We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, inexpensive motel accommodation”
Review of Parklands Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parklands Motel
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good, inexpensive motel accommodation”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed one night, using Te Anau, as many do, as a springboard for Milford Sound. This motel, located in a quiet street but within walking distance of the esplanade and shops, provided us with all we needed: a good size, spotlessly clean room with bathroom; a laundry room and a spacious, well-equipped communal kitchen (actually an advantage over having a kitchenette in one's room since there is more space to cook, there is a full range of utensils and cooking equipment and any cooking odours are confined to the kitchen). The proprietors were welcoming and helpful.There is a good supermarket, with all you would need for self-catering, in the town centre, a few minutes' walk across the park .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    76
    31
    4
    5
See reviews for
29
95
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed two nights. The room was spacious and there was everything you need. A big shared kitchen was in the Motel as well. The bathroom was nice and clean and with a window. Only walking distance to the lake. The owner could be a nicer but that was not an issue.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieReb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was a motor lodge with full cooking facilities. We saved money by grocery shopping and eating in, which was really nice. The couple taking care of the place was really nice and they gave us a container of milk upon check-in. The room was reasonably clean, but had a very strange camping type smell to it. Like I just got out the sleeping bags from storage or something. The floors were a little hollow and the bathroom door didn't have a lock. Not big things at all. The shower was nice and large, but allowed water to get all over the floor in the bathroom because of the style. They only provided two bath towels, one hand towel, one washcloth, and a tiny bath mat, which wasn't enough to mop up the bathroom floor. I would definitely stay here again as these things were really minor and I didn't mind them at all. It was also in a great location for visiting Milford Sound. We also loved the deck off the living area.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the main road. Also ask for a 2nd floor room if staying in the 2 story units as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista_B8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

My family and I really enjoyed our stay at Parklands, especially mom. She was totally in love with the complementary fresh milk (actually it was for coffee and tea). The room was clean, although the furnitures were a little bit old. I reckoned they had a recent major renovation. The lady at the reception was definitely nice and helpful. She even allowed me to check in a little bit early.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shafina_Shafina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
187 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights and found it very convenient for town and walks. Owners were friendly and helpful. Apartment was good - had everything we needed including well equipped kitchen. The upstairs room had a lovely view overlooking the Park and mountains. It was conveniently located - easy walk to lake, main street, Intercity Bus stop and supermarket.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pasqualie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed here as a couple for 2 nights in Feb 2011 but have only got round to doing the review now. The parklands motel has good sized rooms, very helpful friendly staff. Good facilities in the room, microwave, seperate sink, and fridge. You can park right outside the room making it feel more like an apartment or challet than just a room. The location is good and 2mins walk from town. I would recommend the visit to see the glowworms.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuzuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were planning to stay 1 day in Te Anau and booked at this motel. The staff is very helpful and the rooms are cozy and very clean. The motel is located close to the main street and the lake but far enough to guarantee a peaceful sleep. They also have a common kitchen which is well equipped. I got charged twice by mistake, but before I had realized it I got an email from them telling me that they had solved it, which saved me a lot of trouble. I definetly recommend this motel if you plan to stay in Te Anau.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebasizquie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.4 mi away
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
#23 of 23 in Te Anau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parklands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parklands Motel

Property: Parklands Motel
Address: 16 Mokoroa St., Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parklands Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Parklands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parklands Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing