We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good views located a mile or two outside Te Anau”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loch Vista Lakeview Accommodation
Ranked #7 of 29 Te Anau B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good views located a mile or two outside Te Anau”
Reviewed May 16, 2010

We spent three nights here in mid-March arriving late on a wet dark evening after taking the Catlins route from Dunedin. Well worth the detour but it did mean we arrived later than planned and found Loch Vista a bit difficult to find.

Our room was large and adequate with French windows which would have had lovely views of the lake and mountains if it hadn't been dark or raining! Comfortable bed. Everything very clean. The bathroom was a bit stark though with the corrugated metal lining to the shower.

Usual NZ continental breakfast in Viv's kitchen with freshly prepared fruit salad, yoghurt, toast, croissants and preserves on offer, plus tea and coffee. Viv was friendly and ready to offer advice on what to do and see. Fiordland is the wettest place on earth according to our guide book, with rain two days out of three, and it certainly rained while we were there but this did mean our Doubtful Sound trip included lots of beautiful waterfalls.

We were disappointed to hear the Milford Road was closed due to a tree avalanche so our proposed trip to Milford Sound had to be cancelled. However, we booked on to the Doubtful Sound trip instead and this was wonderful. A 10 hour day involving two buses and two boats each way but well worthwhile. A special time was when the boat switched off its engines in the Sound and we experienced the remoteness and total silence (apart from waterfalls).

Viewed the "Shadowlands" film at the local cinema (35 mins long) which showed wonderful magical Fiordland scenery with appropriate "trippy" type music. Highly recommended. Lots of good walks in the area, including the Keppler Trail.

Loch Vista is located in a beautiful part of NZ and is a perfectly pleasant place to stay for a few days. Nice cat too.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vegetariantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
92
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North East Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2010

Loch Vista is located up above the road, surrounded by fields (NZ - paddocks), with uninterrupted views over Te Anau Lake. We had a spacious double room with ensuite, and could sit up in bed and see the lake. Viv, our hostess, was helpful with tips of where to eat and things to see on the way to Milford Sound. Because of her advice, we saw Mirror Lakes at their best (early morning, on the way out to the Sound) and watched the amazing film of Fjordland, 'Shadowlands' at the cinema. It was also at Viv's suggestion that we had booked our trip on the Sound with Mitre Peak Cruises and that was good because passenger numbers are limited and it was more personal.

Loch Vista is a new build and is very attractive and comfortable and the setting is stunning. We could have watched the varying lights and colours of the sunset and sunrise over the lake and mountains for many more days than we had booked.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viaggio2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leefdaal, Belgium
Level Contributor
209 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2010

This was without doubt the B&B with the most wonderful view ! Lovely B&B to return to in the evening, with a really comfortable and cosy room (and a big bathroom).
Viv was very friendly, gave us all the information when we needed.
And the breakfast was tasteful ! Especially the fresh fruit was great ! And some croissants, which we hadn't had before in NZ. It wasn't a problem for Viv to get up early for breakfast because we wanted to go to Milford Sound. We really appreciated that !
Great room with a great view, great place to stay !

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyvD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
178 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2010

Viv accommodated our every need: we stored luggage while we hiked the Milford Track, and she even let us clean our weary trail clothes in her washer/dryer. Mischief the cat is very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harvey44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2010

We had the pleasure to stay two nights in the B&B Lochvista.
The moment we walked in the very friendly owner, Viv asked us what we wanted to drink and she showed us our room. Since we asked a twin room and it was made up as a double, she changed it immediately!
We were so lucky with the weather and the view over the lake is stunning! There was a small terrace next to our room, which was very nice.
Since we wanted to go to Milford Sound we talked with her what the options were. She called Mitre Peak, a company which does boat trips in Milford Sound and we got in the next day. This is a really good tour since they have smaller boats so it is not overcrowded on the vessel and everybody can take very nice pictures.
She recommended us to go and see a movie in the city centre of Te Anau about the fjordland which was fantastic! I even bought the DVD.
The breakfast in the morning is very good, there's fresh fruit salad, cereal, müesli, toast with a lot of different spreads, yoghurt, orange juice and coffee or tea, ... a good way to start the day.
Viv has a very nice cat Mischief. I was glad because I missed my cat and for me it gave the B&B an extra homey feeling.
We would like to thank Viv for her excellent hospitality.
Lochvista is a really stunning place at only five minutes driving from Te Anau with a fantastic view over the lake!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRW
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

Nice B&B (outside the little town of Te Anau) with stunning views over the lake and the mountains. Very convenient for trips to Milford Sound and Doubtful Sound. Good hospitality, decent rooms. However, not the place to stay when you have a cat intolerance. We liked it a lot.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FriendsOfTheDolphins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
363 reviews
230 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2010

Many other reviewers have said it all. Viv, the owner goes out of her way to extend good old fashioned Kiwi hospitality. Lochvista is a couple of kilometres out of town - you need a car to go back and forth. However, this is not a disadvantage as the location is one that is conducive to rest and relaxation. Whether that be in a large room, with excellent views of Lake Te Anua, or on the tables and chairs just outside the room this place has it all. The bed more than comfortable, the room had tea and coffee making facilities, a TV and all the amenities that you would need. The continental breakfast was substantial. We found Viv more than accommodating in making many helpful touring and restaurant selections. She went that extra mile to help make your stay enjoyable.

We would strongly recommend Lochvista.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geddes_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
3.3 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
367 reviews
3.2 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
3.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Dunluce Bed and Breakfast
3.3 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
601 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bella Rosa Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Vista Lakeview Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Vista Lakeview Accommodation

Property: Loch Vista Lakeview Accommodation
Address: 454 Te Anau Milford Highway, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9679, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Fiordland and Loch Vista Lakeview Accommodation. We are located on a small, rural property on the way to Milford Sound, just 5 km from Te Anau. Loch Vista overlooks Lake Te Anau and the Murchison Mountains and offers stunning panoramic views. You can relax in comfort and enjoy the ever changing scenery and starry night skies. Our family home is located within walking distance from Loch Vista and we are available for tips on local activities. Pam and Guy Turnbull. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loch Vista Lakeview Accommodation Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing