We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Motel - great stay”
Review of Arran Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arran Motel
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2011

It being winter time, weather was cold but the motel rooms were warm and comfortable. Facilities were good and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fondantfine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 170 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2011

Very spacious, clean and tidy motel. Huge!
Close to shops and town,
Great place.

Room Tip: All rooms look good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onefumf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

Excellent accommodation, clean , tidy, helpful hosts and handy to everything.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

As we were hiking and sight seeing we needed to set up packs and food,the rooms were so large it was easy. Had no car the owner ran into us in the shop and drove our groceries home.We came off one of walks very early in the morning and were able to get straight into our room and have one of the best showers we had in N Z.Highly recommend this place. Doc centre right behind as well.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 504339Lulu1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

We stayed two nights in this place after booking it through Wotif (NZ$140/night) with the understanding that it had internet. Well, they did but was $5 per hour! Or $18 for 4 hours.

The owner was not very friendly or accommodating. The fridge was broken, the door lock wasn't working well, the room had a bad smell, the shower control was broken, the water pressure was too low, the washing machine took my coin.

I would not recommend this place to anyone. In fact, Te Anau was the least pleasant place on the whole of NZ South Island. Not worth a visit if compared to the other most wonderful places.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hdpxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mez57, Owner at Arran Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2010

It is unfortunate that you felt our Motel was below standard. We always endevour to present our units to the highest standards and your comments came as a shock to us.If you had read the information re internet when you booked with Wotif you would see that there was no mention of free internet.
When you were attempting to lock the door I offered to help.The washing machine may have "eaten " your $2.00 but I also replaced it for you.We have never had anyone complain about the water pressure and this is regularly checked when we clean the units.The distance to the town centre is a very slow 10 min walk and is in the text with Wotif and also any other advertising we have.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy Te Anau and what Fiordland has to offer but I can safely say that you are in the minority.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Stayed here for two nights in December for a visit to Milford Sound. Good sized 1 bed unit but furnishings/kitchen/bathroom all a bit basic. Was very good value though and walking distance to the town.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dickendog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights while exploring the local area - the highlight was Milford Sound. We had a one bedroom unit - everything was very clean and the water pressure was brilliant. The owners were very helpful and we really appreciated the laundry. The area is away from the main part of the town but everything was just a short drive away. There is a great playground on the lake foreshore.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BAB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#8 of 22 in Te Anau
512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 22 in Te Anau
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arran Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arran Motel

Address: 64 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#10 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#12 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: $107 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arran Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arran Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arran Hotel Te Anau
Arran Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing