We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value -Excellent Quality”
Review of Red Tussock Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Tussock Motel
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed for two nights. The room was very clean and quite spacious. Free Wi-Fi Internet was included. The standard studio had cooking facilities and we took the opportunity to prepare some home cooked meals during our stay. Jane was very helpful in sorting out some tours after the road to MIlford sound was blocked by a rock slide. This was by far the best accommodation we booked during our stay in NZ.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anglen50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 176 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed for two niights although we were thinking in only one. Really quiet and in front of the lake, we got a good rest after the Milford track there.
I would recommend it for the price, we got extra milk and good internet connection.
The room was quite big and we managed to restablish our backpacks in a better way. Really near the Fiorland park visitor centre although we stayed in the camping nearby before the Milford.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Offbeatdrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed for two nights for $95 per night. We had booked a standard studio but were upgraded to a two bedroom unit. The man running the place was very helpful and friendly. The room was big with a good kitchenette. The motel is located right opposite the entrance to the Fiorland National Park Visitor Centre where you can do a couple of nice short walks. It's about a 10 min walk to town. No complaints at all with this place.

Overall, it was very good accommodation at a very good price. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SF3415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We arrived in te Anau, late afternoon, in Autumn, and called in at the Red Tussock Motel, we paid for a Studio(NZ$125), but were given a one bedroom apartment, which was great.
Everything was clean with a modern bathroom.
Location is very good at the Lake front, but views can only be had from upstairs Studio's.
A pleasant Motel, would go back there

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jana50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This motel as well priced and had views of the lake. Also it was close to town and the jetty. The room had everything we needed for self catering. The beds were comfortable and the room was spotless. We were only here for 1 night but would recommend this motel for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Owner were very helpful with all our questions and allowed us to check in early so we could come back later in the evening at our leisure. As we were traveling outside of peak season this option was available but my guess it would be different in peak season based on room availability.
Location was very close to town and opposite the lake so very nice.


The 1 Bed Suite we had was upstairs, was spaceous, very clean, well laid out and very comfortable with all the Amenities and a comfy bed.
The shower was excellent and just what was needed after a day in the cold.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBeigeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Owners very helpful and positively reactive to comments and requests we made. Two bed Apartment was good and clean. kitchen fairly well equiped (pots/pans/utensils/ tea/coffee/sugar/washing liquid). Needed extra work surface so we brought in the garden table from the verandah. One of the bedrooms was very small and needed to have some storage, although no space in the bedroom there would be space in the large living area for a cupboard or drawers. Free wifi adequate for 2 devices at once. Good location, right opposite the DOC visitor information centre and only a short 10min walk along lake front to the centre. Nothing special but very adequate and reasonable value. We would recommend this hotel and we would book it again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woodlans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.2 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 22 in Te Anau
502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.1 mi away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#8 of 22 in Te Anau
270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#5 of 22 in Te Anau
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Tussock Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Tussock Motel

Address: 10 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#7 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: $94 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Tussock Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Red Tussock Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Tussock Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing