We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lakeside Motel & Apartments
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stayed here for two nights with my family. We had a comfortable stay and the room had sufficient facilities and a great view of the lake. But what I've come here to say is thank you. I left my camera memory stick in the motel room and the staff was very kind to send it back to me. It's arrived safe and sound and I'm so relieved not to have lost all the photos from my trip. Excellent service, thank you once again :)

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank cztang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    154
    68
    5
    4
See reviews for
91
180
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Spent a night here en route to Milford Sound. It was our second visit to Lakeside having previously stayed there five years ago. The motel has lovely views of the lake and is conveniently located near the little township of Te Anau. It is a great place to break the journey between Queenstown and Te Anau.

The owners were helpful and extremely efficient. Was very surprised that the motels were full even though it was not peak season. I would recommend it for families who are looking for a clean, affordable and comfortable motel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights at $130 a night, location is right on the lakefront, but so are a lot of the motels. My partner booked the room, but I found out much later, he in fact meant to book Lakefront Lodge.

The room is a little dated, but we found very clean. They do not have Sky TV, but they do have free wifi but only for one device. Shower and toilet are in the same room. I did find the double bed very uncomfortable the first night and in morning woke up with an aching back. The next night I tired the single bed which was a lot better.

For the price I would have thought $100 would have been a more reasonable amount to pay. One small thing, and it's no big deal, but if the room has been cleaned and ready for guests, why not put the bedside clock on. It wouldn't take 2 minutes to do, I don't think it's for the guest to have to do after a long day driving.

For all the other choices in Te Anau, if we went back we'd definitely try the Lakefront Ldoge.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CyberGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muenchen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Awesome motel at a great price. Stay here if your going to Te Anau.
We were going to Doubtful sound the day after we arrived so we stayed in a motel down in Manapouri, not many options down there and we were spewing we booked down there!
We came back to Te anau for the next couple nights and found 'Lakeside Motel & Apartments'
Super friendly people who run it, nice big clean warm rooms and a view to boot.
We were stoked and wished we stayed the first night also!
Thanks guys, will def stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nameste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

I would like to thank Rob and his lovely wife for their hospitality and the fabulous accommodation they gave us at short notice. This was an awesome spot. by the time we arrived we were very tired and they were very accommodating and our room was huge and just what we needed to unwind. We were up early to Milford Sound the next day and when we got home they were there to help us out with a jack for the bike so we could oil the chain but unfortunately it was for a motorcross bike and we couldn't get it underneath. Got the washing dry too. Close to town we could walk and also a neat table and chairs across the road at the lake, great for that evening beer just to sit and plan the next stop. thanks again guys.
Cheers Andrew Fleming and Bronee Stanfield from Whitianga.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BroneeAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

One of the most beautiful lakes and a room with one the most beautiful views. Actually most of the motels around town have lake facing rooms. Separated bedroom from living room. Very close to the town center, 5 minutes walk by the lake to get there. Some of the best food that i had in NZ was here. Perfect stopover for a day to travel to Milford Sound.
Room was extremely small. No real place to walk around. Smallish bed. I have had bigger rooms at the same price in other places in NZ.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are a must if you are staying in Te Anau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PriyabratPadhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
140 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Hard to beat the wonderful views across to Lake Te Anau from these rooms. Units are a generous size and furnished in good taste. Great Fiordland pictures on the walls. Good sized bathrooms; and comfortable beds. Complex just a short 5 minute walk to town. Staff had been very friendly and efficient during the booking process earlier in the year but we found them to be a bit curt during our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank del_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.2 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Motel & Apartments

Property: Lakeside Motel & Apartments
Address: 36 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#11 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeside Motel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lakeside Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Motel & Apartments Hotel Te Anau
Lakeside Motel And Apartments
Lakeside Motel Te Anau
Lakeside Motel & Apartments Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing