We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Dinner”
Review of La Toscana

La Toscana
Ranked #9 of 34 Restaurants in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Emerson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
151 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Delicious Dinner”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

As with most nights in New Zealand we'd drive quite a bit and arrive in a new town a little later in the evening hunting for dinner. Still being early in the tourist season not a ton was still open, but one of the places we looked up in our hotel was La Toscana. Pizza/Italian sounded good to us so we took off from our hotel. The restaurant is on the main drag, but a little difficult to drive to, because we had to loop around and come back down a one way. Walking though we think would be pretty easy.

Around 7:30 PM or so we came in and it was pretty empty, but warm and cozy. The waitress was friendly and patient with us as we delved into the menu. It just happened that they were running a special for an appetizer, two dishes and dessert for $45. We took advantage of the deal and decided to upgrade to the cheese bread. We followed this with two excellent pastas. I had a spicy pasta, which actually was pretty mild, but still very tasty. We ended up skipping the dessert because we were just too full. Overall a great time, I'd highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LandisD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    150
    54
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
hobart
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious Pasta”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

As good a pasta as i have had anywhere!!!
The greeting by staff was warm and friendly and the service prompt and appropriate.
This is a deceptive little restaraunt, doesn't look overly much from the footpath and we witnessed a lot of people stop, walk past and return 10 minutes later after they , as we did , looked at the pretentious menus and prices available nearby.
The Pasta was delcious, as good as any I have ever had and better than most, my wife and son shared a top looking pizza, which they assure me was nice, but after they had tasted the pasta wished they had ordered it. Servings were more than adequate, just couldn't do desert even thugh it looked scrumptious on the table next to us and the diners were oohing and ahhing a lot.
Do yourself a favour and have a meal here..

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mike270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent value in Te Anau”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Meals in NZ are so expensive, so this charming Italian restaurant in Te Anau was a nice surprise. The $45 dinner for two includes garlic bread, two huge portions of pizza or pasta, and two desserts. We had one spaghetti dish, one bowtie pasta with mushroom cream sauce, some sticky date pudding, and tiramisu. We were hungry when we showed up, and we couldn't come close to finishing everything. Service is friendly and quick, and even on this cold winter weeknight, when most of the town was empty, La Toscana packed folks in. That's usually a good sign.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peppah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
197 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Nice Italian restaurant, very busy so booking advisable in the evening. Good menu choices, including gluten free pizza bases. BYO wine and beer. Food hot, good service and nice surroundings. Would recommend and return.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazza-500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great pizzas”
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We wanted to go to Fat Duck but it is closed for winter!

So we then come down the street and saw this place filled with people so we may as well give this a try.

They have a hard to beat special - for $45, you get bread, 2 x medium pizza and 2x desserts. And that is enough for the 3 of us - we are not big eaters.

Service is ok.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Newdawn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Toscana also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to La Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing