We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm, friendly, and helpful service”
Review of Red Tussock Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Tussock Motel
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
“Warm, friendly, and helpful service”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on our Honeymoon for one night on our way to Milford Sound. The manager, Robin, made our experience memorable. He really went the extra mile to make us feel special. He genuinely seemed to care about our celebration and even stocked our room with a bottle of champagne before our arrival. He was also extremely knowledgable about Milford Sound and gave us excellent advice for booking a boat cruise and for avoiding bus traffic on the way in and out.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MF_Surfside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    48
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
41
95
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

A large group of us stayed over New Years 13/14 just after doing the Milford track. The room/house we rented we large to accommodate all of us at a reasonable cost!
The owner could not do enough for us, he really made our stay! He let us do an enormous amount of washing in his commercial laundry and was happy with additional guests. I would recommend this motel!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K8tbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
143 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This hotel is situated very closely to the Te Anau Town Centre and is in a great location for all the activities out of Te Anau. From here, we took the Glow Worm Caves tour organised by Real Journeys which you have to book in advanced. It’s a short leisurely walk along the lake from the motel to the town centre. If not, you can also drive which we did.

Checking in wasn’t a problem. The receptionist was very nice and showed us our motel room. We were staying in room one and the room was very spacious. It managed to accommodate both our huge luggage and enough walking space for us to traverse from the door to the bathroom. Hot water was readily available and cooking facilities were small but sufficient.

Wifi was also available and fast. Comfortable for a one night stay. Will be back again if staying in Te Anau. Overall 4 stars for this motel.

Room Tip: Choose the corner rooms that will give you a nice view of the surrounding garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greasystains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Incredible service, no problem was too big or too hard for Robin. Accommodated our needs (all 12 of us!) quickly and efficiently with no fuss at all- regularly identifying ways to make our stay easier and enjoyable. Many thanks for a wonderful stay!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LRBarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takapuna, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

The owner was more than helpful, room was clean, tidy, simple but had everything we needed including basic cooking items . Is a nice walk along the lake from the town centre. Would happily stay again and recommend to friends.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lewis_edwardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This is comfortable lodging, perfectly located near the lake. The manager, Robin, is more than helpful, and his friendly service alone makes this place worth staying during your time in Te Anau. We stayed just one night but would have loved to stay more.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

This is definitely an impressive stay during our jouney in south island. We've been give a whole storey. The view through the kitchen is quiet and comfort. Robin, our host has always been helpful. He waited us and gave us a warm welcome the day we came which was about 8 p.m. Also, he taught us a lot useful things.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojo0417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.2 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.4 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.3 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Tussock Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Tussock Motel

Property: Red Tussock Motel
Address: 10 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#7 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Tussock Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Tussock Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Tussock Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing