We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice stay. Recommended accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Accommodation Fiordland Self Contained Cottages
Ranked #16 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Te Anau
Melbourne
1 review
“A nice stay. Recommended accommodation”
Reviewed February 4, 2010

We stayed in the 3BR house for two nights. It was a pleasant experience. The rooms are clean, The house is cosy. Tinny, the house lady, is very helpful, helping us book cruise tickets, and introduce tour sites and driving routes. They also have wireless internet access for free, though the signal was not very good from our house.

I would recommend this accommodation to anyone that have some sort of transport, or don't mind a little bit walk to the town centre and the lakeside..

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ima2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Three of us stayed in the three bedroomed cottage that sleeps eight so we had a bedrrom each - what luxury! Very comforatable stay in a lovely location. Tinny only does 2-night stays now but it's well worth it and gave us the chance to drive to Milford and do the Doubtful cruise.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorsetDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington,
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

We stayed for two nights in Te anau so we could do the glow worm caves in Te anau and also a Milford Sound Cruise the next day. We stayed in the Garden cottage which was $90 per night. For self contained private accommodation this was excellent value and i researched many other options before settling on Accommodation Fiordland. The owners ( the Tinnys) are both lovely and friendly and very accommodating. We were greeted by Mr Tinny and he was helpful and shared his local knowledge of recommended things to do and places to go for dinner (and also one particular place to avoid). He was very personable and friendly and the greeting was lovely. We were shown our cottage which was very clean and tidy and well appointed. the bathroom for a small cottage was awesome with a large metre by a metre shower. We also had our own deck with chairs and a table. Even though there were other cottages around we felt as if we were in private surroundings. When we checked out we met Dainty Tinny who was just as lovely as her husband. Would highly reccommend this accommodation, it is very well priced and private. If you are in Te Anau also make sure you go to fiordland cinema for the local movie, it is amazing.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doguemassive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2009

We stayed in the Back Cottage for 3 nights during our 4 week holiday in New Zealand. Soooo quiet & peaceful with a very comfy bed. The cottage comprised of one big room with a small ensuite attached and while there wasn't a lot of room or cupboard space, we were very comfortable, cosy & warm. The kitchenette was also quite small but had everything we needed for the short term. Tinny Dainty was charming and very helpful with local advice.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika V L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2009

After arriving in Te Anu later-on in the tourist season, and touring without pre-booking; we had some concerns about availability of accommodation. However, we were pleasantly suprised to find a choice of units.
The owner-operator was very helpful and showed us what was on offer, making clear the prices and options of each of the units.
We plumped for a cottage with a double bed/open plan lounge/diner and a seperate double/single-bed bedroom. All of which were spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable (possibly the most comfortable in our twelve day tour of the South Island). The kitchen was small but well appointed, helpful for those that like to self-cater rather than eat out.
The shower was amazing if a bit on the short side for a six footer (though this is a standard complaint of mine about holiday accommodation).
The local knowledge of our hosts needs a mention as it was this that truely made our stay here all the more worthwhile. Being an exhibited photographer, the host let us in on the places that most tourists would've missed (also the things to avoid). Available for viewing in the cottage was one of his DVD's about Fiordland (also available to buy and extremely good value for money).
So impressed by the helpful nature, and general high standard of accomodation, we extended our stay rather than rush and miss things.
As you cannot truely explore such a diverse Island in a few days we will be back, and will definately be staying here again. Again many thanks to our hosts; Tinny and Graham.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beares-abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2007

We had a three night stay here during our trip around the South Island, it was certainly one of the best value places we had booked.

The accommodation was excellent, a good bed, wonderful power shower, small but adequate kitchen and very clean.

The chalets are set in the gardens of the owners house and are set well apart. Each has its own veranda with seating.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — nothin
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.0 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.6 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
#10 of 27 in Te Anau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bella Rosa Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Lakeside Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Accommodation Fiordland Self Contained Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Accommodation Fiordland Self Contained Cottages

Property: Accommodation Fiordland Self Contained Cottages
Address: 222 Milford Road | 226 A/B Milford Road, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two cozy, private, reasonably priced self-contained cottages - 'The Batch' a two bedroom studio cottage (1-4) and a 'the Three Bedroom House' fully self contained cottage (7) - a six minute walk to the town centre. All linen is provided and towels renewed daily when required. To find us on the internet try searching 'Tinny Dainty' or 'Accommodation Fiordland Self Contained Cottages'. Relax in the evening with a drink on the deck in the park like setting after a busy day exploring Fiordland. See exterior and interior photos of your cottage when you book and know exactly what you are getting - you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Accommodation Fiordland Self Contained Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accommodation Fiordland Self Contained Cottages Hotel Te Anau
Accommodation Fiordland Self Contained Cottages Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing