We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous location and views, Wonderful hosts, Remarkable property”
Review of Dock Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dock Bay Lodge
Ranked #5 of 29 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Fabulous location and views, Wonderful hosts, Remarkable property”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife, her 15 y.o. son, his BFF and I stayed at Dock Bay in August 2013. Adding another excellent review for the Dock Bay Lodge is kind of like carrying coals to Newcastle. But here we go. If you are going to be going to Te Anau accommodations simply do not get any better than this!! (And if you are going to NZ you should be going to Te Anau, the best jumping off spot for visiting Fiordlands and Milford Sound). We think that the NZ Tourist Board should create a new category of properties just for magnificent places like Dock Bay. The views of the lake back dropped by the snow capped mountains will stop you in your tracks the first and last time you see it (and all the times in between). Dawn and Mark are gracious and charming hosts who welcome you into their home as if you were personal friends. The Lodge is spotless and has picture windows everywhere so that the magnificent views are with you not only in your own personal space but in the common areas as well. Such piece, such tranquility, such ambience. Dawn creates cooked to order breakfasts to start your day of exploring the spectacular Te Anau area. Oh yes, there is also Colin, their playful Jack Russell Terrier and the real ruler of the Lodge. Join him in the back yard for a bit of fun while you listen to the symphony of the local birds at sunrise. Any regrets - only that our visit was for a single night. Next time it will be longer. Thank you Dawn and Mark for sharing your very special home with us.

Room Tip: Ask for the center room over the living room. Very spacious with head on views across the landscape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noclvrname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn D, Owner at Dock Bay Lodge, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for your review and I loved your description that Te Anau is the best jumping off spot for visiting Fiordland and Milford Sound. Too many people get trapped in to staying in Queenstown and visiting the Fiords from there and being disappointed because it was such a long day out which of course is such a shame as Te Anau has so much to offer. We certainly enjoyed having you to stay and of course Colin loved having the boys to torment with his rugby ball.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
118
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Short Hills, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at Dock Bay Lodge while touring the fjords of the South Island. The house was lovely. Dawn and Mark designed Dock Bay as a bed and breakfast and have thought through how to make the lodge homey and comfortable but yet provide privacy for their guests. The first floor has a great lounge with a TV and a beautiful fireplace. They've stocked up on DVD's which can be played on your in-room TV but we enjoyed just sitting in front of the fireplace working a crossword puzzle. The dining room overlooks the beautifully landscaped back yard which abuts a golf course. Dawn told us she originally thought the Lodge would be used by golfers on vacation or coming for tournaments but most of her guests come, as we did, to visit Milford and/or Doubtful sound. The dining room adjoins the kitchen where Dawn cooked up a a more than ample spread each morning. On the other side of the kitchen is the family living area.

Our room far exceeded our expectations. The bed was comfortable and overlooked the yard and golf course. The heated floors and towel rack in the bath room were a very nice treat. The room came equipped with an electric tea pot, fresh biscuits each afternoon, a bottle of New Zealand wine and a few other snacks. On the late afternoon after we returned from Milford Sound, a cup of tea and a brownie just hit the spot. The entire house was spotless and tastefully decorated.

Although the accommodations were wonderful, the best part of Dock Bay Lodge, as other reviewers have noted, are Dawn, Mark and Colin (the energetic Jack Russel.) We enjoyed getting to know them all and were very appreciative of Dawn's extensive knowledge of the area. We took all of her suggestions for food and activities and didn't regret it. The morning we went to Milford sound, she sent us off with an umbrella and insect repellent (for the pesky sand flies.) She offered to make us a lunch but we had already ordered one from the tour company. We are from the US and we enjoyed hearing her "New Zealand" perspective on politics, rugby, local restaurants, etc.. Mark and Dawn have travelled extensively themselves and were fun and interesting people to spend time with. If you are going to this area, stay at Dock Bay Lodge!!!! And ask Dawn's advice about what to visit and do!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyK43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn D, Owner at Dock Bay Lodge, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
I apologise for my delay in replying to your review but thank you so much for everything you have said. I really should have got you to help me with my marketing as you have done a brilliant job of describing the Lodge and your stay with us and of course Colin is still eagerly waiting to greet every new guest who arrives. Hopefully we will get to meet again, Take Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

What a wonderful stay. A beautiful property, well decorated and just plain great. With a nice view of the lake too. Thank you to Dawn who makes such a wonderful hostess and as well to her husband, Mark. We did succeed in getting the rugby ball away from Colin (their dog). Thank you to Marilyn for cooking such great breakfasts.

The property is beautifully designed and specially built as the lodge. This creates well designed guest spaces that are separated from the rest of the house. We stayed in the Luxmore suite and loved the balcony facing the lake. Everything was luxuriously comfortable without being fussy. Dawn suggested great restaurants in town which is just a short drive away.

There are other accommodation choices in Te Anau but none of them are going to come anywhere close to Dock Bay Lodge. We thoroughly enjoyed our memorable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueskiesCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

What more can I say ...apart from ..everything eveyone else said and more. Dawn and Mark and Colin are the lovliest people ( and dog) that I have met. Friendly and pofessional and just LOVELY. Their house is enviable, and I couldnt imagine opening it up to 'others', but they have, and made it feel like its your home. The room, extras, bathrooms amenities FIRST CLASS, Mini bar, wine, and fluffy dressing gown that fitted so well..with room to spare.!
Bed turned down after an excellent reccomendation for dinner, and fire lit in the lounge room. A comprehensive library of DVDs and music..breakfast cooked to your desires and the best rhubard i have ever tasted.
Dawn can I live with you.? Hope all the 'ops' gone successfully.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2013

In the early part of April 2013 –We toured extensively around the south Isle of New Zealand. By the time we arrived at Dock Bay Lodge, we had enjoyed several fine B&B’s and other comfortable accommodation. We arrived at Dock Bay on a wet afternoon and we were met with a warm friendly greeting at the front door by Dawn & Colin (The famous Jack Russel) First impression - what a pleasant surprise! From that moment on we were so at ease and spoilt by the hospitality of Dawn, husband Mark and Colin. Our accommodation was superb, the view magnificent and the breakfast the best we had on our tour. Dawn and Mark are very professional, their home is magnificent. Their local dinning recommendations were spot on and their experience with local sites (especially Milford Sound cruises) and points of interest made our two day stay memorable. We have recommended Dock Bay Lodge to all our friends.
Gene and Sandra - Australia

Room Tip: We recommend the Luxmore Suite. Very spacious comfortable and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPO888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Dock Bay Lodge was truly amazing. Being part of a wedding party that stayed here, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left we felt so welcome. The whole place is breath taking and you can find yourself a spot anywhere to sit down, relax and enjoy stunning views. The service provided from daily cooked breakfasts, fresh baking, servicing of the rooms was exceptional!! Dawn was always willing to go the extra mile to help with what ever we needed. Thank you so much for all you did for us when we stayed and hopefully we see you again soon!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Where to start?! We held our wedding at Dock Bay Lodge in February this year and could not have picked a more perfect venue! Our host Dawn really was such a trooper! She went above and beyond to make our wedding week run as smoothly and as stress free as she could. She went out of her way to make our bridal party (who were staying at the lodge with us) and wedding guests feel welcome and at home. The rooms are beautiful, clean, spacious and quiet. The breakfasts were scumptious and such a treat to wake up to. The stunning lodge overlooks the beautiful Lake Te Anau and is encompassed by a beautifully cared for garden. Our guests commented on what a perfect wedding location we had chosen and we could tell how much they enjoyed the luxurious surroundings. Dawn, Mark & Colin, we are still racking our brains wondering how on earth we can truely thank you for everything you did for us! Just know we are so grateful for everything and we absolutely cannot wait to come back to the lodge someday!

Room Tip: Having stayed in the Luxmore Suite, this was our obvious favourite, but having spent time in all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn D, Owner at Dock Bay Lodge, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
It was an absolute pleasure to host you and your wedding party. You had done such an amazing job of organizing everything which is why your wedding day was so perfect. We wish you both all the best for your future together, we know you will be very happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
2.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
2.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
2.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
3.4 mi away
Dunluce Bed and Breakfast
3.2 mi away
Te Anau Lodge
Te Anau Lodge
#3 of 29 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dock Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dock Bay Lodge

Property: Dock Bay Lodge
Address: 192 William Stephen Road, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9679, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dock Bay Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dock Bay Lodge was purpose built for the discerning traveller. There are five superking guest rooms with ensuites, two rooms have seperate lounges, all the rooms have a television and DVD player, refrigerator and tea and coffee making facilities. We are situated on the edge of the Te Anau Golf Course, the Fiordland National Park and have spectacular views of Lake Te Anau and the mountains towards Milford Sound. A full breakfast is offered plus drinks and nibbles in the afternoon. Complimentary golf clubs and mountain bikes are available. We enjoy helping you plan your time while you are in Fiordland and can made dinner reservations for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dock Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dock Bay Lodge Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing