dining. Reliable delivery service for which you don't pay any extra.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lois D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkLaToscana, Owner at La Toscana, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to review my restaurant. Always great to get such positive feedback from locals :) It's because of your great support that we are available all year round! Make sure to like us on Facebook, so you can keep up to date with our pizza, pasta, and dessert specials, our pizza auctions and wintertime create-a-pizza competions! Hope to see you soon, Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Toscana also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to La Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing