We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and Spacious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parklands Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Parklands Motel
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Adelaide
Level Contributor
168 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Convenient and Spacious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights and found it very convenient for town and walks. Owners were friendly and helpful. Apartment was good - had everything we needed including well equipped kitchen. The upstairs room had a lovely view overlooking the Park and mountains. It was conveniently located - easy walk to lake, main street, Intercity Bus stop and supermarket.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pasqualie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    71
    31
    3
    5
See reviews for
28
90
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed here as a couple for 2 nights in Feb 2011 but have only got round to doing the review now. The parklands motel has good sized rooms, very helpful friendly staff. Good facilities in the room, microwave, seperate sink, and fridge. You can park right outside the room making it feel more like an apartment or challet than just a room. The location is good and 2mins walk from town. I would recommend the visit to see the glowworms.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nuzuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were planning to stay 1 day in Te Anau and booked at this motel. The staff is very helpful and the rooms are cozy and very clean. The motel is located close to the main street and the lake but far enough to guarantee a peaceful sleep. They also have a common kitchen which is well equipped. I got charged twice by mistake, but before I had realized it I got an email from them telling me that they had solved it, which saved me a lot of trouble. I definetly recommend this motel if you plan to stay in Te Anau.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebasizquie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Parklands Motel in Te Anau for 2 nights recently. We came in on a late bus but the manager was still kind enough to show us to our apartment and put on the air conditioner for us. It had a fully self contained kitchenette and quite a large sit in area ( a three seater lounge and table/chairs for 4). The bed was big, warm and comfortable. Its location is a short 5 minute walk through a park to the main street of Te Anau. I would gladly choose this motel again on my next visit to Te Anau.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MickandKay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

So many of the places in Te Anau seem to charge a fortune for a view of the lake - we went for Parklands as a cheaper option that was conveniently situated. It was a large apartment with view over the park across the road. We had a balcony to sit on and the rooms were clean and well equipped. The decoration was old fashioned and a little tired - particularly the bathroom decor which needs to leave the 1970's (?) brown behind. It was the only place in NZ that didn't automatically provide us with fresh milk the second day of our stay but they did when asked. Would happily stay there again and recommend for convenience, cleanliness, facilities and price - just don't go expecting brand new fixtures, fittings and decoration.
Short walk across the park to main street - best place to eat we found was the excellent fish & chip van parked on the front. Given the number of vistors to Te Anau we thought the choice of quality restaurants serving local produce was limited - and why do they all close so early even in the main holiday season.

Room Tip: Upstairs room for balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheerychappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
154 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayd for 2 nights and it was really great. The owner was nice. The location is a 5 min walk to city center or à 5 min walk to the beatiful lake.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank micke80_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Our group stayed in two different rooms - both were comfortable

The first was a double with no cooking facilities. It was towards the back of the motel and clean and comfortable. There was a share kitchen/dining area for these units.

The second was a one bedroom apartment towards the front of the motel - this was larger and had good cooking facilities.

The owner was really helpful - showed us around both rooms, made sure we were comfortable, explained how we could move the beds.

The bathroom is looking a wee bit tired - but it was clean, comfortable, spacious and warm and not overly expensive. TV in the apartment was a wee bit small compared to TVs in similar rooms elsewhere. Everything was in easy walking distance.

We had no mould, friendly help and a comfortable stay for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sariban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.3 mi away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#9 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parklands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parklands Motel

Property: Parklands Motel
Address: 16 Mokoroa St., Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parklands Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Parklands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parklands Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing