We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of New Zealand”
Review of Birchwood Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Birchwood Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in September. Lovely fireplace, very cosy to sit around on a cold evening. Place had washing machine which was great. Very friendly staff and great location close to town. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhyacaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiordlandtours, Owner at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

We are pleased that you enjoyed staying with us. Once again our enclosed log fires seem to be a big hit with people. We note it was just a taste and you would like to stay here again. There are so many things to do here you should turn a taste in to a week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for Birchwood Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 183 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here with our two young children, it was just perfect. The fire had been lit prior to our arrival so the cottage was warm and cosy when we got there - a lovely touch. Our toddler enjoyed the garden play equipment - parental supervision was required at all times due to the properties being on a main road without a gate. It had everything we needed, and I loved the living area being separate from the kitchen and dining - a real little home away from home! Pros were the facilities, the cosy feel of it, the log fire (a fire guard was provided so the little ones didn't burn their hands), and the friendly hosts. Only two negatives were the soft mattress and the low pressure shower. I'd definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieMomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiordlandtours, Owner at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for the review and we are pleased that you enjoyed the warmth of the fire and the hosts/reception. Most people comment on the comfortable beds. The mattress on one bed is a bit softer than the other but it is 'hard' to get it right for everybody. The shower comment is a new one for us. The shower is connected to the main town supply and has good pressure.
So far as the playground being close to the road, our playground is 60 meters away from the main road and the 3 bedroom place is 80 meters away from the main road down a private driveway making it especially safe for small children.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Warm, pleasant accommodation, with very friendly helpful hosts. Our arrival was delayed a day due to our flight being cancelled, and Leonie and Ray were very helpful. When we finally arrived the fire was going. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiordlandtours, Owner at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for review of our three bedroom place. We actually had the fire going for two days because of your delay on arriving. Because of your bad luck with a flight cancellation, we did not charge you the first night

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Cannot fault these cottages. A home away from home. Best shower I had in all of NZ! Great bed as well. I felt so warm and comfy. I cannot fault cottage 1. Great heating, great amenities and loved having the bbq on the porch. Thank you and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WonderWoman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiordlandtours, Owner at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for your brief and wonderful review. You have certainly covered the most important parts of our accommodation in a very positive manner. We always look forward to the return of appreciative people such as yourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were travelling in a group of six and spent the night in Te Anau before we went to Milford Sound the next day. The price for the night was very reasonable and affordable, not forgetting to mention even though we only stayed for a night they do discount if you're staying for 2 nights. Not too long after I booked the cottage from booking.com i got an email from Ray and Leonie confirming the booking which was very nice. On arrival we were welcomed by Leonie and Ray, the place was very tidy, clean and more than enough space for 6 person to stay. The kitchen and bathroom was well equipped. Loved the swing chair and mushrooms outside the cottage. And also the fireplace. Loved the stars at night too! So many of them in complete darkness. They also let us leave our luggage at the cottage after we checked out so that we can pick it up after our Milford Sound trip which was very nice of them (the car would have been too heavy otherwise). Overall a very enjoyable stay and I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charon234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiordlandtours, Owner at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments about our accommodation and services provided. We appreciate the time you put aside to enter a review, even though you only stayed for one night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Not the most modern accomodation we had in south nz. However everything was made up by a cosy fireplace and very warm host Leonie & Ray. The place is very clean. Leonie made sure we had everything we need, even a metal barrier to the fireplace as we had a active boy in the house. We did the Milford sound tour with Ray and it's highly recommended. Got a discount on both the accomodation & tour. The Milford trip is in a small tour group, 11 of us. We stop at a few places before reaching milford cruise base. Sadly, it was raining so we did not spend much time stepping out from the bus. My boy received a possum soft toy gift and i received a lanolin hand cream from Ray. How sweet is that! Leonie was thoughtful to lit up the fireplace so we could come home to a warm place after the Milford Sound. Thank you Ray & Leonie.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiordlandtours, Owner at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are pleased that you have appreciated the attention to detail as offered for both the accommodation and the Milford Sound tour. We are pleased that the "not so modern" entry was well and truely made up for by our hospitality, service and cleanliness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Neat tidy & a lite fire in our room each nlght was such a bonus. Ray & Leone the hosts are a great source of information for travel and life experiences. Ray does a great tour to Milford Sounds, that goes to some places that others don't. Well done could highly recommend. Alan Cairns Australia

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan h H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiordlandtours, Owner at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Thank you for your review and the time you put aside to write it.
We do make sure that the log fire is going for guests arrival and we are pleased that you did appreciate it.
Our small group tour to Milford Sound is very popular and we are pleased that you enjoyed the extras that we have during the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.0 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Te Anau
383 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
616 reviews
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Cottages

Address: 208 Milford Road, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range: $108 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Birchwood Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Birchwood Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Cottages Hotel Te Anau
Birchwood Cottages Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing