We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Kepler Restaurant

Kepler Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, Seafood, Contemporary, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Kepler Restaurant specializes in New Zealand Seafood and Contemporary food,Crayfish being one of the highlights.Our new Head Chef Eduardo has brought some of his South American cuisine, influenced to the menu with much success!
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Having had this place recommended we were excited to be going for dinner, however the food was very disappointing. My wife and I both had rib eye, which looked more like a porterhouse cut, they mixed up the sauces to go on the steak with the preparation request (I had medium rare with peppercorn steak and my wife had medium well with mushroom but it came out back to front). I was told by locals that the quality depends on which chef is on duty, but having gone to the redcliff cafe the day before I would much prefer to cross the road than go here again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank travellingfreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    163
    50
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Dined at Keplers tonight and have to say they have the best seafood option available in Te Anau. Our food was absolutely delicious and I highly recommend the restaurant to everyone. The restaurant has been refurbished during the winter and has been done very tastefully. Dont miss having dinner here if you are in Te Anau.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comet, Qld
Level Contributor
261 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We decided this looked like the place for us to eat and walked in to see if they had a table. We were disappointed to find that they were full. They said they'd be able to fit us in in half an hour so we popped off to the pub for a drink before dinner.
We weren't disappointed when we went back It was a truly excellent meal. We had camembert filo parcels with quince paste and bacon wrapped scallops for the entree followed by venison steak with red wine jus and lobster thermador (their last one).
Not cheap, but an excellent meal. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goannas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Green Lip Mussels”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

My wife was unable to believe the size and taste of Green Lipped New Zealand mussels, the meal was excellent.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Magussevrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Level Contributor
261 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A good, solid restaurant”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

A good menu, very well prepared food, professional service, reasonably priced.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank yshargal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kepler Restaurant also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Kepler Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing