We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Place to Stay in Te Anau” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dock Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dock Bay Lodge
Ranked #5 of 28 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
“Perfect Place to Stay in Te Anau”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2010

Dock Bay Lodge is the perfect place to stay in Te Anau as the base to explore the extraordinary sights of Fiordland. The lodge is very nice in every respect. It is located in a beautiful setting, with spectacular views of Lake Te Anau, mountains, and well-landscaped grounds from every room. Not only is it spacious, clean, and homey, it’s also extremely well built, which is great for quiet nights when you retire to your room. Dawn and Mark are very good, friendly hosts, as was Diane. Dawn was very helpful in providing information and making arrangements for the sightseeing tours and gave great recommendations for dinner reservations. My wife and I stayed there three nights, and on our last day, Dawn suggested that we take a helicopter flight over Doubtful and Dusky Sounds. Within 45 minutes of our decision to take the flight, a helicopter landed in the backyard of the lodge to pick us up. It was very cool. The flight was approximately two hours long and was the highlight of our two week trip in the South Island. There are a number of activities to do while visiting the South Island, but viewing Milford and Doubtful Sounds via boat rides is a must. Weather permitting, viewing Doubtful and Dusky Sounds via a helicopter ride is equally (if not more) impressive. If you’re planning a trip to New Zealand, Dock Bay Lodge is undoubtedly the best place to stay in Te Anau.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NOLA_USA_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
114
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2010

This was the most expensive homestay on our trip and definately worth it. A great stay in a very well maintained new property. The hosts were very welcoming and the breakfast was the best we had through out our trip. Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LILYandSAMHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

We drove into Dock bay lodge and were immediately taken in by the sheer beauty of the place. Dawn was a wonderful hostess and has the most amazing place. The views are spectacular and you can just spend time watching the mountains, which is pretty much what we did!!! Wine, cheese, sundried tomatoes and the lake beneath the mountains is a heady combination and we just about enjoyed all of that. I hate holiday breakfasts without egg and i did get excellent omelettes which is certainly a clincher for me!!!!!!

Well maintained and a nice easy distance from the town centre. A must stay for sure.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harrrypot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA_JAMD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2009

When you first arrive you know something special is going on at Dock Bay Lodge. After an immediate warm welcome you quickly notice the home is very spacious, well furnished and appointed, and has a remarkable balance of privacy and home-like feeling. It is hard to walk around the house and not gaze at the white-faced mountain backdrop to the north of Lake Te Anau Lake which was in a constant state of change. The rooms and bedding are of high quality, as were the bathroom fixtures and amenities. The breakfast were delicious and very well prepared. Throughout our visit of the South Island we met delightful, outgoing, and hospitable people everywhere we went. But this place was different. Dawn, Diane, and Mark took it to the next level. They made our stay especially relaxing and enjoyable, such that everyone in the family compared all others to Dock Bay Lodge. When you book your stay make sure Dawn knows what you would like do. She knows the right places and right people; it was like her relations in the region were waiting for her to call. And as other guests have commented, let Dawn make your arrangements for the heli-tour with Southern Lakes Helicopters. We had such a fantastic time we are going to return...next time longer because something special is happening in the Te Anau region and Dock Bay Lodge.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USA_JAMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2009

It doesn't really get much better than this! Dawn was a fabulous hostess who knows just the amount of attention to give to her guests. She has unique and creative ideas for things to do in the area - be sure to let her talk you into the helicopter ride, a true highlight of our trip!! The lodge is gorgeous - we stayed in the Luxmore Suite, which was spacious, clean, and had an excellent bathroom and the best views in the house (though all rooms are beautiful). Overall, if you are staying in Te Anau (which you should), this is THE place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuffaloGirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2009

We stayed here in January of 2009. So this review is definitely a few months overdue.
The lodge is located in a peaceful setting, about a 5 min drive from the center of Te Anau. We stayed in a room on the first floor, with a deck overlooking Lake Te Anau and the mountains. We would open a bottle of wine and enjoy the serenity of this place. We also took some walks around the area. There are lot of farms/houses with sheep roaming around. Overall a very relaxing stay.
The hostess could not have been nicer. She has a collection of DVDs that you can borough to watch in your room.
We stayed here as a base for the Milford Sound, for a total of 2 nights.

Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ekartash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2009

We spent four nights at Dock Bay Lodge, using it as a base for exploring Milford Sound and the Te Anau area. The Lodge is located on a quiet country road about five minutes drive from town. The Kepler Track is just down the road and the Lodge sits right on the golf course. The Lodge is lovely with spacious, comfortable rooms and a cozy lounge with a huge fireplace. We stayed in the Luxmore Suite, which has fabulous views of Lake Te Anau, Mt. Luxmore and the golf course. The suite has wonderful luxury touches such as premium bedding, large thick towels and robes, multi-head shower, free Internet and more. The breakfast was very generous and Dawn will cook to order delicous hot items to accompany the fresh fruit, cereals, and breads. We enjoyed having complimentary wine or beer in front of the lounge fire most evenings before dinner. You couldn't ask for better hosts in Dawn and Marc. They are super friendly and down to earth. They have lived in Te Anua for many years and know every thing there is to know about the area. Dawn will assist you with any excursions and reservations you need either before you arrive or while you're there. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Dock Bay Lodge. There is nothing we didn't like about this fabulous lodge. We hope to return again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atdrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
2.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
2.0 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
2.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
3.2 mi away
Te Anau Lodge
Te Anau Lodge
#3 of 28 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dunluce Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dock Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dock Bay Lodge

Property: Dock Bay Lodge
Address: 192 William Stephen Road, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9679, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dock Bay Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dock Bay Lodge was purpose built for the discerning traveller. There are five superking guest rooms with ensuites, two rooms have seperate lounges, all the rooms have a television and DVD player, refrigerator and tea and coffee making facilities. We are situated on the edge of the Te Anau Golf Course, the Fiordland National Park and have spectacular views of Lake Te Anau and the mountains towards Milford Sound. A full breakfast is offered plus drinks and nibbles in the afternoon. Complimentary golf clubs and mountain bikes are available. We enjoy helping you plan your time while you are in Fiordland and can made dinner reservations for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dock Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dock Bay Lodge Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing