We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Home Base!”
Review of Birchwood Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Birchwood Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Home Base!”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We spent 5 nights in one of the cottages and used it as a base for exploring Te Anau and the fiordlands. It was great! You can't beat ending a day of exploring with a home cooked meal of grilled chops and veggies on your porch. Leonie actually came and tidied up every day and provided fresh towels. Our hosts were very helpful. The cottages are a short walk to town so the location is perfect. In all, it was one of our favorite places we stayed in NZ. It felt like home rather than a hotel with lost of people passing through.

Room Tip: For couples, there are just the cottages (you could fit one more person, but it would be crowded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamierand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    38
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
76
65
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Stayed here for one night as part of a road trip with some friends across NZ. Arrived really late at night and left quite early in the morning for Milford Sound so didnt really have much time to spend at the place.

The cottage we stayed in was clean and very comfortable. The place has a very homely feel to it. You feel like you are really at home and not in a cottage in a foreign country. Te Anau itself is scarcely populated so would be a great place to relax and take in the beauty of the surroundings but unfortunately we didnt have the time to do so.

The place is run by Leonie and Ray who are extremely friendly and a pleasure to stay with.

The cottage has a kitchen with full facilities and a spacious bathroom. The wifi is quite good and the TV had one of the best choices of channels on our trip (though we didn't stay there long enough to enjoy the choice).

This review wouldnt be complete without mentioning the bed. It sure made our early morning trip to Milford Sound hard to wake up for.

Would definitely recommend this place to anyone visting Te Anau and the surrounding area. Infact, if you had a little more time, it may be worth it to visit Te Anau just to stay and relax in these surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed at a 3-bedroom house which lived up to our expectations and then some. Fully self contained with everything we needed (detergent for washing machine included). Rooms were spacious which is important when traveling from very far and with an infant (cot was provided free of charge).
Great front yard with a swing and bbq, we didnt have time to use it but still. Definitely recommend to set base here if going (and you probably are) to Milford Sound. We heard that some guests got to share some Glenfiddich with Ray, maybe we will get the chance next time.
The only down side was that the internet is provided only around the front desk (office).

Room Tip: Rata house is the one to ask for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dr1milo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

What can I say lovely cottage, clean well equipped a very comfy bed. We stayed for 3 nights and had our best sleep here. Was great not like staying in a chain with the dog and cat at the main house that were always there for a stroke when you went up to reception. Free wifi great bonus. Ray and leonine are great with their knowledge of the area, it was great that Roy did the Milford sound trip as well . We had a brilliant day out see http://www.fiordlandtours.co.nz/
For rays tour highly recommended there was only 6 of us on the tour, ray took us places where the big tour companies can't get.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue_hendry22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We had a 3 bedroom cottage, which was more a full house than a cottage. Included were a washing machine and dryer, full oven, and fridge/freezer. For Winter there's a cozy fireplace in the lounge. This was the best value for money in our South Island trip. Stay here for a couple of nights rather than endure the long trip from Queenstown to Milford Sound. They could do with updating the TV to a modern flatscreen, but at this price it's a minor gripe.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
120 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Leonie welcomed us and let us know of all the things Te Anau had to offer.

We had a one bedroom apartment and it was equipped with all you would expect for a home away from home. A full kitchen, adequate bathroom and warm bedroom.

We had already booked with another tour operator to visit Milford Sound before reading that Ray did his own tours from here and that they were great. Ray talked us through his tour and offered to organise us to take his tour instead of going in a large group which we took up. This was a great decision as the tour group was small and we stopped at a lot of places we would have missed if we went with the
Larger group. Unfortunately it was raining and overcast but Ray made our tour enjoyable and worthwhile.

It was so nice to have a long tour seeing as much as we could and come back to a warm cozy cottage to watch Australia in the Rugby World Cup bronze final :)

Ps-birchwood cottages had the most Sky channels in any other place we stayed at during our two weeks in New Zealand.

Wifi access was easy and fast.

Many thanks to Leonie and Ray for a great last two days of our trip.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mealzybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Ray and Leonie were great hosts. The cottage was well equipped with everything that we needed and was a great place to relax in the evening after a long day trip to Milford Sound. I highly recommend taking up Ray's offer for a guided tour to Milford as the road is long and treacherous. Even though its only about 120km away, it can take hours to get there which can be tiring and there is no stops for fuel. Ray's knowledge of the area is so detailed and insightful, he loves what he does and enjoy's sharing it with his guests. I would highly recommend the one bedroom cabins, they're modern and cosy.

Room Tip: The dog's name is Tess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.0 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.7 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.6 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.5 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Cottages

Property: Birchwood Cottages
Address: 208 Milford Road, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Birchwood Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Birchwood Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Cottages Hotel Te Anau
Birchwood Cottages Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing