We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idyllic location and gorgeous cottages” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Croft

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Croft
Ranked #6 of 28 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Idyllic location and gorgeous cottages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2008

The Croft was our favourite accommodation throughout 25 days in New Zealand. We booked the green and blue cottages (two couples), both enjoying the most beautiful views across a sheep dotted green field to the lake and snow capped mountains. Surrounding the cottages and along the driveway were autumn coloured trees. The cottages were beautifully designed, cosy, comfortable and private. Our hosts, Jane and Ross, were warm and welcoming and provided a lovely breakfast in their home which is situated between the cottages. Jane was very friendly and helpful and the pets, a dog and two cats were also friendly but well mannered. The property is just a short drive from Te Anau on the road to Milford Sound. The tour company collected us from the gate for our trips to Milford and Doubtful Sounds. The Croft was just perfect and two nights there was not enough.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank porge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
175
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2008

This felt like home right from when we first arrived, the welcoming from our hostess Jane was wonderful. The location is just outside Te Anau on the Milford Road, views from the cottage and the garden / farm over the lake are magnificent, they change daily sometimes hourly as the clouds roll in or out. The property consist of a large room which has a double and single bed ( very comfortable), a kitchen area, microwave and G.Foreman grill, and 2 ring cooker, a small dining table for 2 and a lounge area with TV,DVD etc. There is also a window seat with views over the lake and towards the mountain., the porch is covered and has 2 seats also with views. The bathroom has a wet area for the shower ( electric) which is adequate. WiFi connection is available. Breakfast is provided either in the cabin or with the hosts, it is very generous in content and proportion. A wonderful place to stay.

  • Liked — Friendliness
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank newforester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2008

We stayed three nights in the blue cottage. The room exceeded our expectation. It was roomy, comfortable, spotlessly clean and quiet. The craftsmanship and care in the construction were readily apparent. We had our own small deck where we could watch the sun set across fields, the distant lake and far mountains. A perfect place to sip New Zealand wine. Jane was exceptionally friendly and helpful. We followed her advice for dinners and local sightseeing. She even arranged for our tour to Milford Sound with a small, local tour company. Breakfasts were simple, filling and tasty and where we first learned about the healthiness of manuka honey.

  • Liked — room and the view
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sd_wlkrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
279 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2008

I first heard of this B&B on a travel website I frequent and subquently here on Trip Advisor.

I did quite a bit of research on places to stay in Te Anau before making a decision. We generally choose self-contained accomodation, but the reviews for the Croft were all so darn good, that we decided to give it a go.

And what a fantastic choice that turned out to be!

The Croft can be found just off the road to Milford Sound, a short distance from Te Anau. It consists of two completely private cottages adjacent to the home of Jane and Ross. We were in the lovingly cared for Green Cottage, which we found spotless, comfortable and perfectly equipped. It’s in a beautiful location, with views of Lake Te Anau and Jane’s garden.

Mac, the resident dog, greeted us and soon became our porch mate. It wasn’t long before we also befriended Kitty, a big grey cat with humongous paws, and his diminutive counterpart, Geri.

We were hesitant about staying at a bed and breakfast, but after spending four nights at the Croft, we were completely sold. Jane was incredibly helpful and friendly and seemed to genuinely enjoy having visitors in her home. She’s a wonderful lady who immediately put us at ease. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Croft and highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Fantastic owners
  • Disliked — Can't think of a thing I didn't like
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melnq8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at The Croft's Green Cottage. A great place - just outside of Te Anu, set back off the road to Milford, a short walk to the shore of Lake Te Anu. Quiet, comfortable and very relaxing after a long day of driving. One of our best stays in New Zealand and we wished we had booked more time.

  • Liked — The setting, cottage and relaxed atmosphere.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trodemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2008

We spent 2 days in the blue cottage in Te Anau.
The cottages are really nice, well decorated, clean, well furnished and really cute and charming.
The hosts are so welcoming, breakfast is delicious and we spent all breakfast talking with them. We had the felling of not only being a customer but really a friend.
The cottages are a little bit outside Te Anau, but only 5 min by car.

  • Liked — All
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2008

What a wonderful place to stay! We stayed for 2 nights and could have stayed longer. Jane made us so welcome and was lovely to talk to. The Blue Cottage, which is separate from the main house, has a wonderful view over Lake Te Anau and the sheep in the fields were so picturesque. The cottage is well appointed and is a good base from which to go to Milford Sound. (A two hour drive away with stops, which is as close as it gets from a town) Te Anau is a short drive away and there are lots of restaurants there. We had a good meal which
was reasonably priced at The Ranch at the top end of town.

  • Liked — The view and friendliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Wrinkly one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.9 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
1.8 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
1.8 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
1.7 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
1.2 mi away
Te Anau Lodge
Te Anau Lodge
#3 of 28 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croft

Property: The Croft
Address: Te Anau Milford Sound Highway | Rapid 153, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Croft Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing