We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Lodge in a Beautiful Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dock Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dock Bay Lodge
Ranked #5 of 29 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely Lodge in a Beautiful Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2009

We spent four nights at Dock Bay Lodge, using it as a base for exploring Milford Sound and the Te Anau area. The Lodge is located on a quiet country road about five minutes drive from town. The Kepler Track is just down the road and the Lodge sits right on the golf course. The Lodge is lovely with spacious, comfortable rooms and a cozy lounge with a huge fireplace. We stayed in the Luxmore Suite, which has fabulous views of Lake Te Anau, Mt. Luxmore and the golf course. The suite has wonderful luxury touches such as premium bedding, large thick towels and robes, multi-head shower, free Internet and more. The breakfast was very generous and Dawn will cook to order delicous hot items to accompany the fresh fruit, cereals, and breads. We enjoyed having complimentary wine or beer in front of the lounge fire most evenings before dinner. You couldn't ask for better hosts in Dawn and Marc. They are super friendly and down to earth. They have lived in Te Anua for many years and know every thing there is to know about the area. Dawn will assist you with any excursions and reservations you need either before you arrive or while you're there. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Dock Bay Lodge. There is nothing we didn't like about this fabulous lodge. We hope to return again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atdrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
118
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2009

Outstanding accomodation which compares easliy with a 5 Star European Hotel. Large well decorated modern rooms and bathrooms facilities. Very friendly reception and tasty breakfast. Transport to and from Te Anau offerd, Helipad in front of the house. Better than most hotels, I highly recommend it. .

  • Liked — Good location, quiet, modern, beautiful surroundings, friendly reception
  • Disliked — 5 mils away from the Center of Te Anau, you depend on Dock Bay transportation which is ok
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Markus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2009

I have stayed here twice on fly fishing trips. A new and modern accommodation with terrific furnishings, including heated bathroom floors, flat screen TVs and DVD players in each room, mini-bar and snacks, and very comfortable bedding. Beautiful and convenient setting close to the town of Te Anau.

Breakfast is prepared fresh and according to your order each morning.

Highly recommended as a much more comforable, spacious and, most importantly, friendlier accommodation compared to the Fiordland Lodge.

Mark and Dawn are wonderful hosts and welcome you to their home, but will allow you privacy should you require it. An excellent alternative for fly fishermen given the excellent fishing in the area.

  • Liked — New, luxury facility with wonderful hosts
  • Disliked — No restaurant for dinner
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank My3sonsCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2009

Beautiful location, extremely quiet,comfortable and private rooms,exceptionally friendly hosts,superb breakfast - all the amenities one could wish for and more. We stayed in a more expensive lodge in the area last year and were extremely disappointed - Dawn and Mark restored our faith !

  • Liked — Privacy and friendliness of hosts
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LondonTraveller2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2008

This is a fabulos lodge with an outstanding view. There are several wonderful hikes adjacent ot the property. The owners Dawn and Mark will help in any way they can to insure that you have a comfortable stay. Denise makes the best breakfast in New Zealand. The rooms are beautiful and private.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KLHUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2008

The Dock Bay Lodge is an amazing hideaway! We stayed there at the end of our honeymoon and were impressed by the stunning property and great hospitality. On arrival we were disappointed to learn we had been bumped from the Honeymoon Suite to the Milford Suite, but we ended up being very happy with the Milford Suite, which is large, comfortable and welcoming. (Dawn insists that the Milford Suite is actually the better of the two, although the Honeymoon Suite may have a more spacious bathroom.) All of the food was amazing, and Dawn went out of her way to make sure we found time to golf on the adjacent golf course.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsgraph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2008

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon, and we just loved it here. It was actually the best hotel/B&B we stayed at during our whole two-week trip to NZ. The beautifully-decorated rooms were very clean, which is very important to me. Comfy bed and good quality sheets, which is also something we notice. The view from our room was just stunning!

When we arrived -- completely exhausted from our travels and in dire need of some pampering -- Dawn brought us a tray of goodies including crackers, cheeses, and pate -- all of which were fantastic! We just sat on the balcony, looking at the beautiful view of the lake/fiordlands/golf course, drinking wine and eating. It was exactly the kind of relaxation we had been longing for on our oh-so-busy vacation.

To top it off, Dawn was extremely kind in letting us "overstay our welcome" when we encountered some problems with our flights. We were on the phone for well over an hour trying to straighten out some problems, and Dawn and her helper were incredibly accomodating in letting us check out well after check-out time.

We can't wait to go back, and really recommend this place to anyone who likes luxury B&B's.

  • Liked — The hospitality of the hosts, the cleanliness of the room, and the food and wine!
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArgieLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
2.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
2.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
2.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
3.4 mi away
Dunluce Bed and Breakfast
3.2 mi away
Te Anau Lodge
Te Anau Lodge
#3 of 29 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dock Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dock Bay Lodge

Property: Dock Bay Lodge
Address: 192 William Stephen Road, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9679, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dock Bay Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dock Bay Lodge was purpose built for the discerning traveller. There are five superking guest rooms with ensuites, two rooms have seperate lounges, all the rooms have a television and DVD player, refrigerator and tea and coffee making facilities. We are situated on the edge of the Te Anau Golf Course, the Fiordland National Park and have spectacular views of Lake Te Anau and the mountains towards Milford Sound. A full breakfast is offered plus drinks and nibbles in the afternoon. Complimentary golf clubs and mountain bikes are available. We enjoy helping you plan your time while you are in Fiordland and can made dinner reservations for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dock Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dock Bay Lodge Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing