We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park
Ranked #18 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Te Anau
Warkworth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2010

We stayed in a luxury cabin for 2 nights. The cabin was well equiped with a double bed with a single bunk bed above, a fridge, T.V., table and stools. The toilet and shower facilities were very luxurious and clean, they even had music playing. The grounds are well kept and the views from the cabins to the mountains and lake were very nice. there was no excess noise from the other guests, which is always a bonus.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    28
    14
    15
    14
See reviews for
22
42
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
VCT2005
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2008

The Camping site offers especially for campervan/motorhomes power sites (Nr. 1 to 18) with an extraordinary view about the lake and the mountains for just 16 NZ $ in Peak-Season. The Holiday-Park is situated around 3 KM away from th lake and about 30 meter above the lake level. The owner are friendly and helpful and the shared facilities are VERY clean. They offer all the things a NZ 4 star holiday park offers and even a small SPA and fitness room!
After I got my site, saw the view and inspected the shower/toilets I payed for another 2 days.

  • Liked — view and prive value
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VCT2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2008

> We had stayed here before in a Park Motel room 2 years ago and,
> after looking at the web site decided to book again as we thought and we really wanted
> accommodation with a bath and space as we were here for 7 nights.
>
> In all our 6 months of travelling his was the most disappointing place we have stayed at for a number of reasons and we felt so angry and upset we felt we had to write.
>
> On arrival our room did not have the facilities the web site said
> it did and we quote 'Units contain full bathroom facilities with
> bath, hand basin, toilet and shower. Full cooking access with
> fridge, freezer, microwave, hotplates, television, DVD player and
> stereo. '
>
> There was no bath ..one of the main reasons for booking the unit
>
> The fridge was tiny and there was no separate freezer (the freezer was in the tiny fridge about the size of an egg box)
>
> The reception on the tv and stereo was such that only one channel was available on each and reception was poor. When we asked someone to look at the tv, the woman at reception said they didn't think they could do anything that day as the electrician finished at 5 o'clock and would get someone in the next day - they did not. We would have tried to retune both the tv and radio but there was a notice in the unit saying and we paraphrase "... any retuning or readjusting of T.V.'s Video's DVD's...will be charged back to you....Minimum rate
> $50 charges..."
>
> In terms of servicing, the rubbish bin was emptied but that was it.
>
> The unit was small and not at all user friendly in terms of eating / relaxing space (although it was nicely decorated). It did not have a table and chairs for eating, although it did have a breakfast bar with 2 stools, which was not very comfortable.
>
> The key for the unit had 'kitchen unit' on it ..when we
> queried this we were told it had not been 'updated'. We are not sure if there is any official description/guidelines as to what a Park Motel unit is supposed to provide, but felt this fell short.
>
> When we went back to reception to complain about the room the attitude we were met with was unbelievable ..very rude, unfriendly and unhelpful.
>
> 3 photos on the web site were the motel room we had had 2 years before which is the standard we were expecting.This is apparently no longer a motel room (despite being on the website as such) and is a family room, although no such description on their website exists.
>
> It was agreed we could move 2 nights later to another unit
> with a bath and a large fridge freezer.
> As requested we cleared out our unit waiting for the new unit to be cleaned.
>
> When it was ready we took all of our stuff to the new unit but they would not give us the key until we had paid up front so we could not look at the unit. They had no visa machine working apparently (for the second time since we checked in) and insisted we went into town to get cash. No receipt was issued when we paid (which is presumably standard procedure) so we had to go back and specifically request one.
>
> We could not believe how we were treated.
>
> Once we had handed over the cash we were given the key (we wasted a precious half day of our time here on this)
> The key was labelled "Self Contained" so we were paying 120$ for a unit we had been quoted in October as being $85, which was presumably why they didn't hand it over until we had paid cash. (When we enquired in October we were offered self contained for 85$ and motel for 120$)
>
> One other point is we are not sure what the fire regulations are but the 2 fire extinguisher points outside the units had no
extinguishers in. We are not sure where the smoke alarm was in the Park Motel unit. Although we could have missed this but it didn't go off when some toast burnt and the room got all smokey.
>
> The safe in the second unit was locked so we were unable to use it.
> We decided against going back to reception again as we knew the attitude we would have received.
>
> The kettle did not work, although in fairness it was replaced
> promptly.
>
> We had booked in October (for February), but unfortunately there was no other accommodation available elsewhere otherwise we would have left the first night due to the attitude of the reception staff. Incidentally, there was a complaint from another guest about a dirty duvet cover which was replaced but with very bad grace.
>
> We feel very strongly that the web site is completely misleading
> and the rudeness and off-handed manner we were met
> with was appalling >
> We wanted to book some tours and use the 'hourly shuttle service' but ended up doing our own thing as we didn't get the impression they would be any help at all and we wanted to avoid any further unpleasantness as we were meant to be having a relaxing week after months of being on the move.
>
> The brochures in the Te Anau isite advertise free Kayaks and bikes but this is not true either.
>
> In fairness the new unit was clean, well appointed and most days we we were given clean towels and the tea / coffee replaced, however this is the first place we wish we had not stayed at, felt we had been overcharged, lied to and will not come back to which is a shame when we are meant to be on the trip of a lifetime.
>We wrote to the Qualmark people and also Family parks about this, and they said they would look into this .
> >
>

  • Liked — Once moved was spacious
  • Disliked — before moved lack of space
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Beeble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stayfiordland, Manager at Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Hi there
Thank you for your comment. Reading at your review we have traced back your booking and correspondence and there was no mention of you needing a unit with a bath. Unfortunately at time of arrival, we couldn't change things to meet your requirement. However we did offer to find you alternative accommodation but you declined. We apologise for any inconvenience and recommend that you specify your requirement in detail before arrival.
We are sorry that you are disappointed with your stay.
Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Te Anau hotels

Swaziland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2008

When we arrived, beds were not prepared for our stay, but we politely requested sheets etc... on our arrival home there was a VERY rude message from managment regarding the "mess" we left and that we would be required to pay a service fee..he went on to leave Very rude comments about how we should have read up about how to leave NZ accomodation following ones stay.....We were highly offended, however after reading other reviews about the rude management, it seems to be the norm...I would strongly advise people to stay elsewhere... don't take the chance!

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank KLvR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2008

We stayed in a standard cabin for two nights. Thank goodness it wasn't longer. We would have moved if we hadn't paid upfront. Some of our problems were:
* We were told there was a kitchen, which is true. The problem was that the kitchen doesn't have anything in it - no pots, pans, bowls, plates, cutlery etc. You can borrow some of these things - we borrowed some pots (for a bond of $30) but they don't have knives so you've got problems if you have, say, a carrot to cut up! Also, we were lucky that we even got the pans. We arrived late and only got to making dinner (and realising how bare the kitchen is) after reception shut. It took some sweet talking to get the pots!
* the cabins are a while away from the kitchen and the toilets/showers and the path is not lit at all, so at night you have to stumble up a dark road and hope you don't fall into the ditch!
* the woman who runs the caravan park seems to have lost the joy of doing so. There is a sign in the kitchen saying "you are being watched" and signs in the cabins threatening to charge you $50 if any of a number of things happen, including if you leave the furniture somewhere other than the original position. I can understand this might be annoying, but I haven't come across anywhere else so picky and distrusting of their guests!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank rowbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2008

The double delux cabin we booked was relatively clean. Double delux cabins are advertised as coming with a kettle, fridge, toaster and TV. Overall, we were satisfied with the cabin itself, however, the following provides a list of disappointing items about this holiday park.

***Shuttle Service***
The receptionist informed over the phone us that there is a free shuttle service - this is also quoted on the website. "Shuttle services leave every hour on the hour during reception hours and after hours by arrangement." Over the phone I requested a shuttle to take us into Te Anau town the morning of our departure at 7am and it was agreed to. However, after checking-in, paying and attempting to arrange the shuttle service the receptionist (also the manager/owner) told us they would not provide the service as it was too early and that instead she would book a taxi service. In the end, no taxi service was booked for us and we arranged this ourselves.

***Amenities***
At the time we stayed at the park there were 3 Unisex toilets available for all tenants staying at the holiday park. 2 out of every 5 visits to the toilet meant a long wait. Based on my other experiences at hostels, backpackers, this is the first place I have encountered that does not have the amenities and facilities to support the number of customers.

***25% rate rise upon arrival***
Upon checking-in, we were informed that there was a rate rise of $12 per night. The normal rate for a delux cabin was $48, the new rate was $60. This is a 25% rate rise - which despite being legally enforceable, seems very steep and much higher than any other rate rise i have ever encountered at any other backpacker, hostel or B&B that i have stayed in.

***No confirmation email***
At the time of booking we requested to be sent an email confirmation of the booking, terms and conditions, detailed of check-in/check-out times and credit card charges. The receptionist (owner/manager) promised to do this after the credit card was charged. 1 week after the credit card was charged we had not received an email confirmation. I called to speak to her and request the confirmation, she again promised to send it. No email was sent.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travelMonki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2008

A friend and I stayed in one of the 'Great Views' (an exaggeration) flatlets in February 2007. I was concerned that this holiday park was a little out of town, as we had no transport, but the website advertised a frequent shuttle service. When I phoned to book, the female owner/manager confirmed that lifts into town and back would not be a problem, and reiterated that it was only a 10 minute walk into town. Once we got there, however, it was made clear to us that the London cab shuttle only operates during peak school holiday season. We asked for a lift into town, and it was given so grudgingly that we daren't not ask again, and walked instead. The walk was closer to 30 minutes - and I walk a lot.

The bathrooms were clean, and the campsites quite nice, but the management was snotty in all our dealings with them - not the type of people who should be dealing with the public.

  • Liked — Individual shower rooms
  • Disliked — the management
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Tablemtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.0 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.6 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
#10 of 27 in Te Anau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park
0.7 mi away
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park

Property: Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park
Address: Milford Road RD1, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park Hotel Te Anau
Fiordland Great Views Holiday Park Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing