We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Oasis in Te Anau”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dunluce Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 29 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“An Oasis in Te Anau”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at Dunluce for two nights, book-ending an overnight trip to Milford Sound, and the place was absolutely perfect. Not only was the room spacious - with a gorgeous view - but it was also very clean and well-maintained.

The extra little touches are what really stood out to me: the homemade breakfast was delicious and filling; loved the local lavender bath products; they helped us make a dinner reservation when we needed one; we were able to do a load of laundry; unlimited free wifi; and a few tips about things we might have otherwise missed/skipped on our trip to Milford...

The Dunluce is a very welcoming and comfortable place to stay, and a great jumping-off point for everything in the area.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GooseNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
203
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed one night before heading out to Doubtful Sound. The B&B was designed and built specifically for guest accommodation so it has the right balance of privacy whilst still retaining the style and benefits of a B&B. Wendy and Roger were very welcoming. There is a separate dining area for B&B guests and coffee, tea and homemade treats to enjoy. The sesame bars were amazing...!We were also told to help ourselves to some wine too! Breakfast was exceptional and you can order the night before. One of the best B&Bs we stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perth_Love_this_city
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Jan. 2013. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean, light filled and simply designed with a very comfortable bed and large bathroom with up to date fixtures. The location is peaceful and there are beautiful views of the lake and mountains. It's 5 minutes to the lake for a walk along the shore or 10 minutes into town. Wendy and Roger were gracious, friendly and helpful hosts and breakfasts were delicious. This is a perfect place to use as a base to walk the Kepler track and to explore the Fiordland region.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msaincamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had a very nice stay in Dunluce B&B.
Near Milford Sound it is located in a great and beautiful scenery.
As someone wrote before, breakfast was also outstanding and rooms were big and comfy.
We got the recipe of the muffins they spoiled us with and will try them soon at home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WendyandRoger, Owner at Dunluce Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thanks Fien for taking the time to write a review. Yes Te Anau is the closest town you can stay to visit Milford Sound, and there certainly is amazing scenery both in the Fiord and along the way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
276 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at Dunluce for two nights. Wendy and Roger maintain a wonderful B&B, modern, super clean and with great views of the snow-capped mountains and the lake. The breakfast is superb and includes continental and cooked breakfast (super delicious). Wendy is an exceptional host and takes great care of her guests during their stay at the B&B. She gave us great dinner suggestions for Te Anau and recommended us various stops and sights of interest during our drive to Milford Sound. Dunluce is only 1 km from Te Anau’s center and for this is exceptionally peaceful, especially during the evening, where you can only hear the birds! Every night we found different Whittaker chocolates on our bed side table, which are sinfully addictive!!

We highly recommend Dunluce B&B at Te Anau. It will make the whole Fiordland experience unforgettable; it sure did ours!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophiaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WendyandRoger, Owner at Dunluce Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thanks so much Sophia for writing us such a complimentary review - we really appreciate it and it was lovely to meet you and Antonious .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

This B&B is a little different.

We never felt rushed, we always felt our space and the peace and quiet that this B&B and its location offers. Breakfast was an outstanding mix of continental and cooked options and conversation with the hosts Roger and Wendy.

We planned 3 nights...leaving decisions on the activities to how we felt on the day and with the local knowledge provided by the hosts we were able to organise a great set of things to do and where to eat and it was our view that you could quite easily stay longer if your aim is to truly escape the sometimes maddening holiday bustle of the likes of Queenstown and Wanaka. We walked to Mt Luxmore, for example, and had the walk much to ourselves which added to our overall experience.

Little treats in our room and in the afternoon were nice touches and added to the homely ambience at Dunluce.

We truly feel that we have found our Te Anau base for future adventures.

Note - Roger...Steve still wants that Tin Cup back please

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kakanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WendyandRoger, Owner at Dunluce Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thanks Steve and Aovana for posting this review. We certainly enjoyed all our chats with you - especially the Kiwi-Aussie banter. Hope we will see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundford, Norfolk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

A great B&B with lots of attention to detail and spotlessly clean! Wendy and Roger are lovely hosts and the breakfasts were fantastic,,,,lovely to have a choice of eggs benedict for our cooked breakfast. A bit out of town so a car would be needed....but that also means it is wonderfully peaceful. Would definitely stay again if we ever have the pleasure of returning to NZ.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieC63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
1.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.2 mi away
Te Anau Lodge
Te Anau Lodge
#3 of 29 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunluce Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunluce Bed and Breakfast

Property: Dunluce Bed and Breakfast
Address: Aparima Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunluce Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunluce is a new boutique b&b with a private guest wing of 4 king ensuite rooms and a private guest lounge/dining room. The ensuites feature underfloor heating, lavender toiletries, hair dryers and fluffy towels. All rooms are lake facing and open to private decks. Included in the tariff is a delicious home made breakfast both cooked and continental. We offer off street parking, locked storage, laundry facilities, and warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Dunluce Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunluce b&b
Dunluce Hotel Te Anau
Dunluce Bed And Breakfast Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing