We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and fantastic view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lakeside Motel & Apartments
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, Gloucestershire
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and fantastic view”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

As with other visitors we were on the first floor with full lake view. The apartment was spacious and well equipped. The decor was not contemporary but perfectly fine. The gardens are beautiful. Reception was really friendly and helped with our planning for the next day,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    160
    68
    5
    4
See reviews for
96
184
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had a lovely room on the first floor with brilliant views over an immaculate and very pretty garden to the lake and the mountains. Facilities are very good and everything is spotlessly clean.
We did a lovely trip to the caves also to Milford Sound and a flight over Doubtful sound.
We'd definitely stay again and recommend this to friends.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cyd242424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had an excellent first floor apartment overlooking the lovely motel lawn and rose beds and of the lake and mountains behind. We could not wish for a better view. The accommodation was very good and spotlessly clean. It was a delightful lakeside walk of approximately 10 minutes to the town centre. We would thoroughly recommend this motel and is good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffandMickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
748 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We chose tis motel on the advice of our sister in Dunedin. While I agree it is dated, everything works, it is safe and clean. Only a short walk to the real journeys meet office. We are here forDoubtful sound yesterday and overnight for Milford sound today. Overnight and then we will check back in for one more night. Our room for three would sleep five. Great place for a short stay.

Room Tip: Pick lake view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarshallGulch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I live in Dunedin and have been coming to Te Anau every year for holidays since 2003 & always stay at the Lakeside - in my view the best place to stay in town. The location and views are wonderful - it's right on the lake front with a lovely garden, and is a pleasant stroll along the lake to the village and restaurants (La Dolce Vita is my favourite), and in the other direction to the visitor's centre. My husband and I usually stay in an upstairs studio, and it's always clean, tidy and has everything we need. We often cook for ourselves one evening in the studio's kitchenette, then enjoy the lake & mountain views over dinner. The owners are friendly and helpful, it's excellent value and such a beautiful and peaceful place to return to again and again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southislandfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed at the Lakeside Motel over the new year's holidays and had a garden view unit. The unit was OK for the price: clean and tidy but obviously quite dated, yet everything worked and we had a very comfortable stay. The unit had an unusual configuration for a studio: a double bed in the living area as well as a proper bedroom. The heating had a proper thermostate so when an unusually cold weather front hit the town, we were able to keep the unit comfortable without over/underheating it. The kitchenette had been modernised and was very functional, and there was a complimentary wifi access. The bathroom had been modernised but had a weird ventilation solution: one of the windows had a kind of a latch that kept it open at all times, but this was not a very efficient solution and the bathroom stayed damp for a long time after someone took a shower. The location is OK and very peaceful, about a 10-15 min walk to the town centre and easy to access by car. The grounds were lovely and well-kept.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank finntastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. We had a 1 bedroom apartment, it was more like a small pretty cottage. A little bit noisy at night with people arriving late as we were right at the front.

Otherwise very peaceful during the day. Close to all the facilities, didn,t have a restaurant or a children's play area.
Plenty of eating places within walking distance.
Beautiful views as we could see the lake from our unit all the time.

Room Tip: Units away from the main area will be quieter at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.2 mi away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#9 of 23 in Te Anau
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Motel & Apartments

Property: Lakeside Motel & Apartments
Address: 36 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#11 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeside Motel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Lakeside Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Motel & Apartments Hotel Te Anau
Lakeside Motel And Apartments
Lakeside Motel Te Anau
Lakeside Motel & Apartments Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing