We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant... great accomodation and breakfast.”
Review of Shakespeare House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shakespeare House
Ranked #4 of 29 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Brilliant... great accomodation and breakfast.”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

This place is a real gem, not far from the town centre, the owners are so friendly and offer great advice for anyone travelling up to the Fiordland. Whats more the breakfast was great and the room was clean and comfy. Whats more there was free Wifi too.
You cannot go wrong with this place!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    58
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
143
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

A good welcome from Margaret, comfortable spacious rooms. Excellent kiwi breakfast, cooked by Ray, served early to facilitate our trip to Milford Sound. Second days breakfast cooked by Margaret. Both Ray and Margaret were very helpful, suggesting places to eat and tracing a misplaced fleece. Excellent laundry facilities available. Thank you both for a great stay.

Room Tip: Go there a good place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bomdia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scheemda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
177 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

After three weeks this was our ninth place to sleep:
Best room, best bed, best breakfast, greatest hospitality, best price, best location (600 meter from centre), delicious homemade muffins. What more can i say?
Ray runs the family owned B and B , he is very helpfull and makes a really good breakfast, during his cooking Ray is good company. This was the first time we could get filtered coffee. What a good start off the day!! I am absolutely sure this accommodation is the best place to stay in Te Annau.
Thank you Ray for our nice stay.

Room Tip: we had two different rooms both were very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaapScheemda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed here three years running & each time was excellent. A family run business which is spotlessly clean & comfortable & nothing too much trouble. The breakfasts were the best we've ever had outside our own home. A fabulous selection of cereals, fruit, spreads, etc to help ourselves to plus a great cooked breakfast with a lovely touch of edible flowers. Best of all though was Ray the host who takes time out to chat to his guests and really take an interest. A genuinely nice guy. We look forward to staying with him again!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff-Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narromine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay...room was very clean and comfortable....and Ray could not have been more hospitable. The breakfast was great....and we would definately stay again if ever over that way.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Ray, our host, puts a lot of effort into running this B & B. He booked us a trip to Milford Sound with a local company that proved to be excellent. Our early start for this trip meant the more than adequate breakfast Ray cooked was much appreciated. Our room was clean if a little on the small side & quite dark & a newer television would be a definite improvement. A communal fridge was plenty large enough for all guests.Dusky Street is a quiet road but near the centre of Te Anau.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Two nights spent here in February. The room was very comfortable and clean, and the breakfast was great - no need for lunch! Ray was very friendly and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimBarrett3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
492 reviews
1.2 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.7 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.4 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.7 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shakespeare House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare House

Property: Shakespeare House
Address: 10 Dusky St | Fiordland, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9680, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shakespeare House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shakespeare House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shakespeare House Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing