We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hospitality”
Review of Birchwood Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Birchwood Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic hospitality”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We (myself, wife and 9 month old baby) have just had a hugely enjoyable 3 day stay at Birchwood cottages. Ray and Leonie could not have been more accommodating or welcoming, nothing was too much trouble, and they made our baby feel particularly at home. We stayed in cottage no.1 and it was just perfect. Also took the Fiordland trip with Ray, definitely worth doing. Overall our stay was just prefect. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiordlandtours, Owner at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our 4 star plus cottage.
It is great when the the extra effort that we pride ourselves in, is so apreciated.
We hope you enjoyed the time you had here in Te Anau and the rest of NZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    38
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
77
65
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Most of the cottages have only 1 bath which is definitely not adequate for a family of 5 adults so we requested for Cedar Cottage instead. This is not just a cottage but a VERY spacious 3 bedroom 2 bathroom HOUSE with full kitchen (including oven and dishwasher), small yard, and real log fireplace. No BBQ facilities though.

While the decor was dated (complete with CRT tv!), we didn't mind at all as the price was very reasonable and the place was clean and comfortable. The master bedroom (queen) had an ensuite bathroom with shower and screen (& fan heater), while the other 2 bedrooms (1 queen and 2 twins) shared a more spacious bathroom with bath and shower curtain (no heater). Towels and shower gel were provided.

Cedar Cottage is located a short 2min drive away from the main property in a residential area so it is very quiet and peaceful. The only downside is that there is no wifi at Cedar Cottage and you have to drive to the main property to use the free wifi there. How inconvenient this is depends on how well you function without internet.........

3min drive to the town centre - I would recommend Fat Duck (excellent bistro food, well-executed crowd pleasers) and Redcliffe (a surprisingly sophisticated seasonal menu, lovely cosy ambience) if you are looking for something to eat. For cooking supplies the main supermarket Fresh Choice (free parking).

We also took the Milford Sound tour with Ray which was excellent. He offers a discounted price when you stay at Birchwood, so overall you only pay about NZD50-60/pax for the minibus transport which is completely reasonable given the very enjoyable narrative by Ray and the high gas prices in NZ.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeyondBanalityBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiordlandtours, Owner at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
We thank the guests for their appreciation of our quiet three bedroom place.
We are happy to advise that we do now have free WIFI and a BBQ at this accommodation.
The Cedar guests never got to see the other 3 bedroom places of which have a shower over bath and a separate toilet room. We are pleased that you enjoyed one of the 18 quality restaurants in Te Anau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
285 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We spent three nights in Cottage #2, which was excellent in every way. I knew I’d like this place the minute I saw the four bath towels in the bathroom – so nice to have an extra towel to dry my hair! Almost every place we stayed during our three weeks on the South Island treated towels as if they were gold, only offering one per guest for a three night stay. We both thoroughly enjoyed the roomy shower enclosure and fantastic water pressure, and I rather liked the good quality bath products.

As someone who dislikes overhead lighting, I also very much appreciated the lamps by the bedside, a lamp over the drawers/vanity in the bedroom, a lamp beside the sofa, and a night light in the bathroom.

Our cottage was cozy and warm, comfortable and well equipped. We had little time to watch the many TV channels on offer, but we did use the WIFI, although we found it aggravating as more often than not it wouldn't connect, but in the scheme of things, it really wasn’t a big deal (and it was free!).

We initially had concerns about the proximity of the cottage to the main road, but Te Anau is so sleepy that it just wasn’t an issue for us, especially as it was winter. Local and tour bus traffic does start up pretty early though, about 6:30 am, so this could potentially be an issue for light sleepers who’d like to sleep in.

Leonie warmly welcomed us and made us feel immediately at home. She and Ray obviously take a great deal of pride in their property and it shows. I’d stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melnq8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiordlandtours, Owner at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
We appreciate your comments and are pleased that you had a comfortable stay.
With a population of 1900 we have never had to worry about traffic noise.
There is some traffic at about 10:00 am when the Milford buses from Queenstown go through, but with 2 walls between you and the road you would not have been able to hear this traffic.
We did respond to the guests problem with the free wifi and no one has had a problem with connection in "Cottage 2" since.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

What a gem in winter Te Anau! The cottage was large, with a comfortable bed, well-appointed bath & kitchen, and even a DVD player. Thanks, Leonie, for the delicious carrot cake you prepared for our morning tea while on our Milford Sound tour - Jim's favorite!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drtheva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiordlandtours, Owner at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank youfor the nice comments about our comfortable and cosy cottage.
It makes such a difference when our efforts for our guests are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed in the 3 BHk cottage and my friends stayed in the 1 BHk. There was free wi - fi near the reception area. Unfortunately our 3 BHk had a single bath , hence had a little inconvenience. The decor of the 1 BHk was much better than the 3 BHk which was a little dated. The kitchen was well equipped and the town center was hardly 10 min walk.
There was plenty of space for the kids to play and had some play equipment. The owner arranged our private bus tour to the Milford Sound for me and my friends at very reasonable rate.the kids loved the place.

Room Tip: Get the 1 BHk and you can book directly with the owners since they have put up only two cottages on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandeep70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiordlandtours, Owner at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
We are pleased the guests enjoyed the small group tour to Milford Sound.
The one bedroom places are just a 'click' away from 5 star and the difference is very clearly stated on our web-site. It would be unusual to have a cottage with 2 baths, as clearly advertised the 3 bedroom places have a bathroom with a shower over bath and the toilet is a seperate room.
Thank you for the comments about the inconvenient wifi. In response to this we now have free high speed wifi in all our three bedroom places.
In response to the marked difference between the one bedroom and the three bedroom we thank the guests for there input and will make sure that people all stay in the same 'style' of accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Excellent facilities and convenient location for Milford Sound visit. Very quiet at night.
________________

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sptravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Awesome stay in Te Anau in the forest !
Really clean and cosy cottage with well equipped kitchen and quite unusual in NZ tourism accommodation : A good, simple, easy to use and free WIFI !

Really nice service as well !

Would definitely stay there again !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiRomain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.0 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.7 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
367 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park
0.7 mi away
Lakeside Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Cottages

Property: Birchwood Cottages
Address: 208 Milford Road, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Birchwood Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Birchwood Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Cottages Hotel Te Anau
Birchwood Cottages Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing