We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great affordable lodging”
Review of Parklands Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parklands Motel
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great affordable lodging”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was a motor lodge with full cooking facilities. We saved money by grocery shopping and eating in, which was really nice. The couple taking care of the place was really nice and they gave us a container of milk upon check-in. The room was reasonably clean, but had a very strange camping type smell to it. Like I just got out the sleeping bags from storage or something. The floors were a little hollow and the bathroom door didn't have a lock. Not big things at all. The shower was nice and large, but allowed water to get all over the floor in the bathroom because of the style. They only provided two bath towels, one hand towel, one washcloth, and a tiny bath mat, which wasn't enough to mop up the bathroom floor. I would definitely stay here again as these things were really minor and I didn't mind them at all. It was also in a great location for visiting Milford Sound. We also loved the deck off the living area.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the main road. Also ask for a 2nd floor room if staying in the 2 story units as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista_B8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    76
    31
    4
    5
See reviews for
29
96
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

My family and I really enjoyed our stay at Parklands, especially mom. She was totally in love with the complementary fresh milk (actually it was for coffee and tea). The room was clean, although the furnitures were a little bit old. I reckoned they had a recent major renovation. The lady at the reception was definitely nice and helpful. She even allowed me to check in a little bit early.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shafina_Shafina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights and found it very convenient for town and walks. Owners were friendly and helpful. Apartment was good - had everything we needed including well equipped kitchen. The upstairs room had a lovely view overlooking the Park and mountains. It was conveniently located - easy walk to lake, main street, Intercity Bus stop and supermarket.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pasqualie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed here as a couple for 2 nights in Feb 2011 but have only got round to doing the review now. The parklands motel has good sized rooms, very helpful friendly staff. Good facilities in the room, microwave, seperate sink, and fridge. You can park right outside the room making it feel more like an apartment or challet than just a room. The location is good and 2mins walk from town. I would recommend the visit to see the glowworms.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuzuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were planning to stay 1 day in Te Anau and booked at this motel. The staff is very helpful and the rooms are cozy and very clean. The motel is located close to the main street and the lake but far enough to guarantee a peaceful sleep. They also have a common kitchen which is well equipped. I got charged twice by mistake, but before I had realized it I got an email from them telling me that they had solved it, which saved me a lot of trouble. I definetly recommend this motel if you plan to stay in Te Anau.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebasizquie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Parklands Motel in Te Anau for 2 nights recently. We came in on a late bus but the manager was still kind enough to show us to our apartment and put on the air conditioner for us. It had a fully self contained kitchenette and quite a large sit in area ( a three seater lounge and table/chairs for 4). The bed was big, warm and comfortable. Its location is a short 5 minute walk through a park to the main street of Te Anau. I would gladly choose this motel again on my next visit to Te Anau.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickandKay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

So many of the places in Te Anau seem to charge a fortune for a view of the lake - we went for Parklands as a cheaper option that was conveniently situated. It was a large apartment with view over the park across the road. We had a balcony to sit on and the rooms were clean and well equipped. The decoration was old fashioned and a little tired - particularly the bathroom decor which needs to leave the 1970's (?) brown behind. It was the only place in NZ that didn't automatically provide us with fresh milk the second day of our stay but they did when asked. Would happily stay there again and recommend for convenience, cleanliness, facilities and price - just don't go expecting brand new fixtures, fittings and decoration.
Short walk across the park to main street - best place to eat we found was the excellent fish & chip van parked on the front. Given the number of vistors to Te Anau we thought the choice of quality restaurants serving local produce was limited - and why do they all close so early even in the main holiday season.

Room Tip: Upstairs room for balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheerychappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
498 reviews
0.3 mi away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#9 of 23 in Te Anau
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Motel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Alpenhorn Motel
Alpenhorn Motel
#18 of 23 in Te Anau
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parklands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parklands Motel

Property: Parklands Motel
Address: 16 Mokoroa St., Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parklands Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parklands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parklands Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing