We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“found a gem in Te Anau”
Review of Arran Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arran Motel
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“found a gem in Te Anau”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Lovely little motel clean and tidy with everything you need Mary was very acommodating and helpful, below i rated fitness room and there isnt one but i couldnt remove it, although this motel isnt on the lake front it is not far to walk and i can recommend Sandfly cafe for a good breakfast and The Ranch for a great dinner?

Room Tip: Any room here is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezTeAnau, Manager at Arran Motel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thanks for your review and letting other travellers know what Arran Motel and Te Anau have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    67
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
49
85
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in January. Really pleased that we found this motel on the internet. Being able to park right outside the room was a big plus point. The main room is large with a small kitchen area, complete with microwave and all the utensils you would need for a short stay - they even supply washing up liquid! The bedroom was also large and had a very comfortable bed in it. The bathroom was huge and had a large shower cubicle (with a flexible hose, which pleased my wife!).

The motel is also very well positioned, being just off the main road through Te Anau, and within easy walking of both the town centre for shopping and a large selection of eateries, and of the lake which is only 200 metres or so away.

One major downside, which stopped me giving it an excellent rating, was the free wifi. Whilst it is, indeed, free it is not secure and also has an extremely annoying tendency to drop the connection whilst in use which caused all sorts of problems whilst trying to complete emails, accommodation bookings and TA reviews, as well as browse internet sites. This is something the owners are aware of and have promised to try to rectify the problems. It wouldn't stop me staying here again, though. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezTeAnau, Owner at Arran Motel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Your review was pleasing to receive and thank you for taking the time to submit it.
Re the Wi fi we have had it checked and the repeater has been replaced and at this stage we have not had any ongoing problems.Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Nice big unit with separate bedroom, bathroom and living/kitchenette. Nothing too much trouble for Mary .. always available to help. Nice quiet location within easy walking distance of town center. Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezTeAnau, Owner at Arran Motel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Good to know your stay at Arran Motel was an enjoyable one.Pleased I could help with your requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

On arrival in Te Anau we had some difficulty finding two consecutive night's accommodation and after checking quite a few motels we were lucky enough to pull into Arran Motel and found they had accommodation available.

Room was good, had a queen bed and a single bed, kitchen facilities, free wi fi, spacious bathroom and a nice little outdoor area to sit and enjoy a relaxing drink. We were also given a discount on rates for a 2-night stay. It was a short walk to the main street for meals and the lake. Reception were very helpful and organised our Milford Sound tour with pick up/drop off right at the front door.

It is an older motel and not as plush as some of the newer, more expensive abodes but it is very comfortable and very quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morris80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezTeAnau, Owner at Arran Motel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thanks for your review.
Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Arran Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This motel is located in a quiet street and takes approx 5 minutes to stroll into the town centre. Cars can park directly out the front of the motel rooms. Our motel room was clean and comfortable. The shower was awesome. Sitting out the front of the motel room enjoying a drink and some peace and quiet was very relaxing. Offering free milk and wifi is an added bonus. The motel has a guest laundry and for $6 you can wash and dry a load of washing. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kiwibrent1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezTeAnau, Owner at Arran Motel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay at Arran Motel.Thanks for taking the time to write a review and pass on your comments and photo's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed there in Sept 2013 and we enjoyed our brief stay at this motel. The room was clean and comfy plus it offers unlimited wifi internet access. The motel is located quite near to the lake and near to nice restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank accura_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezTeAnau, Owner at Arran Motel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
The location of Arran Motel which is close to the Lake and restaurants,and is sheltered from Lake breezes is a good option .Pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for submitting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in late October 2013. We were traveling with our adult daughter and booked a double with a single. The room was very clean and came with a microwave. We were able to have breakfasts, prepare a picnic lunch and also a light dinner. The hotel is well situated and was very comfortable. We would stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Would recommend to anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MezTeAnau, Owner at Arran Motel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Our units cater for all tastes and I am pleased that we ticked all the boxes for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.0 mi away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#9 of 23 in Te Anau
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arran Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arran Motel

Property: Arran Motel
Address: 64 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#10 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#12 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arran Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arran Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arran Hotel Te Anau
Arran Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing