We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, home style accommodation.”
Review of Birchwood Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Birchwood Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Ray and Leonie were great hosts. The cottage was well equipped with everything that we needed and was a great place to relax in the evening after a long day trip to Milford Sound. I highly recommend taking up Ray's offer for a guided tour to Milford as the road is long and treacherous. Even though its only about 120km away, it can take hours to get there which can be tiring and there is no stops for fuel. Ray's knowledge of the area is so detailed and insightful, he loves what he does and enjoy's sharing it with his guests. I would highly recommend the one bedroom cabins, they're modern and cosy.

Room Tip: The dog's name is Tess.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for Birchwood Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 183 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2011

My partner and I stayed here recently for 2 nights. We got the one bedroom cottage.

The cottage was fantastic! It was clean, warm and was really well stocked! The owners Leonie and Ray were very welcoming and gave us some great information about Te Anau and then about the next places we would travel to.

We took a day trip to Milford Sound with their tour company and had Ray as our guide. He was very knowledgable and made the day a lot of fun. Plenty of stops along the way ensured we weren't bored at all.

I highly recommend these cottages.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy_traveller4589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

The cottages were absolutely gorgeous, impeccably clean, immaculately furbished, everything worked. Ray and Leonie are superb hosts who did everything they could to make our 2 night stay comfortable and enjoyable - even lighting the fire for us so when we arrived it was warm and cosy. These cottages are circa 1960, but every part has been renovated or repainted and refitted. The kitchen was better equipped than some holiday homes I've stayed in. You could easily live here, not just stay for a short while. The cottages are a 1 minute drive from the centre of town toward Milford Sound, but the price reflects the decision not to stay right in town. Having said that, the town is so tiny that you are only just around the corner from everything anyway. Supermarket within easy reach. We thoroughly enjoyed visiting the Sound, and enjoyed everything about our stay at Birchwood. Thank you Ray and Leonie, we wish you all the best.

Room Tip: We stayed in a cabin for a family of four. There was everything you need, including washing powder...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Girlfriday67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We arrived vary late to Te Anau as we had originally expected to be heading to Queenstown. We wanted to get accommodation for two nights and take a trip to Milford Sound. We chanced upon Birchwood and Ray was able to offer us a 3 bedroomed cottage on the site and a trip to the Sound all at a very good price. The facilities were a bit dated but clean and well equipped. All the provisions for breakfast each morning were delivered to us and we were able to catch up on laundry with the utility area in the cottage coming in handy. The trip to Milford was guided by Dave and his local knowledge made the trip with numerous interesting stops very memorable. Birchwood packages what it has offer very well and in a location like Te Anau it's great to have space to get organised with wet gear, etc.

Room Tip: Some cottages are more modern than others.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lackavra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

I really wanted to be able to write a good review of this place, as the owners were very nice and amenable. But unfortunately the accommodation we were given felt well short of what we had been led to expect. We booked the 3 bed cottage as we were travelling with our 3 year old daughter, and this was off site (across the street) and therefore we were not able to use the advertised free internet (we were told we could sit on the terrace of the main building and use the internet there, but the weather wasn't great while we stayed which made this impossible) There was also no phone in the house so we could not make use of the free local calls rule or even call the main house, which would have been helpful as mobile signal wasn't great. The cottage itself was very old fashioned and a bit depressing. Plus it felt a bit damp and cold and unloved. To be fair the kitchen was well stocked with utensils etc. Security in the house was almost none existent and we did feel a bit nervous going out for the day and leaving all our belongings (including a lap top) behind.
On a positive note, there was a good selection of childrens play equipment in the garden of the main house which we were free to use, and which we managed to quickly on the day we departed when the rain had stopped.
The trip to Milford Sound was incredible and can be highly recommended. Unfortunately I can't recommend the 3 bed cottage at this place and if I came back to Te Anua would opt to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birchTeAnau, Owner at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2011

The 3 bedroom place that the guest stayed is fairly advertised that internet and free phone is available at the main office. These guests were well aware of this. We are intending to have a phone in this cottage soon. Guests are always invited to use the main office for the free internet service which is always warm and inviting.
The cottage has had a recent renovation with new carpet, wallpaper, paint and modernised kitchen which most guests really enjoy. The garden would be the only “unloved” part of this accommodation. Whilst we keep the lawns trim and tidy the garden there is quite minimal. Four heaters keep adequate heating throughout this cottage. We also have the heaters on prior to the guest’s arrival.
Security is excellent with keys given to guests for both the front and rear doors. We have never had a problem with security! It is a pity that these people did not tell us that they felt not secure and we would have offered to put any valuables in our office safe. Unfortunately travellers cannot have the luxury of new places where ever they go, and the separate web page accurately describes our 40 year old warm cosy 3 bedroom cottage. We invite readers of our “tripadviser” to explore the 95% excellent reviews before they take this one too seriously. Holidays are never the same during inclement weather. We thank these guests for making a valid point about the lack of a telephone and can assure future travellers that this is to be rectified.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

We stayed three nights in their "Rana" cottage while touring the area (particularly Doubtful Sound and Milford Sound). We're glad we did. The cottage was more modern than we had expected -- had lots of space and amenities for just the two of us, very comfortable bed, nice livingroom with wood-burning stove for the evening, big kitchen with all the tools. Just one bath though, so we guess that for its full capacity of 6 people it might get crowded. Great location just next to center of Te Anau. Ray and Leonie were friendly helpful hosts.
We also took Ray's offer to take us on a day trip to Milford Sound, which we went on with two other couples in a small but very comfortable bus up to the Sound. The boat was run by Mitre Peak Tours which we recommend -- smaller, more personalized than the "big" outfits that also run tours at Milford, and bit less costly as well. The Sound is spectacular in either rain or sunshine, in different ways. On the bus trip, Ray talked a bit too much, but then we think all tour guides do [i.e. let the scenery speak for itself], so that's partly just us. It wasn't a serious issue.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

We stayed in birchwood cottages. Cottages was lovely and big. Great view of the mountains. Had everything we needed. Owners were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5kidsBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.0 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Te Anau
384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
617 reviews
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Cottages

Address: 208 Milford Road, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range: $108 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Birchwood Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Birchwood Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Cottages Hotel Te Anau
Birchwood Cottages Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing