We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dunluce Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 29 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2012

My husband and I spent one night in Te Anau and Dunluce made us want to stay longer. Wendy and Roger are both friendly and hospitable. The breakfast was delicious. We enjoyed the guest dining room in the evening where we could make tea and enjoy the biscuits left out. There was also free wifi internet which we really appreciated. Though we did not require use of it, there was also a laptop for guests to use. Also, the views are gorgeous.

Our room was very clean and the ensuite bathroom was clean and modern. I read a comment where someone said that it is too far from the town, but most people travelling through NZ and staying at B&Bs have a car and the town is really only about 600 meters away. Had we been there during summer we would have walked.

Overall a wonderful stay and we are recommending Dunluce to our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephemke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 249 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2012

I agree with the previous reviews...fantastic B&B. Stayed 2 nights with my husband and thoroughly enjoyed the beautifully appointed room, the hospitality of Wendy & Roger and meeting other guests around the breakfast table. Lovely view from room and the sun pouring in during the afternoon. Loved Wendy's yummy home-cooked biscuits which she continually replenishes. Also the complimentary chockies and wine in the fridge. Te Anau has some great restaurants for dinner too! I'd love to go back one day.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Excellent in every way. We stayed there for three nights and can recommend this family-owned stay. Perfect breakfast, clean and comfortable rooms. Very helpful owners.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

After completing the Milford Track, we stayed here so we could return to Milford Sound for a day of sea kayaking. The hostess could not have been more friendly or accommodating. There are no taxis in Te Anau so she aranged for transportation for 7 of us from the Milford Track drop off point to her B and B. We were welcomed with cookies and beverages and offered use of the Internet. The rooms were lovely and spotlessly clean and had beautiful views. The breakfast was outstanding with a choice of hot entrees along with cereal, yogurt, croissants, and fruit. Absolutely yummy! When it was time to go, the hostess again arranged for transportation for us to our pick up location. I agree with other reviewers that this B and B sets the standard for all others. My only advice is be aware it is about a 15 minute walk into the town of Te Anua so this may cause you some problems if you are without a car. We all enjoy walking, so it was no problem for us to walk to and from dinner and the hostess did offer to transport. Overall, two thumbs up!!

Room Tip: One room has a large soaking tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jann01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Excellent...from the warm welcome, the modern classy interior, the superb bed and bathroom, the fantastic view, free wifi, and the best breakfast in NZ. Wendy and Roger have got this just right. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Take any room....they are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We spent three nights here in February 2012. Wendy and Roger were superb hosts. One of us was temporarily handicapped and they could not do enough to help and ensure that we both had a good time. The room was modern and uncluttered with a spacious and luxurious bathroom. In the dining room all day long there was free tea and coffee, wine and liqueurs and always some delicious biscuits or cake made by Wendy's fair hand. There was free wi-fi throughout the house. From the French windows of all the rooms there was a glorious view out over Lake Te Anau and the mountains beyond. And all around there was glorious silence. Wendy advised on the best places to eat in town (and her recommendations were all spot on) and made the reservations for us.Wendy or Roger also dealt with the tour companies (we went one day to Milford and one day to Doubtful Sound) and got them to give priority treatment to Bill who had difficulty walking far. Wendy's breakfasts were superb. A choice of cooked dishes, fresh fruit and stewed fruit from the garden, home made yoghurt - the list goes on. Wendy and Roger truly did everything to make our stay enjoyable. Thanks.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We had a perfect time at the Dunluce. The hosts were very welcoming and helpful. Our room was immaculate! Breakfast was delicious!.. I would highly recommend Dunluce.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaliBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
1.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
1.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 22 in Te Anau
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 22 in Te Anau
505 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 22 in Te Anau
625 reviews
0.2 mi away
Te Anau Lodge
Te Anau Lodge
#3 of 29 in Te Anau
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunluce Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunluce Bed and Breakfast

Address: Aparima Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range: $244 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunluce Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunluce is a new boutique b&b with a private guest wing of 4 king ensuite rooms and a private guest lounge/dining room. The ensuites feature underfloor heating, lavender toiletries, hair dryers and fluffy towels. All rooms are lake facing and open to private decks. Included in the tariff is a delicious home made breakfast both cooked and continental. We offer off street parking, locked storage, laundry facilities, and warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dunluce Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunluce b&b
Dunluce Hotel Te Anau
Dunluce Bed And Breakfast Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing